We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Culane House Hotel
Ranked #132 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are spacious and have all the amenities you would need, the staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. the cooked breakfast was great and set you up for the day. Well done to all at the Colane hotel for making our stay a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bottom room number 10, great room no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    94
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
84
167
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We were very pleased with our choice of accommodation, booked through Late Rooms, for several reasons. Our ensuite room was well decorated and comfortable; we enjoyed an excellent full breakfast; street parking was free; and Kenny, the night porter, was very friendly and helpful, and finally it was excellent value. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there next time we're in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in November, absolutely perfect hotel just outside the city centre. Bus stops just outside the hotel and takes around 15 minutes to get in to town. Our room was lovely, with a superb bathroom. Breakfast was lovely and could pick what ever we wanted. Five stars from me. :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Lovely little hotel, beautifully decorated and conveniently located to explore Edinburgh. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive - excellent service. A good breakfast with tasty bacon but sausage could be better quality and more than one type of juice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice stay, the hotel is very easy to find and is excellent location for seeing Edinburgh as you can just jump on a bus for £1.40 leaving the car on the road at no cost. Excellent service and very clean rooms, our room was on the small side however it had everthing we needed.

I would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and will definitely be back. The hotel was well situated for walking or bus into Leith or Edinburgh. Free on street parking was always available. Our room had a lovely view of the park at the front of the hotel.
The room was clean and nicely decorated. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good with a choice of continental or cooked at no extra cost. Very good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a 5 night holiday in Edinburgh.

We had a lovely room, so clean @ quiet. Breakfasts were well presented & served to us by the multi talented Kenny (when does he sleep?). Kenny was on duty everyone of our 5 nights & nothing was too much trouble, he & the hotel were a real delight....We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#172 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heriott Park Guest House
Heriott Park Guest House
#165 of 389 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#87 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#36 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#127 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Property: Culane House Hotel
Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing