We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merchiston Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merchiston Residence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Gorgeous modern apartments, really perfect base to explore Edinburgh. Five minute walk from the beautiful meadows, loads of lovely cafés and cute little bistros and independent boutiques just down the road. Also a tesco a one minute walk away which was great! You don't need a key they work on a code which is great, no worrying about losing keys! The cleaner (Norma) really made a massive effort for us, she couldn't of been more friendly and helpful! We were a group of 14 hens which usually gets a bad response but they were more than happy for us to be there. I would definitely stay here again the apartments were sparkling clean and clearly are very well looked after. Highly recommended, and in a beautiful area of town that lots of tourists don't usually see!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennaha24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LateralC, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello there, thank you for your lovely review. As you saw when you stayed, Merchiston works very well for groups as we were able to give you apartments close to each other, and in one section, meaning you and other guests had privacy from each other allowing everyone to enjoy their stay.

We hope the wedding is a huge success too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    30
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
55
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at Merchiston Residence for 2 nights in July 2014 and had a great time! The apartments are well located. The locality is pleasant and quiet. We had to wait for about 15-20 mins during the check in as the door would just not unlock. It was a bit frustrating since we had a handicapped person with us but it was was a technical issue as the apartments require a code to get in. They immediately sent someone to fix the matter and only to let us know that we had been upgraded which made it even more worthwhile. We stayed on the ground floor, apartment 4. It's an open plan room and really well designed and decorated. This is a self catering accommodation which gave us the chance to plan our meals, trips etc at our own conviniece. So worth it! The bus stop is around the corner so it would take about 10 mins to reach princess street. There's supermarkets around the corner and coffee shops etc and a little further up the road there's lovely bars and restaurants! The apartment was lovely and clean and very comfortable, felt like a home away from home.They even provided us with dvds which was a nice touch. They also provided a booklet which explained clearly how to operate the oven, microwave etc and I especially appreciated the information on buses, places of interest and recommended restaurants. I really can not speak highly enough of this lovely accommodation.

Room Tip: Take a room at the ground level if you have too much luggage. I am not sure but i guess there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidzominsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LateralC, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and all that Merchiston has to offer. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Came to stay here while attending 1D concert with my daughter and other half, arrived early and wanted to go for lunch but didn't want to lug case about, called merchiston and they allowed us to access our room early only to be told we had been upgraded, my little girl thought the bed deck was amazing !!!! The apartments are stunning, spotless and equipped with a massive array of kitchen equiptment although we never used much as we ate out, I cannot recommend these apartments enough, a home from home in a beautiful area, no hassles and nothing too much trouble, we WILL be back and recommend them to everyone we know, thank you for a lovely stay :)

Room Tip: We had room five, first floor, good view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, no doubt your daughter enjoyed the concert!
I am very glad to hear everything was to your satisfaction and I hope that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I used this property to accommodate myself (plus partner) and two German couples , very old friends of mine, for a reunion weekend over the spring bank holiday. It was perfect for the purpose. I had the largest of the three apartments available. The apartments are furnished for two, but mine with two bedrooms would have been fine for four (provided you knew each other pretty well!). The rooms are tastefully furnished, in an understated way, very well-equipped and set in a most attractive Victorian house in a quiet street in Morningside. The six of us breakfasted comfortably in my room each morning, though the small two ring cooker struggles somewhat to feed a number larger than two. There is a Tesco Metro on the corner (100 yds) and a bigger Waitrose 10 minutes walk away. We hired a car for the weekend, which I would certainly recommend, though the city centre is just about walkable (20 minutes plus, depending where you're going) and there are plenty of buses, but given the vagaries of Scottish weather transport on tap is worth the cost and if there are four or more of you probably no more expensive. Parking was never an issue during our long weekend. The small parking area belonging to the house was generally empty and when it wasn't spaces were always available outside the house (free at evenings and weekends). Beds are exceptionally comfortable and large (though I wouldn't rely on the "plenty of room for four" I've read in other reviews!). Bathrooms are OK, except there's no bath and the shower deposits considerable volumes of water on the floor. The kitchen has most of what you need, except the tin-opener didn't work and one or two items were incomplete (cutlery, cups). A few more pans would be helpful. The room was nicely cleaned and prepared, although the kitchen slightly less so, as we had to clean the top of the cooker before we started, together with the inside of the dish-washer, which had significant traces of the last occupants. Apart from the cleaners in the morning, we saw nobody. Access was via a private code we were sent prior to arrival. "Is everything OK?" at some point over the three days would have been welcome. These minor caveats apart, though, this is an interesting concept as an alternative to a conventional hotel, is very well presented and was enormously enjoyed by my overseas guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forester99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this detailed review, I am glad you enjoyed the facilities we offer, it is always great to hear that our apartments have been fully appreciated. I am sorry you found some cleaning issues, I have raised this with Housekeeping, as you can read from our other reviews this is very much an isolated incident and one which is very unusual.

I note your point on no contact from the team, the concept at Merchiston is one of very low key staffing, for the independent traveller. However we are on hand on the telephone 24 hours per day should there be any issues and generally our guests seem to appreciate the privacy this affords them.
I hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have stayed here twice and thoroughly enjoyed each time. The apartments are fully equipped for staying in and in a great location if you want to go out. Everything you need is thought of including DVD's should you need a night in. The apartments themselves are very luxurious and finished to a high standard. I would definitely recommend these.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMoriarty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is always great to hear that guests have come back because they have enjoyed their first stay so much.

I hope we see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

The Merchiston Residence is perfect for a short break in Edinburgh. Set in a beautiful building with a huge winding staircase, first impressions are something. Apartment was lovely and the one bed was easily big enough for 4 girls (there is a sofabed).

There is no reception but you have everything you could possibly need already provided in the room; such as towels provided for 4 people without asking.

Cleaners came everyday and were very pleasant. Apartment was spotless afterwards.

Apartments are situated in a lovely area with a tesco and coffee shops literally 1min away. Edinburgh City centre is a 20min stroll, or around £8 in a cab (this was on a 6 nations rugby weekend so may be even cheaper other times).

Can find no faults at all.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank H0llyE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you very much for posting this lovely review. Its great to hear you all enjoyed your stay and all the apartment has to offer. I expect after the less than exciting rugby, it was great to have Merchiston to head back to!
I hope we see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This review is long, long overdue! My colleagues, sister and I stayed at the Merchiston Residence for three weeks last summer to participate in and attend the Edinburgh Fringe. We were a large party of people staying in the two bedroom apartments and yet we felt very well taken care of. Fiona and Julie could not have been nicer or more helpful. Any question or request we had, was immediately responded to. The accommodations were lovely. And, the cleaning staff was exemplary and thorough. The location is perfect to boot. The Merchiston became our home away from home-- we all loved it.

Needless to say, If I travel to Edinburgh again, I would only consider staying at the Merchiston.

Room Tip: The two bedroom on the ground floor is larger, sunnier and more comfortable with a nice size kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R-M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Well it may be long overdue, but it is really appreciated that you took the time to post your review. We were delighted that your accommodation was a success given that you were working so hard in the festival every day. I do hope we will see you back again and good luck with the writing and acting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchiston Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchiston Residence

Property: Merchiston Residence
Address: 4 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh EH10 4NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchiston Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian property of 8 luxury serviced apartments set in the cosmopolitan district of Merchiston where visitors are now offered an unrivalled home from home experience. The sumptuous interiors at Merchiston Residence are contemporary and bespoke, exuding sophisticated elegance. Merchiston Residence is a minute’s walk from the fashionable area of Bruntsfield which is home to designer boutique shopping and a myriad of independent eateries, and is a 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bus or taxi ride into the city centre and the surrounding landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Merchiston Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchiston Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Merchiston Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing