We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“royal yacht visit”

Royal Yacht Britannia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.07*
and up
The Royal Yacht Britannia
Ranked #3 of 402 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Step aboard The Queen's former floating palace and experience this iconic 5 star attraction for yourself. Rated Scotland's Best Attraction for 11 years running and in TripAdvisor's UK Top 10 for the last 5 years, Britannia is one of the most famous ships in the world. Sailing a million miles on a thousand official visits, during 40 years in service, the Royal Yacht played host to glittering state banquets and official receptions, but was also home to the Royal Family and crew of 220 Royal Yachtsmen. Explore Britannia's highly accessible 5 decks with highlights including the elegant Royal Apartments, Crew's Quarters, Engine Room and stunning Royal Deck Tea Room. FREE audio guide in 30 languages and British Sign Language Tablet. Highly accessible for wheelchairs and buggies. Open year round with FREE parking for 1600 cars at Ocean Terminal. Only 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre (local buses every 10 minutes - 11, 22, 34 and 35 to Ocean Terminal).
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“royal yacht visit”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

well organised and audio guide was useful.
the display was excellent including the royal memorabilia.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hashim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, Marketing Executive at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Wonderful to hear how well organised you found the tour to be. Many thanks for visiting and posting your review to TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,932
    3,463
    588
    105
    33
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must see attraction in Edinburgh!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Having went to Edinburgh for only 2 nights' stay, we had to carefully plan our itinerary; and visiting Royal Yacht Britannia was definitely a great decision. We were provided with audio guides for the tour which was quite informative and helpful. Although the queue for the Tea Room was slighty long which is understandable, we thoroughly enjoyed our lunch there. Overall, we had a lovely time. A must see attraction if you are in Edinburgh!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShuvaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, Marketing Executive at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you so much for describing Britannia as a must-see attraction. We are delighted you were able to visit during your time in Edinburgh and enjoyed lunch in the Tea Room too. Many thanks for visiting and sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale, lancs
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value attraction full of interest”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Royal Yacht Britannia is an excellent attraction, great value for money and full of interest. Staff are knowledgeable and helpful, and the sound guide that helps you along your way through the various decks of the ship is concise and informative. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the tea room, highly recommended, with first class service. The fudge shop down below deck is also hard to pass! An enjoyable couple of hours, with free parking on site and in easy reach of the city centre

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rochdalians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, Marketing Executive at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
A glowing review – thank you so much for your kind words. The team will love reading your comments as we are all passionate about ensuring our visitors have an exceptional experience on board. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shame the queen had to give it up!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We'll organised and you never felt too crowded. The food was good on the new sun deck but it did attract more people than they had space for. I would definitely recommend a viewing if you are at all patriotic or just interested in times gone by...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TopDogRouteMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, Marketing Executive at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for letting others know there is something for everyone aboard the Royal Yacht. We’re delighted you enjoyed the food in the Royal Deck Tea Room too – for others looking for a quieter time, we recommend visiting either earlier in the morning or later in the afternoon. Many thanks for your five-star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well organised tour”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This attraction is very well organised. We took a public bus from the town centre to Leith. The entry price includes the audio, which is a great thing to do.

The tour takes visitors around the boat in an orderly way from the top level to the bottom. This means that people are generally all heading in the same direction and avoids over crowding.

The boat itself is amazing to see close up. Everything, from the royal quarters to the crew rooms, is fascinating. The audio adds a lot to the experience. Really enjoyable day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank blackcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, Marketing Executive at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We’re delighted you enjoyed the audio handset so much. It really does help bring the tour route to life and as you say, is complimentary with every admission (also available in 27 different languages!). Many thanks for visiting while you were in Edinburgh and taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Yacht Britannia also viewed

 

Been to Royal Yacht Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing