We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'2nd' Visit”
Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Culane House Hotel
Ranked #142 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 February 2012

You can usually tell a lot about a hotel if you are prepared to stay more than once. This little hotel is a 'gem'. Both times we have stayed have been excellent. The staff are lovely and very helpful - nothing is too much trouble. The rooms we have stayed have been immaculate and had everything to make your stay comfortable. Nice bathrooms with clean towels and the beds are comfy. The location of the hotel overlooks links park which is nice for a stroll in the morning. There is a bus stop located a few yards from the hotel with frequent buses to Edinburgh which takes about 10 minutes. If you are driving there is lots of on street parking around the park. There is a good choice of bars and restaurants just a 10 minute walk away in Leith, even closer there is a bar called the Parlour which has a nice vibe and a pub round the corner called the Persevere (I think) which serves good value for money food and a friendly welcome.
We have family in Edinburgh and visit frequently and after sampling some of the other hotels in the area we will not be going any where else but Culane Hotel Hotel.

Room Tip: Have stayed on the top floor which was lovely big room with great views over the park and also room...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for Culane House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

Greeted by friendly staff who let us check in 1 hour early. Shown to our immaculate room with complementary wine, water, tea, coffee, biscuits and chocolates. Very nice touches.
Nice location....we walked into Edinburgh town centre - took 25 mins. Able to park on main road outside for free with ease.
Only down side - creaky floorboards, basic breakfast, and VERY bright standby light on the TV - rather like a spotlight! But all in all, very nice place and a pleasant stay was had.

Room Tip: Room 6 must be the smallest - but cheapest!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icklemissspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

A very nice hotel ! Perfect location and service with a delicious breakfast !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Confortable clean hotel with good breakfast. Staff looked after us very well and were most helpful. Breakfast was excellent along with the service. The Hotel is in a lovely spot overlooking Leith Park, Edinburgh centre is about a 30 minute walk away therefore if your not so good on yer feet the bus stops right outside the hotel. Bus service is excellent but make sure you have the right change for the bus or they won't let you on, £1.30 single fare no matter how far you travel.

Room Tip: Opt for a ground floor room if climbing stairs is not your forte
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at the Culane House Hotel for three nights in January - the service was wonderful (most especially Kenny and Laura who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful); our room on the top floor was superb - very quiet and beautifully furnished. Big plus is the huge roll top bath! The breakfasts were very good and we found the location just right - you could get a bus from right in front of the hotel to the centre, but we chose to walk (a really nice 25 minute stroll up Leith Walk). All in all, perfect!

Room Tip: Top floor was great for us!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Culane Guest House. For us it was an ideal place to stay as our daughter is living just a few minutes away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and the beds were very comfortable.
However in the bathroom it was a little cold because there was always wind coming through the windows.
We parked our car in the street right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jipi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband , myself and our grown up son spent two very enjoyable nights at Culane House Hotel in Edinburgh. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty by Laura and Kenny. Rooms and en suite immaculate and tastefuly furnished. Breakfast lovely and set us up for the day. Bus into the city outside the hotel or a brisk walk into the centre if you feel energetic. All in all a great stay and we WILL be back!!!

Room Tip: Single room 6 has double bed. Twin room 5 roomy with excellent en suite. Both very quiet rooms when...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imelda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#50 of 393 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#99 of 393 in Edinburgh
296 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#203 of 393 in Edinburgh
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heriott Park Guest House
Heriott Park Guest House
#259 of 393 in Edinburgh
94 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse
#131 of 393 in Edinburgh
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#40 of 393 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £61 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing