We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, excellent service”

Guchhi Indian Restaurant
Ranked #359 of 2,511 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Situated in Fountainbridge, Guchhi India is a family-orientated restaurant which serves authentic Indian food from 12am to 3am seven days a week. We pride ourselves on the superior quality of our freshly prepared dishes which draw inspiration from all around the world. We want everyone to experience Guchhi's varied tapas and a la carte menus, which is why we have deals from £6.95 to £20.00 and cater to all dietary requirements. We also have a kids menu, provide catering and host group events including cookery classes.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We arrived very late on Saturday evening and enjoyed a very good meal at Gucchi. The Goan Mussels were out of this world, I'd be confident to say the best I've ever had. Great service, very attentive and quick and very reasonable prices.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank abetts2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    66
    23
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice late night meal”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Edinburgh late in the evening after a 10 hour journey and this was the only place open so we took a chance but couldn't have been more pleased. Lovely food, really friendly service and a great deal with Taste Card (even on a Saturday night).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great curry”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I've now been to Guchhi on 4 occasions. The fist time was for a curry cooking lesson - which was fantastic, and highly recommended - and the next three times for meals with friends. All three times I have gone for the tapas selection.

The tapas dishes are surprisingly filling, and the having had the madras a couple of times I can say that it packs a punch! The chicken and vegetable pakoras are amazing, as are the breads. Nice, light and cooked to perfection.

The service is always good. The staff are friendly and welcoming and always happy to give advice on what to eat and give recommendations.

They specialise in seafood, which is unfortunate for me as I don't eat seafood at all, however I have been told that it is fantastic.

Now the only bad thing. The gents toilet (not sure about the ladies) could do with a makeover as it's not the best.

Overall, it's a great experience and one that I recommend. So much so, that I'm going again this weekend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely seafood”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Used a Groupon voucher, excellent service and tasty food. The shellfish stew starter was superb. Pretty quiet but made to feel very welcome.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kittenelbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely Indian tapas”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Visited with friends for a 5pm deal of unlimited tapas for £16 each. We all had 2 starters and 2 or 3 mains, which were larger than we expected and all very tasty.
Bread, rice etc were extra so it wasn't really as cheap as it could have been.
We enjoyed our night though and would go back again.

Helpful?
Thank jetsetter057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guchhi Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Guchhi Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing