We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Culane House Hotel
Ranked #122 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pyalong, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Perfect Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

The staff could not be more helpful, breakfast was delightful and great effort had been made in room presentation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    94
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
84
166
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baildon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Thank you to everyone at Culane Hotel for making our 2 night stay very welcoming and easy. The room was lovely and a pleasure to return to at the end of a tiring day. What a fantastic breakfast to start the day with. The hotel is clean and very tastefully decorated. We stayed in room 3 it was lovely. There really is nothing bad to say about this hotel and I would definatley recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a very lovely room but it is at the front of the building so you do get some early traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed for three nights and although our room was small it was a lovely room. The suggestion that the centre is about 30 minutes away is a bit ambitious but the bus stop is right outside. A massive bonus is being able to park outside all day without charge. We didn't use the bus but walked during the day and got taxis in the evening which was only about £8.00. The only thing that we were disappointed with was breakfast. On the three days we were there breakfast although cooked to order was served Luke warm and on one morning I had a plate full of water because I had poached eggs and they hadn't been drained properly. The bread was plastic sliced, the pastries/muffins were Tesco specials and the eggs and beans were value range. Yes - I am a food snob but it doesn't take much to serve up a decent breakfast. We would stay here again but probably would opt to eat elsewhere for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms may be small but they are very good - there is not a swimming pool but I couldn't remove t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I was staying in the hotel because I am working in Edinburgh for a couple of weeks. The staff and hotel was great and it feels like it is like a home for me. That's the most important thing and.. The rooms are nice, the hotel is easy to reach, nice park in front of the hotel and it's clean.

Can't wait to go to Edinburgh (especially Culane) again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manon203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We found this accommodation to be ok at best. To start with the positives the staff were all friendly and the room was spotless. unfortunately there were a bunch of negatives.

The room shower went hot and cold and the drain wad badly blocked. The walls were paper thin so we could comfortably hear our neighbours talking.

However these things could have been saved by a good breakfast. But both our cooked breakfasts were cold and the continental breakfast had limited selection.

It want worth what we paid.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiskg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leende, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I was staying here with my daughter (15) for four nights.
We had room 8 (upstairs) en we were very happy with the beautiful room and the nice bathroom. Delightful breakfast in the morning.
Everything was very good. Especially Kenny who made our stay extra nice! Always helpful, always with a smile! I can recommend Culane House Hotel for your stay in Edinburgh! Don't look further, BOOK!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights and we found ourselves really comfortable. The rooms are very good in size and the breakfast is delicious. A nice lady will tell you what you want from breakfast and within a few minutes you are served with a nice hot fresh breakfast. Its a bit outside the centre but a bus from near the hotel will take you to the centre within 20min. There are some good restaurants near the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbbezzina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#161 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heriott Park Guest House
Heriott Park Guest House
#167 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#94 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#38 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#125 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Property: Culane House Hotel
Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing