We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Culane House Hotel
Ranked #123 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at the Culane House Hotel for three nights in January - the service was wonderful (most especially Kenny and Laura who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful); our room on the top floor was superb - very quiet and beautifully furnished. Big plus is the huge roll top bath! The breakfasts were very good and we found the location just right - you could get a bus from right in front of the hotel to the centre, but we chose to walk (a really nice 25 minute stroll up Leith Walk). All in all, perfect!

Room Tip: Top floor was great for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    94
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
84
166
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Culane Guest House. For us it was an ideal place to stay as our daughter is living just a few minutes away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and the beds were very comfortable.
However in the bathroom it was a little cold because there was always wind coming through the windows.
We parked our car in the street right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jipi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband , myself and our grown up son spent two very enjoyable nights at Culane House Hotel in Edinburgh. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty by Laura and Kenny. Rooms and en suite immaculate and tastefuly furnished. Breakfast lovely and set us up for the day. Bus into the city outside the hotel or a brisk walk into the centre if you feel energetic. All in all a great stay and we WILL be back!!!

Room Tip: Single room 6 has double bed. Twin room 5 roomy with excellent en suite. Both very quiet rooms when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imelda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here just for one night and booked through late rooms. We got an extremely good price and the room was beautiful, very well equipped including a roll top bath. Breakfast was good, and was about a twenty minute walk into the centre. An ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KezzEE91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We had a brilliant stay in the Culane Guest House Hotel. The service was great and the rooms very good value for the price we paid. Our room was brilliantly equipped with a double shower, LCD tv and even an Ipod docking station. The location is perfect just a ten minute bus ride to the city centre or a half an hour walk. There is always someone to let you in which makes it feel very secure and safe. There are some lovely resturants close by absolutely recommend La Favorita and Vittorias. The only things that could slightly be improved was the choice at breakfast (more fruit and hot drink choice e.g. decaf) and the temprementalness of the shower going cold when the radioator was warming up. Overall a lovely stay and will definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobby127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

my husband booked tickets for we will rock you in Edinburgh for my birthday so decided to stay for couple of nights. After browsing through many we were impressed by reviews of this hotel so decided to book it even though we usually book larger chain hotels. We were not disappointed - from the time we booked in and were greeted by Laura we felt so welcome we were given a downstairs room which was bit worried about as i like high floor but as hotel was fully booked we had no choice. The room and shower room were immaculate and nothing was any bother for Laura or Kenny (a great team) bus stop outside though we walked everywhere great location breakfast was excellent with plenty choice just a little gem. Special touch small bottle wine and chocolates left in our room for my birthday will definitely return though would request high floor. sandra and les weston

Room Tip: although ground floor room was big you are very near reception so do hear people coming and going
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandraweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borders
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

my wife and i had a wonderful week at your hotel it was very clean and the staff were brilliant especially laura and kenny who made our week special nothing was any problem to them and the food was great. would recomend to anyone'
once again thankyou guys. sandra and drew douglas.

Room Tip: my wife was disabled so got a room on the ground no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#160 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heriott Park Guest House
Heriott Park Guest House
#166 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#97 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#36 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#125 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Property: Culane House Hotel
Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing