We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to enjoy the rare sunshine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princes Street Gardens

Princes Street Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.19*
and up
Walking Tour of Edinburgh's New Town
Ranked #14 of 391 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Impeccably landscaped park and woodland surrounding Edinburgh Castle.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to enjoy the rare sunshine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

You can see the locals eating lunch and enjoying the rare ray of sunshine here (if they feel the weather warming above 20 degress everyone is starting to take of their shirts...seriously). You have a nice view of the castle from here and of the bridge. If you turn around there is the busy Princess street behind you, but the gardens still have a very peaceful athmosphere to it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edit806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,032
    1,652
    248
    28
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We stumbled on these, make a point to see them!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was so awesome! We were just walking around and decided to explore them when we saw the sign... oh my gosh, beautiful. And free! The roses were in full bloom and there are some very well done WWI and other war monuments there too. If you are traveling anywhere via Waverly, you'll be right there, so take the time to walk down the steps and check them out - you can do this in 10 mins if thats all you have! We probably spent an hour just b/c they were so pretty.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisaAS6427PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Botanical haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely calm park in the centre of Edinburgh we stopped to eat a sandwich and watch the world go by, your aware of the busy city around the park but it is unobtrusive and fades into insignificance when faced with the views of Edinburgh castle

Helpful?
Thank Deirdremenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good to relax.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Good to relax and people watch especially after a days shopping in Princes Street especially if you experience good weather as we did, you even hear bagpipe players in the distance

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CeeVee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Stroll with Amazing Castle Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We happened upon the Princess Street Gardens while walking into town from our hotel. There were flowering thistle plants (Scotland's official flower) and manicured walkways with the Edinburgh Castle high on the hill looking over the garden. Great photo opportunities.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Princes Street Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Princes Street Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing