We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting”

Royal Yacht Britannia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.11*
and up
The Royal Yacht Britannia
Ranked #3 of 402 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Step aboard The Queen's former floating palace and experience this iconic 5 star attraction for yourself. Rated Scotland's Best Attraction for 11 years running and in TripAdvisor's UK Top 10 for the last 5 years, Britannia is one of the most famous ships in the world. Sailing a million miles on a thousand official visits, during 40 years in service, the Royal Yacht played host to glittering state banquets and official receptions, but was also home to the Royal Family and crew of 220 Royal Yachtsmen. Explore Britannia's highly accessible 5 decks with highlights including the elegant Royal Apartments, Crew's Quarters, Engine Room and stunning Royal Deck Tea Room. FREE audio guide in 30 languages and British Sign Language Tablet. Highly accessible for wheelchairs and buggies. Open year round with FREE parking for 1600 cars at Ocean Terminal. Only 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre (local buses every 10 minutes - 11, 22, 34 and 35 to Ocean Terminal).
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Absolutely loved the tour of the Brittania. It gives you a great insight to how the royals really live.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaylene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We are delighted to hear how much you loved the insight into Royal life aboard Britannia. Many thanks for visiting while you were in Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,953
    3,469
    590
    105
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
445 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Easy to get to from Princess Street. Bus no. 22 £1.50 each way to Ocean Terminal. Go to 2nd floor in shopping centre and follow signs. £12 for adults and cheaper for pensioners. Hand sets mean you go at your own paced get your own language. Pleasant staff peppered about. Lots of eating places in the centre as well as the tea room on the yacht.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Great to hear that you found us very easy to reach from the city centre. As you say, our complimentary audio handset is great for allowing you to explore at your own pace and currently comes in 22 different languages (although this will be expanding in the new year). Many thanks for your five-star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good and very interesting”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This was not on my own hit list of things to see but my wife wanted to have a look around.

Took us about 30 minutes to walk there from Waverley station and there is an eclectic mix of architecture along the way.

When we got close it was a tad confusing initially as how do you get to it? You enter the shopping centre and it is on the second floor. This puzzled us but when you walk out on to the gangway it makes perfect sense.

Very nice entry area and very helpful staff. We were given our free audio tour "wands" and off we went.

Very interesting to see the lay out and how the ship functioned, certainly an insight in to how the other half live whilst funded by the tax payer.

Attention to detail was evident everywhere.

I did like how you moved between levels. Made it easy, very safe and accessible to everyone.

Be warned the on board restaurant is pricey, but the quality of what you had combined with the service & surroundings / ambience made it a price worth paying. We had the platter which was £12 for a soup and a sandwich with some paprika wedges. On all counts the portions were small but enough to act as a stop gap til evening meal. The Cullen soup was delicious, although I would have preferred a bowl as when I'm paying £6 for it I don't want the image of a Bachelors cuppa soup!

They have removed walls of rooms so you can see in.

Staff on board were very friendly and helpful and the audio tour was informative, interesting and very easy to use.

The entire ship was explored and very interesting it was too and I whilst I initially had no interest to see it I was so very glad I was press ganged in to doing so.

Excellent value for money and I'd highly recommend it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ollossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Fantastic to hear that your experience aboard Britannia far exceeded your expectations. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed exploring the five decks with some time to enjoy lunch in the Royal Deck Tea Room. Thank you for your lovely comments about the team as everyone is passionate about delivering an exceptional experience for all of our visitors. Many thanks for visiting and taking the time to share such an extensive review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Excellent behind the scenes peek into a bygone era. Loved it all and the handsets to listen to the descriptions as we went round were very good. I would thoroughly recommend a trip. There's lots to see and I think even young children would be interested.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed exploring with the complimentary audio guide. It really can feel like stepping back into the 1950’s as 95% of the items on board are original to the ship and kindly on loan from the Royal Collection. Many thanks for visiting and recommending us to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Spent a lovely afternoon exploring the Royal Yacht and finding out about everything that happened on board. Really liked the fact that I could do the tour at my own pace and didn't have to trot along after a guide.

The café on board was nice, but as with all cafes at a tourist attraction, the food was very overpriced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Lovely to hear how much you enjoyed being able to explore Britannia at your own pace. The complimentary audio guide really is great for bringing the tour route to life while allowing you to enjoy the experience at your leisure. Many thanks for visiting and sharing your five-star review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Yacht Britannia also viewed

 

Been to Royal Yacht Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing