We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merchiston Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Mow Cop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Contemporary Accommodation.”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Excellent, contemporary apartment within a Victorian terrace. Very smart throughout, with little of the original interior to be seen. Well equipped with washing machine and dishwasher, however, there's no table and chairs, just two bar stools and a ledge to eat at.
Off-street parking for one car and we were lucky enough to get the space, otherwise parking on the street outside with parking meters 08:20 - 18:00. To give an indication of the location, Merchiston is 1.5mile, 30min walk from Edinburgh Castle, though buses are plentiful and cheap in Edinburgh.
The Tesco Express, just a minute's walk away, is very convenient as are the numerous nearby cafes.
I use many apartments, in many cities and this up there with the best, dropping a star for me because there's no table and chairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copyrightguilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for your review and very pleased that you enjoyed the apartments. I hope that you do come back and stay again and, if so, please ask when booking for one of the apartments with a table and chairs.

Due to the space and layout of the apartments, some of the apartments have a larger kitchenette area, however, only a breakfast bar and stools to sit and eat at. However, other apartments have a smaller kitchenette area and a seating area with table and 4 chairs to sit at. Apts 2, 4, 5 and 6 all have table and chairs, however apts 1,3, 7 and 8 have the breakfast bar and stools, albeit apt 1 has a much larger breakfast bar with seating for 4 people (hope this information is helpful!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
74
56
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

What a place! Stylish, comfortable, top quality. AND value for money. We arrived, to be met with no one, got to the apartment, on the second floor, and had a bottle of milk awaiting the addition of tea, thank you!
We loved the idea of the "hands off" approach, it really gave the feel of our own little apartment, our home from home, not a hotel or a B+B, we loved that. Even down to the housekeepers, although available, were not needed for 3 nights (would you clean your own house every day?) that was lovely.
the walk into town was an easy one, although, as it is Edinburgh, the walk back includes going uphill, which is a little taxing after a day walking, still, no bother, buses and taxis are next to nothing, and drop to the door almost.
We also liked the area, quiet, safe and as we knew, one of the nicest in town.
Everything you need is local, along with things you didnt know you needed too.
Criticisms... yes, I need to quit smoking, that spiral staircase is not smoker friendly! (and no way would you smoke, or try to smoke, in those super clean and fresh apartments... dont you dare!)
We will definitely be back, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: after a day in town (if you walk a lot) then the top floors can seem a long way up, so not for the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Extremely pleased that you enjoyed the apartments and the area. It is nice being able to come and go as you please and enjoy the quiet privacy that Merchiston offers guests.

I agree with you that, if elderly or any health issues ask for a lower ground or ground floor apartment to avoid the staircase, albeit not generally an issue for people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We are set to become Merchiston Residence veterans and share the sentiments of Mr Beattie. The location is excellent, a step away from countless coffee shops and eateries; with public transport at the end of the street and easy access to the city centre; with mini Tesco and Sainsburys on the doorstep to get the fridge stocked if you need to; and a stroll away, the Churchill Theatre, the ageless Dominion Cinema and Luca's! (Legendary icecream which brought back childhood memories of the original shop in Musselburgh ...and ... named one of the UK Top 10 parlours by Conde Nast). Having enjoyed apts. 3,5 and 6, they are all furnished and equipped to the same high standard with design that makes the maximum use of the space, but 6 is a definite winner with its wonderful, sunny bay window. The place exudes an air of calm, luxury from the moment you walk in the door and the coded entry is a breeze. We would particularly mention the staff - both housekeeping and management maintain a high level of service worthy of compliment. My only hesitation therefore, in recommending it, is that it we render this gem of a bolthole way too popular for our own good!
We like the FB posts with last minute availability and 'what's on' too.
Sadly even in the best places, you can get thoughtless, noisy people who return late and fail to consider that others might already be settled for the night.

Room Tip: 5/6 are first floor, 2 bed. 5 has separate bedroom, consequently more privacy (except in the loo cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gariochquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

I am pleased that you mention The Dominion Cinema, which is such an amazing place to go and see the latest film, especially if you are lucky enough to be in the extremely comfortable sofa room (a real hidden treasure)! The Morningside area is also another fantastic place to explore as well as Bruntsfield when staying in the apartments, and all on the doorstep with so much to offer ....why even bother going into the city centre if you don't want to..!!

Thank you for complimenting our staff, this is greatly appreciated and we work hard to maintain this level of service for guests which can be difficult at times due to us not having a reception area.

As for noisy guests coming in late and disturbing others, am not a fan either and wish that these people would be more considerate to other guests, in a perfect world this would never happen, however, let's hope that it happens extremely infrequently at Merchiston Residence!!

Many thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Whenever the urge takes us to deceive ourselves (in a nice sort of way you understand) that we can cut it with the best of the capital's cosmopolitan chatterati, we book a night or two into this posh wee oasis. The grand facade and the welcomingly stylish vestibule never disappoint us and once we have successfully negotiated the keyless entry (not always guaranteed with a forgetful old fart such as 'moi') within minutes of depositing our luggage in our room and stowing away in the kitchenette area our first aid kit (viz; Champagne, Brandy, Canada Dry, Mixed Olives and Chocolate) we invariably pause awhile to freshen before hitting the old metropolis in order to deny the ageing process.
As a reassuringly conducive little base to operate from, this delightful wee haven takes some beating. Since our first stay here some four years ago, every time we have come up to Edinburgh we have opted to stay here. Having become thoroughly dissatisfied with either the poor level of service offered or the restrictions on freedom such accommodation places on you, by a number of the larger hotels-no names no pack drill, we look back upon our chance discovery of this place as our good fortune. It is at once both a very private and stylish way of staying in what is indisputably an exceedingly happening environs. We can't get enough of it. The location is grand, the interior decor is relaxing, the facilities are peerless and few the staff we have had contact with have been delightful. Can't wait to dream up some excuse to pop back again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent and the beds are extremely comfortable. My only reservation is that one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeilBeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
What a lovely review and thank you for taking the time to post this on Trip Advisor.

I especially like the way you mention the place as a "wee haven" which sums up exactly how Merchiston Residence feels, situated on a lovely quiet street just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of city environment.

I do hope you get to meet some of us next time you visit, there are only a few of us and unfortunately we don't get to meet everyone due to the times which we tend to be there not always corresponding with guests being around.....!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

From the minute you walk in the lobby you know its going to be plush and clean!
I stayed here for two weeks while working in the area, and have nothing but praises. I stayed in two different apartments ( 3 & 6 ) both excellent, with fixtures and fittings are of the highest standard and the beds were very comfortable ( even if a bit high ).
Location is great ( 15 minute walk to centre) and within a busling suburb with plenty of bistros and eating places.
it was that good my Wife came to join me for the second week!
Booking and even rebooking was very simple and a refreshing pleasure dealing with the very professional management.
i cannot recommend these apartments enough and will definatly be using again. my only complaint is i didnt find it earlier.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Extremely pleased that you did finally find us and even better that you came back so thank you as your business is greatly appreciated. We are building up a lot of great return guests which I hope continues!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Super quality studio apartment oozing quality all the way. Everything you need is there plus a small hospitality tray.Very handy Clean ,tidy top quality furnishings. Gorgeous shower, and luxurious bed. Friendly manager . Very convenient check in process.

Room Tip: Traffic wardens patrol the area. Bring change for 4 hour parking just outside. Costs £1 per hour. Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for your superb review - extremely pleased that you enjoyed staying in one of our studio apartments and that you were pleased with the facilities. Good tip re the parking situation, should there not be a space on our driveway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My husband and I stayed 1st December for an overnight stay to do some Christmas shopping and yet again it was of an exceptional standard. I have and will continue to recommend to friends and family to this residence as it is still one of the best we have stayed in.

Thanks again to all the staff who contribute to maintaining this high standard........you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review once again, for coming back to stay with us and also for continuing to recommend us to your friends and family which we appreciate a great deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Oakhill Apartments
#4 of 205 in Edinburgh
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchiston Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchiston Residence

Property: Merchiston Residence
Address: 4 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh EH10 4NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchiston Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian property of 8 luxury serviced apartments set in the cosmopolitan district of Merchiston where visitors are now offered an unrivalled home from home experience. The sumptuous interiors at Merchiston Residence are contemporary and bespoke, exuding sophisticated elegance. Merchiston Residence is a minute’s walk from the fashionable area of Bruntsfield which is home to designer boutique shopping and a myriad of independent eateries, and is a 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bus or taxi ride into the city centre and the surrounding landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Merchiston Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchiston Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Merchiston Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing