We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful sculptures but need to improve the catering.”
Review of Jupiter Artland

Jupiter Artland
Ranked #47 of 402 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful sculptures but need to improve the catering.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

There are some lovely sculptures at Jupiter and the park is in a beautiful location. My personal favourites were Antony Gormley's "firmament", set in a corner of the park with beautiful views over to the Forth rail bridge and out towards West Lothian, and " weeping girls" by Laura Ford, which was very moving and creepy. I also really liked "the light pours out of me", which is a beautiful amethyst chamber, and "cells of life" by Charles Jencks, where mounds of grass covered earth have been cleverly set beside water to reflect them. I have rated this attraction "very good" but there is a caveat. The cafe desperately needs improvement. There were long queues and our scones and coffee arrived separately and the coffee was lukewarm. Since you are not allowed to bring picnics, they need to sort this out before next year.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 868Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    76
    15
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ok for a one off visit”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Visited here today and it is very interesting though feel a bit overpriced to get in. Some sculptures great, others a bit creepy. Seems to be a place to take toddlers so they can run about so wont be hurrying back. Didn't try the Cafe so couldn't comment, but liked the fact that it was an Airstream caravan. Very quirky. Loved the wee donkeys, so cute.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelmum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“awe inspiring”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Jupiter artland is a place for all lovers of contemporary art. It is a scuplture park like no other and set in beautiful wooded landscape. You drive through a Charles Jencks creation of such beauty and serenity .I could go and on and on. It a very special place and wonderfully peaceful.
The cafe is good too with helpful and efficient and friendly service
They just need to sort out the online booking which offers a discount but only to PayPal account holders.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank myopinion70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We live about ten minutes drive from here and driven past it many times and eventually got round to visiting. I can't decide what I thought about it though. It's strange and a bit creepy I thought. My kids seemed to enjoy it but we thought it was a bit over priced. £2 for a diet coke from the cafe!! For us it's a one off (been there, done that) it was what it was I'd say!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julsnsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A one off experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Private park full of the most amazing modern sculpture commissioned by the owners specifically for the spaces in which it sits. A bit of a trek out of town, but absolutely worth it! Ho in the summer and take picnic although there is a great cafe with fresh home baking a sophisticated coffee!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank annamg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JupiterArtland, Manager at Jupiter Artland, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Many thanks for your review, we are delighted you had such a positive experience and hope you can join us again soon.

Regrettably we do not permit picnics at Jupiter Artland as we have lost livestock due to littering from picnics.

Best wishes,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jupiter Artland also viewed

 

Been to Jupiter Artland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing