We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting”

Royal Yacht Britannia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.37*
and up
The Royal Yacht Britannia
More Info
US$71.70*
and up
Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle...
More Info
US$64.81*
and up
Edinburgh Shore Excursion: City Highlights Tour
Ranked #3 of 416 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Step aboard The Queen's former floating palace and experience this iconic 5 star attraction for yourself. Rated Scotland's Best Attraction for 11 years running and in TripAdvisor's UK Top 10 for the last 5 years, Britannia is one of the most famous ships in the world. Sailing a million miles on a thousand official visits, during 40 years in service, the Royal Yacht played host to glittering state banquets and official receptions, but was also home to the Royal Family and crew of 220 Royal Yachtsmen. Explore Britannia's highly accessible 5 decks with highlights including the elegant Royal Apartments, Crew's Quarters, Engine Room and stunning Royal Deck Tea Room. FREE audio guide in 30 languages and British Sign Language Tablet. Highly accessible for wheelchairs and buggies. Open year round with FREE parking for 1600 cars at Ocean Terminal. Only 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre (local buses every 10 minutes - 11, 22, 34 and 35 to Ocean Terminal).
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Nice immersion in the past, they give you headphones. There is also plenty of personal memories from the Royal Family and from all over the world.

Thank annabeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, Marketing Executive at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

It can feel like stepping back into the 1950s aboard Britannia. I hope you’ll apply for your free Annual Pass to come back and visit, with 15% off in the Tea Room and Gift Shop. Many thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16,210)
There are newer reviews for Royal Yacht Britannia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,718 - 9,722 of 16,210 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We joined the tour of this Royal Yacht in the afternoon. We enjoyed afternoon tea first and then embarked on our tour. It is a wonderful experience! To actually see the rooms , photographs, memorabilia and everyday workings, the bridge, immaculate! Everything is glistening! You feel as if the Royal Family are going to join you at any moment. the staff on the yacht were so helpful and friendly. Do not miss this trip.

Thank Annie282013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, Marketing Executive at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Your lovely review has made my day, Annie. Thank you for your kind comments on the maintenance of the ship and our staff too. I love your comment that Britannia felt as if the Royal Family could join you at any moment. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Facinating to see how the royals lived. All the staff were friendly and pleased to share their knowledge.
It was a special treat to have lunch in the onboard resturant.

Thank Tabletopmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, Marketing Executive at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about the team – I’ll ensure these are shared as they’ll be delighted to read them. Many thanks for visiting and posting your review on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Really really enjoyed this tour
A beautiful ship
A real insight into the royals life on board
You oh all over the ship and the audio is very interesting
Himself enjoyed it very much
Then had a very nice royal lunch on the tea room at a reasonable price
We did this as part of the royal tour on the hop on hop off bus
The stop right outside outage reuse I don't know how yo get there quite a way out from the city
In a lovely spot on the harbour
Had a lovely sunny day and water looked great

Thank nonna54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, Marketing Executive at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

The Majestic Tour Bus is a great tip for others wishing to sightsee en route to the Royal Yacht. We’re delighted you enjoyed the tour and beautiful waterfront views too. Many thanks for your five-star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We bought our tickets in advance on-line and they were posted out to us (in Australia!!) How quaint. The visit gives you an insight into life on board a very expensive yacht, some thing one normally doesn't get to experience. The Royal Apartments were of most interest, but seeing below decks for the staff was also eye opening. Treat yourself to something in the Tea Room on the top deck of the boat and feel like Royalty. We felt the price for the privilege was great value.

Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, Marketing Executive at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

It is lovely to hear you felt like Royalty in the Tea Room – it is a very special experience with the waiter service and delicious food fresh from the Galley. Many thanks for visiting while you were in Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Yacht Britannia also viewed

 

Been to Royal Yacht Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing