We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Scotland's capital city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Culane House Hotel
Ranked #124 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem in Scotland's capital city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed for only one night (sadly) but everything was perfect. This hotel is exceptional in its class. Friendly staff who are always smiling and who take time to talk with clients. The rooms are very clean and well- furnished. The en-suite bathroom in my room was modern, bright, and ,again, exceptionally clean. The hotel is located on the edge of Leith Links and the breakfast room faces the Links thus affording a very pleasant view each morning. The surrounding area is replete with a good variety of restaurants including the outstanding "Kitchin". It's reasonably close to the Ocean Terminal centre and a short bus or taxi ride to the Royal Yacht Britannia. The city centre is easily accessible by the number 12 and 25 bus - each of which stop right outside the hotel. Taxi fare to the hotel from Waverley Train Station was under £12 (2012 prices). The only downside is the lack of either a room safe or access to a centrally located hotel safe in which to store valuables - cameras, iPads and the like.

Overall, a gem of an hotel - at a sensible price. I shall stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    94
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
84
166
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

It was a very pleasant stay from the start till the end. Wish we could've stayed there for longer! The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be staying there again when we next go back to Edinburgh. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed overnight in this gem of a hotel, where the staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful, the room was very comfortable and clean with plenty of coffee etc. There were also docking stations for Ipods, Wifi, Tv, and hair dryer/straightener. The en-suite was small but adequate and was spotless clean.
Breakfast was excellent, starting with continental and finishing with a cooked dish of your choice. We will certainly be recommending this hotel to our friends and family.
Willie

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfriesshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for one night. Excellent welcome. Room was spotless included wine glasses (usually have to use tooth mugs!!) and After 8 mints!! Linen 1st class. Bathroom, small but spotless. Breakfast just excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend this hotel to friends and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed two nights and the staff were most welcoming and exceptionally helpful. Our room was well furnished with loads of powerpoints and internet access. The ensuite was small and functional. Breakfast was self sevice with cooked options - the food was very good and set you up for theday.
The location on the north side of the city, next a park was quiet and had good public transport links close by to the city centre and Ocean Terminal.
Street car parking outside the hotel was very convenient and hassle free.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here for the second time and once again we were welcomed by the friendly and helpful staff. Rooms very clean, bathroom absolutely spotless. As we were in the top room we also had the free standing bath which was a lovely luxury.

Breakfast is good and service always with a smile. All staff go the extra mile to help make the stay enjoyable. Again Kenny was very helpful and smiling despite being up 24 hours a day.

The hotel is about 10 minutes on a bus from the city centre or a £7 taxi ride. We found a lovely pub very close by that we went to on our first day - the compass, which was great value for money and had a good cocktail selection!

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will be coming back to stay. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Culane House Hotel. We were given a lovely greeting when we arrived and the room was very clean and well furnished. The staff could not have been more helpful and explained all about the public transport to Edinburgh, even helped with change for the bus. There was a good selection for breakfast and was hot (one of my niggles at other hotels) and well presented. Some of the big hotel chains could learn alot from a stay at this hotel. Thank You.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoDurhamTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#160 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heriott Park Guest House
Heriott Park Guest House
#165 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#91 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#37 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#126 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Property: Culane House Hotel
Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing