We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Trip to Edinburgh”
Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Culane House Hotel
Ranked #141 of 391 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Trip to Edinburgh”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was on a vacation week with my mother and my sister and had booked a triple room at Culane House Hotel. We had great 7 nights here in this friendly hotel. The staff was always friendly and helpful in every case. The Hotel is located in a nice part of Edinburgh and the bus service to the city centre is in front of the Hotel. The Breakfast was also very good.
I would choose this Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    98
    32
    11
    7
See reviews for
86
167
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rosenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
160 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked this hotel due to its location and the offered 24-hour reception as our flight came in to EDI shortly before midnight. In addition we informed the hotel about our estimated arrival time. But despite this we were welcome with "...10 minutes later and I would have gone to bed...? Great start!

Our room was located in the basement with only a quite small window, iron bars in front and no view (...except the legs of some smoking guys standing outside...). As the hotel was fully booked a change was not possible. The room itself was nicely decorated and spacious. The worst thing though we have noticed the next morning: the kitchen was located next door and from half past six on our room smelled like a deep fat frier. One day even the fire alarm was activated. And you could hear every step from above - the breakfast room. Preparation started at about 6 a.m.

Breakfast was ok, but not better than in all the B&Bs we had on our tour. Service was always very good.

The position of the hotel is ideal for exploring Edinburgh or Leith / Leith Harbour. The city centre can be easily reached by bus, Leith Harbour is in walking distance.

Overall: you get what you pay for as the hotel is not expensive, but we would not choose it again.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 are located in the basement; no. 10 towards the street, the other towards the yard. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viaggi_CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a great 4 nights here in this friendly hotel. Honestly the owners/staff were so helpful and full of joy - we had a lovely time. Also great views of Marathon (my husband did the half marathon with daughter and fiancé) so I cheered them on from the steps. Right opposite Leith Links so good views and easy to get to Ocean Village for Royal Brittania and about half hour to walk into centre of Edinburgh. Also good bus route.

Room Tip: Lower ground very spacious room and can see trees from big window. Upper rooms very good (room 8) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 450Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for four nights and were very happy with the accommodations. The location is in a safe area right next to a park, which was nice for walking. It is right on the bus route to the Royal Mile, Princes Street and Holyrood Palace. It was not a bad 1.5 mile hike to these attractions if you're up for some exercise. The triple room we had was very clean with comfortable beds and coffee accommodations. You do have to walk up and down stairs on the upper floors. They do need to do some work on the shower grout but it was a minor issue. I would recommend this hotel. Kenny seemed to be the jack of trades and did an excellent job with directions, check in/out, and being the waiter.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room on the main or upper floors away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaF701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Our two stay was perfect, good breakfast nothing was too much trouble, plenty of helpful information, bus stop right outside into City Centre, you can walk but it's a good half hour. Rooms nice & comfortable. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 21farmwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
443 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, in their family room.
Comfy beds. Well appointed bathroom. Welcome tray of water, biscuits and After 8 mints.
Free, ample parking right outside the hotel. Park opposite.
Amenities nearby and we were allowed to order a pizza to our room. Kids were happy.

Good continental and cooked breakfast. Good choice.

Only grumble was their silly pricing. Wanted to stay another night and despite their being lots of available rooms for the next night and with the possibility of them not being filled at such short notice the manager, who was contacted by the helpful receptionist wouldn't drop the price. Therefore he lost two rooms being paid for.

Luckily it worked out in my favour as I found a fantastic late room deal on Booking.com
Family room at 22 Church Street for £33 instead of £200!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MatthewASharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Spotless clean, very helpful staff with great knowledge of Edinburgh. Bus stop right outside the hotel, £3.50 all day travel pass. Opposite park for walking or kids can play on the swings. Reasonable breakfast on offer. Lots of tea and coffee in room, even had chocolate mints, nice touch.

Recommended
,

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank darcyStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#172 of 391 in Edinburgh
171 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#40 of 391 in Edinburgh
750 reviews
Heriott Park Guest House
#164 of 391 in Edinburgh
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pillars House
#92 of 391 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Garfield Guest House
#42 of 391 in Edinburgh
342 reviews
Leith
The Bonnington Guest House
The Bonnington Guest House
#136 of 391 in Edinburgh
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Property: Culane House Hotel
Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 391 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing