We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price and best location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #79 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great price and best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights for £35 per night. The location f this Travelodge couldn't be better for sight seeing and shopping. We got the tram from the airport which dropped us a short walk away. Our room was great, top floor and looking onto a side road so v quiet. The staff were polite and the room clean - we had a great time in Edinburgh for a budget price. Martone's on the corner does lovely breakfasts.

Room Tip: top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    340
    107
    39
    28
See reviews for
128
403
69
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Beeding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Waterloo Place Edinburgh is a very clean and and well kept Travelodge.Very near station shops and walking and viewing about Edinburgh.The rooms look very smart and welcoming,would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash Vale
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This Travelodge is a 5 minute walk from Waverley Railway Station and is a perfect base for sightseeing. Having read previous reviews regarding possible street noise, I asked for a room at the back and was given a room on the 3rd (top) floor. Although I couldn't hear the road, I could hear the air con from the building next door but that was only intermittant so it didn't really bother me.
Hair dryers and irons/ironing boards are available from reception. If you require breakfast you can purchase an "airline" type breakfast from reception for approx £5.00 but I didn't bother as there is a fabulous cafe called "Pep and Fodder" next door. There is a drinks machine and vending machine in the reception area. I noticed the vending machine sells a small pack of shampoo, shower gel, deodrant and toothpaste for £5.00, although the Travelodge do supply a minature shampoo/shower gel.
Room very clean and bed extremely comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and we had a bit of a chat with Neil on reception, who was helpful.
If you want a great meal, I can highly recommend the "Kings Wark" in Leith, a 15 minute bus ride away. This is a wonderful pub with a small restaurant. The menu is the same, regardless of where you sit, and the food is out of this world. I have been going there for years and it has always been good. If you fancy going then you will need to walk to the bus stop outside of John Lewis. Catch the number 22 bus (marked up Ocean Terminal). The bus fare is £1.50 each way and the bus will stop outside the pub, (ask the driver to give you a shout). The bus stop back is over the bridge on the other side of the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I went downstairs to my room, which was very nice, had all the basic stuff needed and a big double bed, very comfortable.

I had a long hot shower, and proceeded to get to bed and had one of the quietest nights sleep i have ever had, no noise whatsoever was heard from other people.

The room was clean, warm, comfortable and at under £35 was a great deal - i loved it, if i had the money i would live here permanently.

Staff helpful and friendly.

Would definately go here again.

Room Tip: Mine was downstairs, bottom flor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainSparrow1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

An excellent position both central and quiet. Comfortable beds triple glazing and excellent shower. All the essentials 5star. Only thing missing is a hairdryer in the room. You have to ask for one. The price is very reasonable. Stayed on a lot of Edinburgh hotels but this wins hands down. Best of the travelodge too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank janeysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Have just stayed at this hotel for the weekend as we were running in the Marathon Festival. We had three rooms, and we all found them clean, comfortable and well furnished. The location is fantastic, especially for the marathon start, and railway station which were a five minute walks away! The staff were variable, the man who checked us in was very friendly and helpful, and even went to the effort of putting all marathon runners on the same floor so we would have a good sleep. The woman on checking out was less so, we had previously been promised the option of leaving our luggage, 2 big cases, 2 bags and a laptop, at the hotel on checking out, as our train home was four hours later. When we tried to do this we were told in a very surly and dismissive way that they had no more room for this and we would have to go to the left luggage at the station.(Which cost £12) Not a big deal, I realise that they don't have to do it, but the way she spoke to us was very dismissive and there was clearly room behind the reception desk. If she had shown a bit more courtesy in declining our request, it wouldn't have been a problem. Small complaint however, it would not put me off returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charltonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Perfect location if you want to visit all the sights of the city, also very well situated to all the restaurants and bars for evening entertainment, and a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport, depending on city traffic.
The hotel rooms are basic, but have a tv and kettle, and space to hang a few clothes, but this is what you expect from a Travelodge.
The only gripe I have is with the house keeping. Although our room was visited by staff every day (we stayed 5 days), they neglected to Hoover the carpet even though it was very obvious that it needed to be done. Also, the desk with the kettle on needed a bit of a wipe over. It seems the staff empty the bins, change the towels, and make the bed. Fortunately, the bathroom was clean when we arrived, and we kept it that way during our visit.
We would definitely recommend this hotel for a no frills place to stay. Perfect for people who are planning to be out all day seeing the city.

Room Tip: The front rooms are noisy due to road traffic and people passing, so would recommend families ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scraffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#77 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#101 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing