We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culan House Hotel”
Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Culane House Hotel
Ranked #155 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We were delayed in our flight getting off the ground and so arrived late for our only night. The staff was very friendly and settled us in then offered some good advice about local eateries and pubs. The romm was well appointed and the en-suite bathroom modern and spacious. I heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed for only one night (sadly) but everything was perfect. This hotel is exceptional in its class. Friendly staff who are always smiling and who take time to talk with clients. The rooms are very clean and well- furnished. The en-suite bathroom in my room was modern, bright, and ,again, exceptionally clean. The hotel is located on the edge of Leith Links and the breakfast room faces the Links thus affording a very pleasant view each morning. The surrounding area is replete with a good variety of restaurants including the outstanding "Kitchin". It's reasonably close to the Ocean Terminal centre and a short bus or taxi ride to the Royal Yacht Britannia. The city centre is easily accessible by the number 12 and 25 bus - each of which stop right outside the hotel. Taxi fare to the hotel from Waverley Train Station was under £12 (2012 prices). The only downside is the lack of either a room safe or access to a centrally located hotel safe in which to store valuables - cameras, iPads and the like.

Overall, a gem of an hotel - at a sensible price. I shall stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

It was a very pleasant stay from the start till the end. Wish we could've stayed there for longer! The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be staying there again when we next go back to Edinburgh. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed overnight in this gem of a hotel, where the staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful, the room was very comfortable and clean with plenty of coffee etc. There were also docking stations for Ipods, Wifi, Tv, and hair dryer/straightener. The en-suite was small but adequate and was spotless clean.
Breakfast was excellent, starting with continental and finishing with a cooked dish of your choice. We will certainly be recommending this hotel to our friends and family.
Willie

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for one night. Excellent welcome. Room was spotless included wine glasses (usually have to use tooth mugs!!) and After 8 mints!! Linen 1st class. Bathroom, small but spotless. Breakfast just excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend this hotel to friends and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed two nights and the staff were most welcoming and exceptionally helpful. Our room was well furnished with loads of powerpoints and internet access. The ensuite was small and functional. Breakfast was self sevice with cooked options - the food was very good and set you up for theday.
The location on the north side of the city, next a park was quiet and had good public transport links close by to the city centre and Ocean Terminal.
Street car parking outside the hotel was very convenient and hassle free.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here for the second time and once again we were welcomed by the friendly and helpful staff. Rooms very clean, bathroom absolutely spotless. As we were in the top room we also had the free standing bath which was a lovely luxury.

Breakfast is good and service always with a smile. All staff go the extra mile to help make the stay enjoyable. Again Kenny was very helpful and smiling despite being up 24 hours a day.

The hotel is about 10 minutes on a bus from the city centre or a £7 taxi ride. We found a lovely pub very close by that we went to on our first day - the compass, which was great value for money and had a good cocktail selection!

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will be coming back to stay. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#200 of 394 in Edinburgh
179 reviews
Heriott Park Guest House
#294 of 394 in Edinburgh
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#53 of 394 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Emerald Guest House
#135 of 394 in Edinburgh
56 reviews
Fraoch House
#7 of 394 in Edinburgh
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £53 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing