We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay and good price”
Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Culane House Hotel
Ranked #136 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Stay and good price”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights and we found ourselves really comfortable. The rooms are very good in size and the breakfast is delicious. A nice lady will tell you what you want from breakfast and within a few minutes you are served with a nice hot fresh breakfast. Its a bit outside the centre but a bus from near the hotel will take you to the centre within 20min. There are some good restaurants near the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbbezzina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    98
    32
    11
    7
See reviews for
86
167
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My family and I stayed at Culane for a week in September and it was a bliss. We had the 2 rooms on the top floor so we had the floor for ourselves. The hotel was exactly as described and the saff are there tto make your stay perfect. The rooms were luxuriosly decorated and very cosy, as were the bathrooms. The rooms were very clean and we didn't find faults.
Breakfast is served in the dining area and it is quite plentiful as well. The staff are quick to serve you and try to meet your needs.
The location of the hotel is ideal, very closy to the city centre, with buses right in front. The park on the other side of the road is ideal for a stroll or to take small children, like we did. There are a couple of restaurants close and fast foods as well. We dined at the Persevere, which is a few minutes away, and the food was very good and portions are quite big as well.
Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swt_Eli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at Culane House Hotel during a family break in Edinburgh. We had 2 rooms one for my mother and sister and one for my wife and l, both rooms were beautifully clean and well presented and every facility had been thought of. The staff were very welcoming and pleasant. The breakfasts were presented well and there was plenty to choose from. We had no problems parking and we used the bus to go into the city as the bus stop was close by. Thanks to Kenny and the rest of the staff for making our visit perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Very friendly staff, most enjoyable, comfortable stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at Culane House Hotel for 3 nights,room 10 is lovely and spacious with working gas fire.
Hotel is ideally situated, city is easily accessible on foot, 20 minute stroll.
We ate out at The Persevere (pub food) and La Favourita (lovely Italian on Leith Walk).
Free parking directly outside hotel which is fantastic. We stayed in the city later during the week and had to pay £19.40 for 24 hours, so make the most of it!
Staff were very friendly and helpful, a special mention to Kenny (night porter) and Fatima. Thank you, we will return. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very friendly, helpful staff and conveniently located for our needs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Q7e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We only stayed here for 2 nights but would have happily stayed longer. Our room was very clean and comfortable and included all those little extras that you usually only expect to find in a larger hotel. It took 10 minutes by bus to get into the city centre so the location was perfect. Best of all though was the welcome we received. The staff here are warm and friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Would happily stay here again.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#171 of 392 in Edinburgh
171 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 392 in Edinburgh
750 reviews
Heriott Park Guest House
#155 of 392 in Edinburgh
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pillars House
#93 of 392 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Garfield Guest House
#41 of 392 in Edinburgh
343 reviews
Leith
The Bonnington Guest House
The Bonnington Guest House
#138 of 392 in Edinburgh
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Property: Culane House Hotel
Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing