We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and lots of choice for fussy eaters”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Indaba

Indaba
Ranked #24 of 2,446 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: An unpretentious Tapas restaurant serving Tapas From Spain and South Africa. Yes, this is casual dining. Regret no under 5's. No Groups larger than 8.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and lots of choice for fussy eaters”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

A group of eight of us went for dinner and we had a fish allergy, two vegetarians, guests who required no garlic and no onion. The menu was so varied that everyone managed to find more than enough things that they could eat and more importantly that they wanted to eat. Also more than half of the menu was gluten free, so for people with any type of dietary restriction I’d recommend Indaba. All the food was delicious and the only thing that was left over was a little bit of salad that no-one had room for (or everyone was saving room for deserts).

The staff were very friendly and the service was prompt without making us feel rushed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghRachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edindaba, Owner at Indaba, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thanks for the lovely review! As most of our dishes are prepared when ordered it is very easy for us to leave things out if required.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    143
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best tapas I've ever had!!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I love spainish food and have eaten in a lot of tapas resturants but this one is by far the best I've been to, the food was amazing, simple but done right. The resturant is small and basic and first impressions I wasn't sure if it was going to be to good but I was proved wrong. Staff where very friendly will definitely be back when I return to Edinburgh.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malone2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Laid Back Atmosphere & Delicious Tapas”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We are pretty inexperienced in the tapas field so thought we'd try something different on a recent trip to Edinburgh.

"Indaba" is a laid back and unpretentious kind of place - Definitely not somewhere you'd feel comfortable in a fancy dress or a suit and tie. . Very much a casual place to kick back and enjoy the tastiest of food at a leisurely pace and a reasonable price .... My understanding is that is what tapas food is all about.

The food was fantastically flavoursome and cooked to perfection. It doesn't all arrive at the same time but that was fine by us as each plate of food was something special to savour and was hot & freshly prepared. The pork ribs were so delicious, we had to order a second portion.

The staff were absolutely lovely .... Friendly and attentive. Our first real tapas experience was so very enjoyable and we will certainly return here and recommend to others.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fyrishsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Indaba!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This restaurant was by far the best meal of our entire trip. The food was absolutely delicious and completely unique to other restaurants around. The staff were very helpful and gave great suggestions about what tapas to pick. Make sure to book beforehand as it is very popular, and rightly so!

Will definitely be returning when we are back in Edinburgh!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most Excellent”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I booked Indaba for 3 of us for 18:30 but had to change the booking 2 days before to 20:30 - this was not a problem and the staff were only to pleased to be of help.
A small and unassuming restaurant in a side street of Tollcross, the outside gives no indications to the wonderful food and service that awaits the diners inside. Our waitress was very knowledgable and guided us through the ecclectic mix of Spanish, South African and South American tapas. Although advised to select 7 tapas for our party of 3, we elected to order 9 including an ostrich steak from the 'specials' board. Other dishes that we ordered (and would wholeheartedly recommend) were peeled prawns in a spicy tomato sauce, Boerewor sausage, filet of seabass, goats cheese with caramelised onions and the most amazing succulent ribs amongst other tapas and a plate of complimetary bread. This was washed down with a South African pinotage which was an excellent and reasonably priced wine and went very well with our food. Our waiter always ensured that our water glasses were kept full which was a reflection of the high quality of service that we received throughout the evening. For dessert, we chose 3 different sweets each from a very good selection and each and every one were to die for - these included Plum & Blackcurrant Sorbet, Crying cake, Watermelon & Mint Sorbet, Coffee and nut icecream and a very light strawberry cheesecake. To finish off we had a decaf coffee, cappucino and an esspresso which rounded off this superb meal very nicely along with a complimentary shot of vodka with mango and orange juices.
Every aspect of this dining experience was excellent and very reasonably priced. We would not hesitate in recommending this restaurant and would be more than happy to visit it again and again and again..........

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indaba also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Indaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing