We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merchiston Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2010

fab location, kitted out with all the finest mod cons. so much funkier than a hotel

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbtbtbtbtbtbtbtbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

Great, thanks for the fantastic ratings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2010

A fabulous spot with easy access to gorgeous parks, pubs, restaurants and shops...and close to the bus stop for trips into the centre of the city. Really enjoyed all the clever finishings, music and tv (dvds selecion provided) ..and the kitchen was a joy to work in ..on the one occasion we cooked for ourselves! Wish I could have it all back home in Tanzania!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darfreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

Pleased to hear your positive comments. Merchiston is a fantastic quiet spot , yet conveniently located for the lovely bustling shops, cafes and restaurants in the Bruntsfield area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I stayed here on a business trip and would recommend it. It looks fabulous and is beautifully finished, staff are very helpful and polite. Brilliantly located for city centre and restaurants. I was there on business but it would be an ideal hotel for city break with loved one.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EwenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

Thanks Ewen. We seem to get a good mix of business and leisure travellers staying at the apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

For 2 years of wedding anniversary I've done no better than a limp bunch of flowers from the local Esso, and last year I chucked in a ferrero roche jumbo box, my wife thinks I'm worse than useless! This year I spent some money and booked the Merchiston Residence - at the time the website didn't have many pics so I was a little concerned given the price was low by edinburgh standards - imagine that drive from Liverpool, she was expecting something off falty towers!!!
Wow, what an amazing place. Great location, amazing decor and 5 star facilities - the missus even got her Starbucks fix from the corner of the street.
I would 100% go back, although next time I would save it for a special occasion next time! ;-) MikeyT

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeyT91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

Glad you are now making a bit more of an effort Mikey, I am sure that your wife will greatly appreciate this! I agree, the Starbucks around the corner is extremely handy !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I stayed here on 1-3 of June and was in town on business.

Traveling a lot with business, I get jaded by the standard hotel fare. But this place was a great change of pace from the usual. The rooms were cool, spacious, a little bit funky (not just square boxes witha bed and a TV), and had all the amenities i needed (wi-fi, good shower, great bed). The TVs had Freeview and there was a DVD player and a handful of DVDs (Avatar and The Hangover were a couple of them). I didn't stay long enough to use it but the kitchen looked more than enough and there is a Tescos around the corner.

No room service but there was a lot of great restaurants within 100m of the front door, including Starbucks. Try Howies around the corner if you're looking for some good scottish cuisine.

It wasn't a problem getting a taxi into town but it's also a easy walk into the West End, where I was working.

I will absolutely be staying here the next time I am back in town, although next time, I will be making sure I stay for the weekend too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boarder210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

Glad you liked the apartments, the designs are different, but extremely comfortable and functional, as you say, something different than standard room layouts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Fab apartment, short walk to local shops / bars. Great area. Beautifully refurbished traditional townhouse with all the mod con's - definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Scarlet004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

Thanks Scarlet, pleased you liked the location. I think it is spot on for visiting Edinburgh, you are close to things but still have a bit of breathing space when you need to retreat to the peace and quiet at the end of the day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I think this is more what you could describe as a "boutique" serviced apartment - definitely that bit more polished an upmarket than the standard fair but in a cool modern way. For the money I'd rate it better than most hotels. Not right in the very center of town but I liked that-in a smart residential area and a quiet street- which resulted in a great night nights sleep- but still easy to get to the center and really close to some great little restaurants and bars in merchiston/brunsfield area and close to the meadows park as well which was nice to amble to and chill out on a sunny day.
It was easy to book and the interiors of the apartments were spotless- and very cool design lots of little details that made the stay effortless - free wifi etc - its nice to have a place to come back to and relax- the ipod dock was a nice touch to plug the iPhone in.

I felt very much at home and overall a great base to stay for business or visiting Edinburgh and I would say much better value for what you are getting than most hotels or apartments I've stayed in Edinburgh before- I'll definitely be back

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexW557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

Thanks for the good positive comments Alex, good to hear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,088 reviews
Oakhill Apartments
#3 of 218 in Edinburgh
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
West End
Haymarket Apartments
Haymarket Apartments
#10 of 218 in Edinburgh
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchiston Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchiston Residence

Address: 4 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh EH10 4NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £56 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchiston Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian property of 8 luxury serviced apartments set in the cosmopolitan district of Merchiston where visitors are now offered an unrivalled home from home experience. The sumptuous interiors at Merchiston Residence are contemporary and bespoke, exuding sophisticated elegance. Merchiston Residence is a minute’s walk from the fashionable area of Bruntsfield which is home to designer boutique shopping and a myriad of independent eateries, and is a 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bus or taxi ride into the city centre and the surrounding landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merchiston Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchiston Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Merchiston Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing