We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thai Food As In Thailand”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chang Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Chang Thai Restaurant
Price range: US$11 - US$35
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Thai Food As In Thailand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Tasty, authentic Thai dishes like Tad Mun Pla (Thai fish cakes), excellent Green curries, Singha Thai beer! What more could you ask?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Appinhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    14
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Had a meal here with my wife last night , and we both thought the food was excellent, quick friendly service and a relaxing atmosphere. The red panang curry was brilliant and they also made an Issan dish for my wife Larb moo which again was excellent. All in a very good meal was had :) at Chang Thai.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JLOT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Visited this place in order to bring back a few memories from the last time I ate here a few years ago...... it certainly didn't look, feel, or taste the same.

The place used to light up the little alleyway that it sits in by being bright green ouside - it's not anymore.

The food was ok...... the tempura was a little too greasy and the spring rolls were slightly undercooked and a bit tepid..... chicken massaman was fine but the king prawn red curry really lacked flavour and depth....... even the jasmine rice was very bland.

We were in a rush as we had a train to catch and this place scored well for its fast service and proximity to the train station.

Not a disaster but some simple errors that could easily be rectified if they just tasted their own cooking once in a while maybe?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wevzyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a rip off!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

This was a bit disappointing, although not a complete disaster.

The advertised 'dinner' menu is not available after 6:30 and the portions are very small, so it quickly became a pricey evening.

The 'red curry' was not red or spicy enough. There was no basil in the 'Chicken Basil Stir Fry', and the 'Som Tum' was far too small for the price. There were only small bottles of overpriced beer.

Nice location, though, and the tastes were OK.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank the458spider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lacked flavour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

To be fair, I have only been here once and had the set lunch menu and it may be better if you eat A La Carte. I was surprised that at 12:1 on a bank holiday at the end of the Edinburgh Fringe hat I was the only diner. But at least that meant the service was great. I ordered vegetable tempura followed chicken Pad Thai. The starter was fine although the selection of vegetables was limited. At least the batter was crisp and well cooked not thick and soggy as is sometimes the case. But the sweet chilli sauce looked and tasted as though it had been watered down. The Thai Pad though was greasy and totally lacked flavour. Even with all the chilli and lemon stirred through it was pretty tasteless. If I'm passing at night I'll give it another go but I won't be going out of my way to return. There are plenty of Thai restaurants in Edinburgh with tastier food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chang Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing