We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews for this hotel are correct,an excellent stay,charming staff.”
Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Culane House Hotel
Ranked #154 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Saw the reviews for this hotel thought they were too good to be true for the price. But
very pleasantly surprised as it was all true. Family run very charming and cant do enough
for you to make your stay a pleasure. Recently refurbished to a high standard. Good size
rooms.well appointed,with ensuite. Good full English brreakfast. Hotel is across the road from Leith Links Park so makes it a pleasant location.Bus stop 50 yards buses every 20 mins.City centre 10 mins. Parking free on street.Nearby pub for good food.Other
restaurants with in walking distance. Would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concord09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the room was very clean and modern, with flat screen TV and very modern bathroom with power shower, transport links into Edinburgh were excellent and only a short walk to the restaurants and bars in Leith. Would definatley recommend it. From Sharon and Eddie in Boston Lincolnshire.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonBostonLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed three nights at the Culane and really enjoyed our stay. The only negatives would be the size of rooms, they are slightly cramped, but otherwise there is nothing wrong with them.
The rooms and hotel/guest house are imaculately clean. The hotel looks like it has been through a re-vamp recently as nothing looks tired.
Service, especially from the owner was really first class, they could not do enough for you and really made the stay a pleasant expierence.
would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redshaggydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

The hotel is in a quiet zone in front of a green park. This make your journey very enjoyable. The kindness, a good breakfast and a good service make the hotel very recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drug0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I booked this hotel for a short weekend break with me & my partner taking my mum & dad for a Christmas present. I'd describe the place as a 'boutique guesthouse' - the best B&B you're ever likley to stay in but not quite a proper hotel.
As other reviews mention the manager and staff are very helpful and have the feeling of a good hotel about them. The porter was a bit stuck for local knowledge / directions but we soon got the hang of things. The hotel is right on the bus route (Nos 12 & 25) and buses cost a flat rate £1.20 single and £3 all day. Taxis were between £7 & £10 to the city centre.
Rooms were small but all new and comfortable with good quality fittings, linen and tea / water / biscuits etc. The rooms were very hot but it was a great weekend - in the 20s outside. Shame my mum and dad's window would not open more than an inch.
Breakfast was fine rather than great - they need to make sure they replenish better on busy weekends - ran out of brown bread, orange juice and butter on Saturday morning. This was sorted for Sunday but the ran out of napkins that day. I get the feeling they're new there and things were noted and sorted quickly.
At £85/night you'd not exactly say it's reasonable but for Edinburgh where city centre chains start at £100 and go up for a basic room this place is a friendlier, cosier option and its to be recommended.
I had a walk round the local area and there's not much to be found - get the bus to Princes St for shopping, next street up is Rose St for beer abd pub food and one more up for Restaurants is George st - all an easy walk from the bus stop, as is Waverly bridge for the tour buses.
Oh nearly forgot, parking is on the street outside the hotel but it's plentiful and safe.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me95csh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Very helpful and friendly - much appreciated when one is travelling with a young, tired toddler!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I have never seen such hospitality and convenience in a B&B hotel as much as i've seen here.. I'd surely love to be back here and spend another amazing holiday again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABCD186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
3.2 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
6.1 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,615 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#208 of 395 in Edinburgh
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heriott Park Guest House
Heriott Park Guest House
#290 of 395 in Edinburgh
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#83 of 395 in Edinburgh
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#8 of 395 in Edinburgh
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing