We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merchiston Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Grasse, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stylish modern furniture in a beautiful old house
Excellent equipment of kitchen, bathroom and media
Large, clean, comfortable apartment
Quiet and friendly neighbourhood with easy access to town centre by bus.

We will return !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laur_Tom_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LateralC, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
It is great to hear that you will return! Thank you also for taking the time to post this review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
74
56
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chislehurst, Kent
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay here very much. Although location is a bit out from the city centre, it is in a pleasant residential area with easy bus access. All day parking (for £4) can be sound a 5 minute stroll away. Apartment 5 wasn't the most spacious but very nicely furnished and cleverly designed - our children loved the mezzanine sleeping area.

The cleaning service couldn't be faulted and help-desk always available. Only criticisms- unclear instructions on how to get into the apartment on arrival and we never worked out how to operate the reading lights in the main bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentishMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LateralC, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your children were pleased (often the hardest to please!). I will also pass your housekeeping comments onto our team, as they always appreciate positive comments.

I'm sorry to hear you didn't figure out the lights, there is a switch on the wall and for future guests arriving, please remember we have 24 hour concierge who can help you with any issues, by calling our main number or pressing the button at the entrance entitled "management".

I hope we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A modern, very comfortable self-catering apartment, with daily cleaning service. We really enjoyed our stay. The old city is within a walking distance, there are nice dining options nearby, and the apartment itself was perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jukka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LateralC, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, its great to hear you got out and enjoyed the city and all it has to offer!

I hoper we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My entire family (husband, 10 and 17 yr old) loves this place! Absolutely beautiful and impressive juxtaposition of the old (crown molding, huge windows and lovely circular staircase to room) and new (loft bed, compact all-white nook kitchen with EVERYTHING!, and smoked glass bathroom door)- I am super picky about decor, cleanliness and livability, and this apartment gets an A+. We will definitely book this place again... It is one of those apartments one spies from the road at night with its stunning, crisp and elegant ambiance.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DePelicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LateralC, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
What a lovely review! I am so glad to hear we met with approval from the whole family - no mean feat! It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed our design and your stay and I hope we will see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are a family with children, and had booked an apartment to say in for four nights in Edinburgh. We arrived at the apartment to find out that we had been scammed, and the place was terrible. We panicked and began calling around, trying to find replacement lodging. Luckily we got ahold of Fiona! She had a room open at a fair price.
This is an absolutely beautiful place, spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. The raised bedroom was so much fun for our kids, the kitchen was so handy for preparing breakfasts, and it was the perfect launching pad for our Edinburgh adventures. Thank you Fiona!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hfadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LateralC, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for posting this review, it is always a bit scary if something like that happens and so I am delighted we were able to help you and that your trip to Edinburgh was a success in the end. I hope we will see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Gorgeous modern apartments, really perfect base to explore Edinburgh. Five minute walk from the beautiful meadows, loads of lovely cafés and cute little bistros and independent boutiques just down the road. Also a tesco a one minute walk away which was great! You don't need a key they work on a code which is great, no worrying about losing keys! The cleaner (Norma) really made a massive effort for us, she couldn't of been more friendly and helpful! We were a group of 14 hens which usually gets a bad response but they were more than happy for us to be there. I would definitely stay here again the apartments were sparkling clean and clearly are very well looked after. Highly recommended, and in a beautiful area of town that lots of tourists don't usually see!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennaha24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LateralC, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello there, thank you for your lovely review. As you saw when you stayed, Merchiston works very well for groups as we were able to give you apartments close to each other, and in one section, meaning you and other guests had privacy from each other allowing everyone to enjoy their stay.

We hope the wedding is a huge success too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at Merchiston Residence for 2 nights in July 2014 and had a great time! The apartments are well located. The locality is pleasant and quiet. We had to wait for about 15-20 mins during the check in as the door would just not unlock. It was a bit frustrating since we had a handicapped person with us but it was was a technical issue as the apartments require a code to get in. They immediately sent someone to fix the matter and only to let us know that we had been upgraded which made it even more worthwhile. We stayed on the ground floor, apartment 4. It's an open plan room and really well designed and decorated. This is a self catering accommodation which gave us the chance to plan our meals, trips etc at our own conviniece. So worth it! The bus stop is around the corner so it would take about 10 mins to reach princess street. There's supermarkets around the corner and coffee shops etc and a little further up the road there's lovely bars and restaurants! The apartment was lovely and clean and very comfortable, felt like a home away from home.They even provided us with dvds which was a nice touch. They also provided a booklet which explained clearly how to operate the oven, microwave etc and I especially appreciated the information on buses, places of interest and recommended restaurants. I really can not speak highly enough of this lovely accommodation.

Room Tip: Take a room at the ground level if you have too much luggage. I am not sure but i guess there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidzominsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LateralC, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and all that Merchiston has to offer. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Royal Ettrick Hotel
#129 of 149 in Edinburgh
320 reviews
Oakhill Apartments
#4 of 204 in Edinburgh
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
West End
Staycity Aparthotels West End
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchiston Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchiston Residence

Property: Merchiston Residence
Address: 4 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh EH10 4NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchiston Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian property of 8 luxury serviced apartments set in the cosmopolitan district of Merchiston where visitors are now offered an unrivalled home from home experience. The sumptuous interiors at Merchiston Residence are contemporary and bespoke, exuding sophisticated elegance. Merchiston Residence is a minute’s walk from the fashionable area of Bruntsfield which is home to designer boutique shopping and a myriad of independent eateries, and is a 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bus or taxi ride into the city centre and the surrounding landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Merchiston Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchiston Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Merchiston Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing