We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Chinese food.”
Review of The Golden Dragon

The Golden Dragon
Ranked #821 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$13 - US$23
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: Authentic Chinese Restaurant in Edinburgh City centre. Established since 1964. Well known for handmade Har Gow, Siu Mai, Aromatic Crispy Duck and other special dishes.Chinese and Japanese translated menu available.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Okay Chinese food.”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

It's was just alright. Lots of choices. We missed oriental food and we found this place. I just feel the food can be a bit cheaper.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    77
    37
    36
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deakin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent real Chinese food not westernised”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Great real Chinese food. Well worth finding it and taking the time to eat there. You always know a good Chinese when Chinese people are eating there!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiji20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh888, Manager at The Golden Dragon, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Customer


Thank you for your feedback. I will pass on your praises to our hard working team.


January 31st 2014 heralds the Chinese New Year of the horse.


Here are some of our foods with auspicious meanings for you try giving you good health , wealth and happiness:


Spring Rolls: symbol of wealth ( shape similar to gold bars!)

Chicken Lettuce Wrap ( lettuce when sounded in Cantonese sounds like rising fortune) :prosperity.

Steamed Sea Bass with ginger and spring onions : we like plenty of fish meaning abundance.

Har Gow / Prawn Dishes (when pronounced in Cantonese means laughter) - Symbol of Happiness.


Kung Hei Fat Choi!



Hope to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Standard Chinese with good service”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

There was nothing that blew me away or stood out to put the restraint above other Chinese's, however the staff were very friendly. I would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Tobias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh888, Manager at The Golden Dragon, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your kind feedback. Next time you visit us again please allow me to offer guidance to menu of our authentic dishes. For example our homemade and handmade Har Gow (Prawn Dumplings) , Siu Mai (Prawn and Pork Dumpling ) , Crispy Aromatic Duck with Pancakes will certainly tantalise your taste buds.

Our hearty winter Beef Brisket Hot Pot is truly warming and tender to enjoy over the winter months. These are a few examples of authentic dishes that suit our Asian clientale and has made us stand the test of time.

We look forward seeing you very soon at the Golden Dragon , Castle Street.

Happy New Year!

Chinese New Year is 31st January 2014 ...come and celebrate with us if you have a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Visited on Sunday 29th December, service was very good , friendly and attentive staff , food was very good , maybe a touch expensive compared to other Chinese Restaurants but would visit again .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brussell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh888, Manager at The Golden Dragon, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Customer,

Happy New Year!

Thank you for your kind feedback. If you ever visit our vibrant city of Edinburgh please remember to see us again on Castle Street.

Wish you a great 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We came into this restaurant whilst working in Edinburgh for the weekend in November. It was a busy Saturday night, however upon arival there were still spare tables and it wasnt too crowded. It took 20 minutes for anyone to offer us drinks and we had to ask for a menu.

We only ordered a main course and a rice dish each and it took 70 minutes for these to arrive. By this time my patience was wearing a little thin. We ate and got out of there again. I found the staff to be less than helpful and one was slightly rude despite the lengthly wait with no explanation

One of our party ordered a chicken curry. The entire bowl had just 8 peices of thinly sliced chicken in it. Not at all acceptable

Would i go back... NOT A CHANCE

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dancin_hanson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Dragon also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Golden Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing