We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great apartment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merchiston Residence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, great apartment!”
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Came up from London for a few days work in Edinburgh, and some colleagues recommended these flats. Location was superb - plenty of places to eat and drink within minutes of the front door, and only a short walking distance of the city centre in the mornings.

Flat was very luxurious & modern, (qualtiy HD TV!) but still felt very comfortable. Wifi access was a definite plus. Would recommend these flats to anyone coming up to Edinburgh for a few days.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigB2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Glad you enjoyed your stay Craig and will recommend the apartments to others. We have quite a few business travellers staying at the apartments each week which is great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
56
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmopan, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Coming from our home in Belize to visit family in Edinburgh is always a trip my wife and I look very much forward to and we try to make it back at least once a year. This time around we decided to really treat ourselves and give the family some extra space by having a couple of nights to ourselves at the Merchiston Residence. We couldn’t have been more happy we did.
The location was perfect and put us right in the center of everything we wanted to see and do with great shops and restaurants right on our doorstep. With the center of town only a five minute taxi ride away we were in the perfect spot to really get the most out of such a fantastic city.
Coming back in the evening to our beautifully finished apartment was a complete joy and we couldn’t have felt more comfortable. It felt just like coming home (albeit someone else’s far more luxurious and well appointed home.) We can’t wait to come back next year and stay again, in fact, the family are going to have to be pretty persuasive if they want us to stay with them at all.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSimpsonBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Always good to hear reviews like yours John. Am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2010

fab location, kitted out with all the finest mod cons. so much funkier than a hotel

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbtbtbtbtbtbtbtbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Great, thanks for the fantastic ratings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2010

A fabulous spot with easy access to gorgeous parks, pubs, restaurants and shops...and close to the bus stop for trips into the centre of the city. Really enjoyed all the clever finishings, music and tv (dvds selecion provided) ..and the kitchen was a joy to work in ..on the one occasion we cooked for ourselves! Wish I could have it all back home in Tanzania!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darfreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Pleased to hear your positive comments. Merchiston is a fantastic quiet spot , yet conveniently located for the lovely bustling shops, cafes and restaurants in the Bruntsfield area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I stayed here on a business trip and would recommend it. It looks fabulous and is beautifully finished, staff are very helpful and polite. Brilliantly located for city centre and restaurants. I was there on business but it would be an ideal hotel for city break with loved one.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EwenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Thanks Ewen. We seem to get a good mix of business and leisure travellers staying at the apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2010

For 2 years of wedding anniversary I've done no better than a limp bunch of flowers from the local Esso, and last year I chucked in a ferrero roche jumbo box, my wife thinks I'm worse than useless! This year I spent some money and booked the Merchiston Residence - at the time the website didn't have many pics so I was a little concerned given the price was low by edinburgh standards - imagine that drive from Liverpool, she was expecting something off falty towers!!!
Wow, what an amazing place. Great location, amazing decor and 5 star facilities - the missus even got her Starbucks fix from the corner of the street.
I would 100% go back, although next time I would save it for a special occasion next time! ;-) MikeyT

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyT91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Glad you are now making a bit more of an effort Mikey, I am sure that your wife will greatly appreciate this! I agree, the Starbucks around the corner is extremely handy !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I stayed here on 1-3 of June and was in town on business.

Traveling a lot with business, I get jaded by the standard hotel fare. But this place was a great change of pace from the usual. The rooms were cool, spacious, a little bit funky (not just square boxes witha bed and a TV), and had all the amenities i needed (wi-fi, good shower, great bed). The TVs had Freeview and there was a DVD player and a handful of DVDs (Avatar and The Hangover were a couple of them). I didn't stay long enough to use it but the kitchen looked more than enough and there is a Tescos around the corner.

No room service but there was a lot of great restaurants within 100m of the front door, including Starbucks. Try Howies around the corner if you're looking for some good scottish cuisine.

It wasn't a problem getting a taxi into town but it's also a easy walk into the West End, where I was working.

I will absolutely be staying here the next time I am back in town, although next time, I will be making sure I stay for the weekend too.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boarder210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Glad you liked the apartments, the designs are different, but extremely comfortable and functional, as you say, something different than standard room layouts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchiston Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchiston Residence

Property: Merchiston Residence
Address: 4 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh EH10 4NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchiston Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian property of 8 luxury serviced apartments set in the cosmopolitan district of Merchiston where visitors are now offered an unrivalled home from home experience. The sumptuous interiors at Merchiston Residence are contemporary and bespoke, exuding sophisticated elegance. Merchiston Residence is a minute’s walk from the fashionable area of Bruntsfield which is home to designer boutique shopping and a myriad of independent eateries, and is a 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bus or taxi ride into the city centre and the surrounding landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchiston Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchiston Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Merchiston Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing