We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
No. 16 Learmonth Terrace
Ranked #181 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Five stars in all categories isn't enough! This place was by far one of the best places I've ever stayed. After some summer post-grad work in England I decided to take a holiday up north to Scotland and happened across this lovely place that had a room for one night. Located on a quiet street just a quick cab ride from both Haymarket and Waverly Stations, I arrived and was warmly greeted by the hosts who brought fresh hot tea. The room was huge and impeccably clean, the bed was as comfortable as sleeping on a cloud, and the breakfast was bountiful and of the best quality. The hostess even makes fresh jams from the fruits in her mother's garden! She is also incredibly knowledgeable and will tell you of the best places to go based on what you're interested in. There aren't enough wonderful words to describe this place and the folks who own it. I was more than lucky to have happened upon it and would recommend it to anyone, anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LS503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
101
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 2-day stay with Joon and Peter and found it difficult to leave their extremely gracious hospitality and beautiful home. We were so spoiled by the delicious treats in our room, fresh flowers and authentic artwork that it made the next B&B we visited pale by comparison! The breakfasts were truly remarkable, and Joon and Peter went out of their way to serve special Scottish foods and anything else we could possibly desire (including fried goat cheese, haggis, etc.). The selection of fresh fruit was truly greater than I have ever seen, including extensive hotel buffets! We cannot recommend Joon and Peter's place highly enough and so appreciate having had the privilege of staying with them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBrewers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Me and my partner arrived earlier than expected but were welcomed in by Joon and Peter, two fantastic hosts. Not only was the house beautiful, spacious and clean, but the breakfast was delicious. Fantastic places to eat out were recommended and although exploring Edinburgh was great and what we came to do, we actually found that our favourite part of the trip was chatting to Joon and Peter over a glass of whisky, learning about Edinburgh's rich history - truly fascinating and friendly hosts that we are sure to keep in touch with in the future! Complete privacy was also given and having our own bathroom with a jacuzzi bath was a much appreciated added luxury.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Thank you Joon for your wonderful hospitality. We loved our stay with you this past week from the comfy large bed to the tasty breakfast spreads. It definitely enhanced our experience of the beautiful city of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James888813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights and were welcomed in by Joon who was more than hospitable. The bedroom was furnished to a high standard and the house felt like an exclusive art gallery. The bed was easily the biggest we've stayed in on our travels and we enjoyed the array of sweet and savoury treats left in the room. Breakfast was a feast and Joon provided us with local foods to try. Although it is about 15-20 minute walk to the city centre we enjoyed exploring the local area away from the tourist attractions. There is on street metered parking available (plenty of spaces) but did not need to pay over the weekend. Joon recommended a local market where we browsed local food and fresh produce. Overall a lovely experience with very generous hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23meadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just by chance we found No. 16 Learmonth Terrace and what a sweet find it was! The location is lovely, the sleeping room quite large with a king-size bed, small 'fridge, sofa, and of course the treat were yummy too. The bathroom was large and luxurious. And spending time with Joon and Peter was indeed a value added as they are lovely hosts and invited us to share time with them in their sweet garden. We will certainly be back to No. 16 Learmonth Terrace!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Superb room really well decorated with king size bed and nice sheets.
The amenities in the room a plus plus plus: water, whisky, chocolate and mints and much more.
The bathroom is big and clean but is not ensuite but is close and exclusive to the guests.
It is a little bit far from the main tourist attractions in Edinburgh, but everything can be reached walking.
Breakfast is beyond anything I ever seen! Joon really puts her efforts to make us happy in the morning! Different types of bread, cheese, jams, fruits, yogurts and anything else you can imagine.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelfireBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#49 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,355 reviews
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
#114 of 149 in Edinburgh
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#44 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,290 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,833 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#17 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 16 Learmonth Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 16 Learmonth Terrace

Property: No. 16 Learmonth Terrace
Address: 16 Learmonth Terrace, Edinburgh EH4 1PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
No. 16 Learmonth Terrace Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing