We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth returning back to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Apartments Edinburgh
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“worth returning back to”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed here on my recent trip for 2 nights and it was really every worth its penny.
the owner eddie was one of very friendly hosts I have ever come across .
the apartment is well equipped with the basic things and is based at a fantastic location
the heating was good and the living room was generous if not very big, the only thing was that the double bedroom was a bit small but rest of the apartment is excellent for the price.
it was actually because of eddie that we had a safe journey coz the tips he provided really helped us and that we avoided the train when there was storm in Scotland , and I am so grateful to him for that.
will come back for sure

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTrip100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    36
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
33
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in Nov 2013 with a group of friends as we were in Edinburgh to see the lion king. Booked through late rooms where the price for two nights (Fri & Sat) was the equivalent of one night in a travel lodge, premier inn, jury's etc.
There is a secure entry door on the outside with a spiral staircase leading up to the apartments. We had no issues with the stairs but if you have any mobility issues I would suggest looking for alternative accomodation. None of the apartments are on ground level.
The kitchen, bathroom and flooring throughout the apartment appeared to be brand new however there are some parts of the apartment that are obviously yet to be updated (most of the paintwork was a bit tatty & the shower leaking) but I'm sure this will be rectified.
We didn't really use the kitchen but it appeared to be well equipped with all the instruction manuals for appliances kept in a little folder. There was another folder containing information about Edinburgh, public transport, taxi numbers etc etc whih was handy. The apartment also had free wifi which was much appreciated.
The bed linens and towels were faultless, I would go as far as to say that they appeared to be brand new.
Centrally located apartment within easy walking distance of Princes St. We got a taxi to the theatre and a taxi to Edinburgh central train station both of which were under £10.
All in all I would recommend the apartment as a good base for exploring the city. We didn't spend much time in the apartment as we were out and about but it was perfectly adequate for our needs. I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AEMillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Eddie (who I suppose is the owner) was a well humored guy, something not very common for a Scottsman, and met us at the appointed hour and led us into one of the most disorganized office I’ve ever seen. The building is a bit run down but anyway we left our luggage with Eddie and went sightseeing.

When we were back our luggage was in our second floor apartment in the front – I didn’t mind the noise that other reviewers complain. Inside the apartment everything was brand new and in perfect working order. Very complete assortment of kitchen utensils in a roomy and well lit apartment. Good cable TV lineup and fast WiFi.

Good location, grocery stores, pharmacies, cafes etc around and at walking distance from the Royal Mile. You can also take a cab in a stand across the street and avoid having to walk uphill to the Castle, if that is your destination.

Eddie was always helpful in giving us tips and helping organize our activities.

I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauroSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I traveled to Edinburgh for a 3 night stay and stayed in this apartment. we arrived very early in the morning and dropped our bags to the office. We received our keys from Lisa. The apartment was being cleaned so we headed off for our breakfast and some exploring. When we returned later that afternoon our bags had been carried up to the apartment for us. The apartment was very clean and spacious. There were 3 shower rooms, 2 of which were very powerful with plenty of hot water to go around a large group.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulbohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My review title says it all. The noise on the front is not good and spoils what is a great place to stay. Check out both Cafe Class and the Purple Pig for breakfast. We' d definitely go back but would need a room on the back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbeach, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I found these apartments by accident whilst looking for a hotel, this actually was cheaper than a room and we had a whole apartment rather than 4 of us in one room!
We stayed here for 4 nights during the October half term, I had plenty of email correspondence with Lisa before arriving and she answered any questions we had and even gave us the 4 bed appartment for no extra cost due to the fact that I asked for a quiet room for the kids!
On arrival Eddie was very helpful and extremely knowlegeable about the local area and what to do and where to go. The apartment (no1) was absolutely fantastic and well kitted out for self catering, plenty of cutlery and crockery etc. Beds very comfortable and extra quilts and pillows provided if needed. I must say the shower in the master en-suite has got to be one of the most gorgeous showers I've ever used!!
The location is faultless, we walked from Waverly station, only took 10 minutes, and was surrounded by plenty of shops, restaurants and even a couple of cinemas, bus stop was literally 10 steps away if you wanted to venture further, plenty of cabs passing if you wanted to hail one. Wilthin walking distance to all the major attractions including the castle and museums.
Would definately stay here again and would be happy to recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Edinburgh.
Thanks again Claire and the Murphy boys!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliana20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

For the most part we enjoyed the apartment. It was quite cozy and very clean. The hallways and stairs were quite dated and in need of repair. Staying on the 3rd floor made it difficult for brining up all of our suitcases as there is no elevator. We stayed on the extremely NOISY street side of the building. Not a night went by where we weren't woken up by either sirens or people shoulting all hours of the night. Everyone staying on the opposite side of the building said it was VERY peaceful.
Great walking distance to pretty much everything. Took the buses quite often as there is a stop right outside the apartment on both sides of the street. We had no parking issues as we used a tour bus for our bigger trips.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend requesting a room on the "NON STREET" side of the building in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighlandMom95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,253 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Staycity Aparthotels West End
West End
Valentine City Centre Guest House
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Apartments Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Apartments Edinburgh

Property: Central Apartments Edinburgh
Address: 27 Home Street | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End , Bruntsfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 206 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Apartments Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Apartments Edinburgh consists of 11 self-catering holiday apartments in an excellent location in central Edinburgh. Five 1 bedroom, five 2 bedroom and one 4 bedroom apartment make up this entire block and can cater for up to 54 guests across all apartments.All apartments are fully furnished with a fully equipped kitchen, shower room, lounge with TV and sofas/sofa beds.The city centre can be easily reached by foot but if this isn't convenient, we're just a few steps away from excellent transport which reaches all areas of the city.We provide all towels and bed linen which are changed on a weekly basis for long stays.High speed wifi access is given free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Central Apartments Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Apartments Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing