We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel, fantastic location, staff variable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #72 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel, fantastic location, staff variable.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Have just stayed at this hotel for the weekend as we were running in the Marathon Festival. We had three rooms, and we all found them clean, comfortable and well furnished. The location is fantastic, especially for the marathon start, and railway station which were a five minute walks away! The staff were variable, the man who checked us in was very friendly and helpful, and even went to the effort of putting all marathon runners on the same floor so we would have a good sleep. The woman on checking out was less so, we had previously been promised the option of leaving our luggage, 2 big cases, 2 bags and a laptop, at the hotel on checking out, as our train home was four hours later. When we tried to do this we were told in a very surly and dismissive way that they had no more room for this and we would have to go to the left luggage at the station.(Which cost £12) Not a big deal, I realise that they don't have to do it, but the way she spoke to us was very dismissive and there was clearly room behind the reception desk. If she had shown a bit more courtesy in declining our request, it wouldn't have been a problem. Small complaint however, it would not put me off returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charltonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    375
    112
    42
    29
See reviews for
157
437
72
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Perfect location if you want to visit all the sights of the city, also very well situated to all the restaurants and bars for evening entertainment, and a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport, depending on city traffic.
The hotel rooms are basic, but have a tv and kettle, and space to hang a few clothes, but this is what you expect from a Travelodge.
The only gripe I have is with the house keeping. Although our room was visited by staff every day (we stayed 5 days), they neglected to Hoover the carpet even though it was very obvious that it needed to be done. Also, the desk with the kettle on needed a bit of a wipe over. It seems the staff empty the bins, change the towels, and make the bed. Fortunately, the bathroom was clean when we arrived, and we kept it that way during our visit.
We would definitely recommend this hotel for a no frills place to stay. Perfect for people who are planning to be out all day seeing the city.

Room Tip: The front rooms are noisy due to road traffic and people passing, so would recommend families ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scraffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Have used this hotel on three occasions over the last three years and note that the prices have risen astronomically; from £49 to £59 and now to an eye watering £87 for one Friday night. I say eye watering because you do not get much for your pound. It is ideally located for the centre of Edinburgh and OK, rooms are pleasantly decorated, clean and well furnished. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. Beds are comfortable and the bathroom does what a bathroom should do but surely £87 merits more than one tiny bottle of hand wash/shower wash / shampoo. Staff on duty appears to consist of one receptionist who always seems to be away from her post. Perhaps she is expected to be a multi tasker? Out of curiosity I have checked the latest price for a Friday night and although the website suggests a room is available for £49, on taking the booking enquiry further it shoots up to £109. Travel Lodge, and its purple badged competitor, you know the one I mean, the one which Lenny Henry tries to tell us we can get a room for £19, (£119 in reality) are having a laugh. Stay at the Travel Lodge Waterloo Place if you must but don’t expect much for your money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkophileabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The kettle in my room spontaneously combusted. I am not talking blowing a fuse - I am talking about burning and smoking. The window was locked so I couldn't clear the smoke which was a bit frightening and when I reported it the staff just shrugged and gave me a new kettle. Possibly the worst customer service experience I have ever had!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here for just one night as a party of 4 in two rooms. We had early checkin booked on one of the rooms so could access it from 12 and wouldn't have to lug our cases around with us. We turned up at 9.30 (early flight) and asked if we could leave our cases there. Because they had rooms ready the very helpful young chap at the desk let us check in to a room at 9.30. We returned at 3 to check in to the other room and he had arranged this to be next door to the first one.
The next day (Sunday) we had to leave by 12 but again didn't want to bring our cases with us. We were able to leave our cases with them until we left for our flight (picking them up around 6) saving us a locker fee at the bus station. I don't think leaving luggage, (or super early checkin) is a guaranteed service but we were impressed with the willingness of the staff to help us any way they could.
The rooms were clean and comfortable as one would expect and the location, a short walk from waverley station, fantastic, right in the centre where we wanted to be. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have just returned from a 2 night stay & would definitely be happy to stay again in the future. The central location for exploring Edinburgh is perfect. I visit Edinburgh a few times a year & in the past have stayed 5* , this was a last minute trip & booked this due to lack of availability elsewhere at reasonable prices. This definitely taught me all I need is a comfortable bed (slept extremely well) and a clean room/bathroom, which it was & the staff were lovely...that said, a small bar of soap in addition to the shower gel supplied would be appreciated but hey, there are tea & coffee making facilities in room, so for the price, great value. It is truly a 'no frills' operation so expect & accept that & hopefully you will be happy :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank tillie12gardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here 05-07 May 2014. We were pleasantly surprised with the big family room assigned to us. It was a corner room with a nice view and lots of windows. The traffic outside didnt bother us. Plus the location was perfect! Very near Waverly train station and walking distance to the royal mile. A small shopping mall nearby. Staff was great! Only complaint was , no breakfast buffet like other Travelodge hotels we stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regiliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#77 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,034 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 17 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing