We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time and money”

Edinburgh Bus Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.72*
and up
Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle...
More Info
US$26.43*
and up
Edinburgh Bus and Boat Tour Including Forth Bridges Sightseeing Cruise
Ranked #32 of 203 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop on - hop off and discover the best of Scotland’s Capital with Edinburgh Bus Tours. Enjoy unbeatable views and an incredible experience on board our five star tours. Explore sights including Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse and The Royal Yacht Britannia. Choose from multi-lingual commentary available in up to 10 different languages or let a specially trained English speaking guide tell you about their city. Hop on - hop off tickets valid for 24 hours give you total flexibility to explore. Make a day of it and save money with our Grand and Royal tickets. Grand tickets give you access to all city tours for 24 or 48 hours. The Royal Edinburgh Ticket includes a Grand 48 ticket, plus admission to Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse and Royal Yacht Britannia saving you over 20%. We operate every day of the year, except 25 December
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Because of some very good experiences with similar bus tours in New York, Berlin and Hamburg we decided to go on a tour in Edinburgh as well. As we were interessted in the harbour area and Leith we choosed the "Majestic Tour" for 13£ per person.
The following comment refers to the audio comment in German: it is a very annoying mix of useless information, too much detailed information at the same time (years, names, dates) and ridiculous sound effects! To make matters worse the soundsystem didn't work as you would expect: some comments were cut off in the middle of the sentence and some comments started at the wrong places, which is absolutely devastating!
At the end we were glad we finally returned to Waverly Station and decided to explore the city on our own and by feet.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sparco_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
sparco_m

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy our Majestic Tour. We have had lots of positive comments about the commentary but we'll have a look at the German channel as clearly there was an issue there when you took the tour. We always have senior staff available on Waverley Bridge to assist if here are any problems so they can be sorted at the time.

Please email me with the date and time of your tour and, if possible, a copy of your tickets. I can then look in to this further and get back to you direct.

I appreciate you contacting us, giving me the opportunity to investigate your concerns.

With kind regards

Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager
Egreen@lothianbuses.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,221
    549
    169
    57
    61
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value ticket”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed outside Edinburgh and took the train in each day to Waverley Station. All the tours start from the station bridge so are very convenient. We had a 48 hour ticket which included a boat trip which was very good value at £18 each seniors price.

Over the two days we hoped on and off different busses and enjoyed all the tourist spots, the highlight was the boat trip and the seals. If we went again we would take an early boat trip and stay over on the island exploring for a couple of hours. Unfortunately as we where there only to days there where a few places we did not have time to visit but if we go back we will get the same ticket and visit them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dennis W

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh and that the Bus and Boat Tour was your highlight. It's just about to finish up for the season but will be back again in time for Easter 2014. It's good to hear that you saw seals on your trip too.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments here. We really enjoy hearing back from our visitors.

Come back and see us again soon.

With kind regards

Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I thought I knew Edinburgh!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

In town just for the day, I took the green bus 1 hour tour of the city (Edinburgh Tour). Our driver was Ali, the guide Joy - and she really was a joy! If you EVER want to discover Edinburgh, this is the lady to lead you.
I stayed on the whole hour, and didn't use the 24 hour facility to hop on and off, but the tour really did give me an eye-opening experience, well worth the time and money. It also helped guide me to the places I then chose to walk to for the rest of the day.
Thanks guys.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Roger P

I love the fact that you learned a lot from your tour with us, even though you thought you know the city. Joy will be very pleased that her fantastic commentary made you stay on the whole way round, then explored the places you had heard about later.

Thanks for hopping on and for recommending our tour so highly here.

It really is appreciated.

With kind regards

Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best way to see Edinurgh”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We bought the 48 hours ticket that allowed us on all 5 bus tours and included entrance into Edinburgh castle, Palace and the Royal Yacht Britannia.
Easily the best way to see all the sights.
Made much more enjoyable with the live tour guides on 2 of the buses.
We had Christine and Brian as our guides who were both excellent and didn't stop talking for the whole hour plus tour.
Much better than the other buses that had pre-recorded tapes that we had to listen to through headphones.
Brian and Christine made it a much more personal experience and also gave us a lot more information than the pre taped guides.
Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Edinburgh and make sure you look up these 2 guides.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Steve B

Thanks you so much for buying our Royal Edinburgh Ticket and for sharing your 5 star review here. Our Guides will be particularly delighted at their special mention.

As you know we have a mixture of pre-recorded commentary and, in the summer months, live guided tours too.

I appreciate you recommending our Royal Edinburgh Ticket so highly here. It sounds like you really enjoyed your visit.

With best wishes

Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous way to see the sights”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The bus tours are a fabulous way to see the town and stop at the places where you want to spend some time. We bought the ticket that allows you on any of the buses for 24 hrs which meant it was far easier to catch a bus to your next destination. I highly recommend this as a way of learning about the city, getting to the major attractions without any hassle and getting back to the centre of the city. A great day out!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Wendy D

It's good to hear that you enjoyed your 'Great Day Out' in Edinburgh hopping on and off our tours with your GRAND24 ticket.

Thank you so much for recommending the tours so highly here as a hassle-free way to explore Edinburgh.

With kind regards


Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edinburgh Bus Tours also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Bus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing