We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lifetime Memories!”

The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour
Ranked #14 of 239 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Free Day Tour of the Scottish Highlands. We believe everyone should be able to discover the real Scotland, that’s why we pioneered the only Free tour of this beautiful wilderness; through the eyes of a passionate and knowledgeable, local tour guide. We pride ourselves on exceeding the expectations of our guests; maintaining a professional but relaxed approach, and ensuring every tour is entertaining, informative and utterly unique.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went on the three day Isle of Skye tour with Stephen as our guide. What an amazing tour. Stephen was a great storyteller with a wonderful sense of humor! Stopped at so many different spots - each one unique and memorable! Highly recommend!

Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell S, Manager at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kerry L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to know you enjoyed the 3-Day Tour with Stephen as your guide through the Scottish Highlands. I am pleased you had a good laugh and learned more of the history and culture of Scotland. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"doune castle"
in 222 reviews
"wallace monument"
in 157 reviews
"loch katrine"
in 112 reviews
"monty python"
in 92 reviews
"scottish highlands"
in 188 reviews
"orange bus"
in 36 reviews
"highlands tour"
in 152 reviews
"tip based"
in 30 reviews
"day trip"
in 169 reviews
"scottish music"
in 97 reviews
"holy grail"
in 30 reviews
"great trip"
in 52 reviews
"highland cows"
in 40 reviews
"history of scotland"
in 106 reviews
"great stories"
in 34 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 61 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 68 reviews
Filter

78 - 82 of 3,291 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fun day on a 29 seat bus with driver/guide Ryan. He was a great storyteller and very personable. We saw a lot of sights in one day with the Stirling Castle, lochs & whisky distillery tour. We had several options to meet the needs of everyone on the coach, and Ryan was very knowledgeable about all the points of interest. My only wish was to have more time at Stirling Castle, but we were on a tight schedule to see everything on the tour and everything was quite busy due to peak holiday season. But was still a fantastic day trip!

Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell S, Manager at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Christine W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you had a fun day out exploring the Scottish Highlands with Ryan as your guide. It is fantastic to know you got to know people on the tour and felt Ryan was personable and entertaining. We always try to allow as much time as possible to explore the destinations and keep to the schedule to show guests the beauty of Scotland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a wonderful tour, it will not leave you disappointed, Brain was a super tour guide, he was very personal. He played Scottish music, as music we could sing to, as well as games for us to play, during the drive time. It was all great, the castle, the lake, and of course the Hair Coo's, we all were able to get up and close to then.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank vntmair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell S, Manager at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi vntmair,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is fantastic to know you enjoyed the tour and made the most of your time throughout the Scottish Highlands with Brian as your guide! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fun tour, very beautiful landscapes, nice driver/tour guide. Wish had more time to see some castles that we passed.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Sydney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell S, Manager at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Sydney G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you had fun on the tour exploring the beautiful Scottish Highlands! We do always try to include as much as possible on the tour, it is a very busy itinerary. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a really cool and funny tour for people with low budget. You drive around and see great attractions like the castle from monty pyton. I would do it again :) Thanks Brian!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank monstarhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell S, Manager at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi monstarhoney,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! It is awesome to know you had a fun time on the tour throughout the Scottish Highlands. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing