We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”

Castle Terrace Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Just opened last week and we had a fabulous meal there
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was our second trip to this wonderful restaurant and we were not disappointed. We opted for the Chef's Land & Sea Surprise menu with accompanying wines. It's hard to not resort to hyperbole when describing the food. Inventive, beautifully balanced, delicious (of course) and even witty are all words that come to mind. Our table agreed that the spelt risotto was the highlight, followed by the salmon with wasabi ice-cream. (Believe me it works.) But it was all good. And witty because of the way the pork was served... I won't spoil the surprise. The accompanying wines were excellent and they do not skimp on the quantity. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming and the way that the restaurant is divided into smaller areas makes it feel more intimate than if it was one large space. I also like their philosophy on the importance of provenance and their highlighting so many wonderful Scottish ingredients. Definitely worth going for a celebratory meal if you are into serious gastronomy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,740
    267
    84
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Simply amazing. A must in Edinburgh. Can't wait to go again. Already planning our next visit. The service and food was faultless.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freah007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor I had high expectations. I was not disappointed in the least. Definitely recommend and will go again myself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank n0way_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Visited on a busy Friday night and had a really enjoyable meal! Went for the taster menu and have no complaints about the food at all. Each course was better than the last! However, only gripe we had was the time..over 3 hours! Think we were forgotten about between last 2 courses as we waited over 30 mins and not one member of staff approached our table during this time. We had to eventually ask how much longer. Overall, a great meal but let down a little by the service. Having visited a The Kitchin before, don't know if we maybe expected too much here??

Helpful?
1 Thank hamlyn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Castle Terrace deserves more than one star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This restaurant has all you can ask for! Staff with a wide knowledge of food and wine, modern and cozy atmosphere in the diningroom, localproduced, expensive and fantastic ingredients as far as it goes and a hard working chef with many years of experience that constantly renews the menu.

Me and my parents got the tasting menu with the matched wine packet, what an experience! It was three hours of pure enjoyment that we will never forget. My parents and i got invited down to the chefs table at some point, it was really nice to see the chef with his hard working staff in action. The food was simply delicious, combined with amazing wines. It's hard to describe it with words, you have to experience it by yourself to understand which high standard this restaurant has.

Castle Terrace deserves more than one star!

Do not hesitate to reserve a table, you will not regret it! :D

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Terrace Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Castle Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing