We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Culane House Hotel
Ranked #122 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

Staff extremely attentive & friendly which made our stay all the more enjoyable. we were visiting family in Leith so the location was perfect for us. A wee bit out of the City Centre but there is a great bus service.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omshanti40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    93
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
84
165
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Very nice place for a stay in Edinburgh...The 25 bus stop is few meters from the hotel so in it easy to get to the downtown. We stayed there for 3 nights and everything was great. The rooms are furnished in a nice way and it has style.
I personally enjoyed the LCD TV in the room. The whole place was very clean.
The stuff was very kind and very helpful all the time. The cooked Scottish breakfast was something I was looking forward every morning. I really recommend this place. It is excellent.

Martin + Zuzana from Bratislava,Slovakia

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

Culane House Hotel was the icing on the cake for my first ever visit to Edinburgh.

From the moment we checked in we were given a fantastic welcome and the owner,
who leads by example, manages to get her staff to reflect her own high standards
of customer service.

The glorious building has been tastefully refurbished to create a lovely balance
between period property and contemporary facilities. We were shown to our room,
which was gorgeous, with luxurious bedding and immaculately clean furnishings and
felt immediately relaxed.

I have a health condition that prevents me from being mobile for periods of time and
we were unable to go out in the evenings, after such lovely days in the city, but we
were so delighted to be encouraged to order food to bring in and eat in our room,
without being made to feel in the least bit uncomfortable, that is a rare and lovely
thing for which we were very grateful.

Breakfast was plentiful; something for everyone's taste and it set us up every day.

It may be stating the obvious to say that I thoroughly recommend this as a place to
stay but it needs saying!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKatieKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Saw the reviews for this hotel thought they were too good to be true for the price. But
very pleasantly surprised as it was all true. Family run very charming and cant do enough
for you to make your stay a pleasure. Recently refurbished to a high standard. Good size
rooms.well appointed,with ensuite. Good full English brreakfast. Hotel is across the road from Leith Links Park so makes it a pleasant location.Bus stop 50 yards buses every 20 mins.City centre 10 mins. Parking free on street.Nearby pub for good food.Other
restaurants with in walking distance. Would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank concord09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Lincs
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the room was very clean and modern, with flat screen TV and very modern bathroom with power shower, transport links into Edinburgh were excellent and only a short walk to the restaurants and bars in Leith. Would definatley recommend it. From Sharon and Eddie in Boston Lincolnshire.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonBostonLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed three nights at the Culane and really enjoyed our stay. The only negatives would be the size of rooms, they are slightly cramped, but otherwise there is nothing wrong with them.
The rooms and hotel/guest house are imaculately clean. The hotel looks like it has been through a re-vamp recently as nothing looks tired.
Service, especially from the owner was really first class, they could not do enough for you and really made the stay a pleasant expierence.
would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redshaggydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

The hotel is in a quiet zone in front of a green park. This make your journey very enjoyable. The kindness, a good breakfast and a good service make the hotel very recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drug0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.9 mi away
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#169 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#44 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heriott Park Guest House
Heriott Park Guest House
#162 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#92 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#121 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbotsford Guest House
Abbotsford Guest House
#101 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Property: Culane House Hotel
Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing