We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The magic of Scotland discovered”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
No. 16 Learmonth Terrace
Ranked #184 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
“The magic of Scotland discovered”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We always wanted to visit Scotland from Denmark and this gave us a really magical trip. Scottish people are so friendly especially Joon and Peter who made us laugh each day, as well us giving us the delicious breakfast. It was perfect location, very reasonable price and very clean and comfortable, everything you need for a visit to a foreign land (we are especially loving the Jacuzzi in the bath!) I have told all my Danish friends where to look if they want to discover the magic of Edinburgh. 

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nive04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
101
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here with my wife and daughter for 4 nights, and we're already planning our return visit. Located in a fantastic central location, just a walk away from the local Stockbridge market where we found a wonderful selection of cheeses, olives, soaps and wines to stock up for the end of winter. We passed on lunch in the city on most days because Joon's delicious breakfast filled us up so well! The hosts Joon and Peter were so welcoming, kind and knowledgeable about the local area - we could have spent the whole trip chatting to them if our daughter hadn't dragged us out to explore the beautiful city. Having said that, we had plenty of space to ourselves and they weren't at all intrusive, we were the ones holding them in conversation! We are planning to return here for the festival, but we'll have to be quick as I'm sure they are in high demand!

Thanks again for a wonderful trip.

Bill, Flora and Josie

Room Tip: Make good use of the complimentary whisky canteen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent two nights at this B&B. The room is large and well equipped, breakfast is exceptional and the complimentary whiskey decanter was never empty! The B&B is in a beautiful Victorian style building. The room is on the lower level with its own entrance. The kitchen is also on the lower level. The bathroom is awesome but not ensuite - however comfy robes are provided and there are no other guests to share it. Joon and her husband occupy the main level. Joon is such a friendly and sweet lady and a fabulous cook. Of all the B&B's we have stayed at, the breakfasts here were the best. We are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindabill03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed with Joon and Peter in August when my daughter was performing at the fringe. The room is very good and the bed big and comfy, breakfast is very substantial and even whisky to go with the Haggis!! Joon cooked all sorts of special bits and pieces including courgette tarts etc. speaking of whiskey there was a small decanter in your room as well which was ideal for unwinding after a day at the fringe. Easy walking distance to the city, and close to Stockbridge with its interesting shops, market, cafes and restaurants
Only down side was
• Bathroom is not on suite but we knew that when booking
• £135 per night but then again it was fringe time so everything is expensive in Edinburgh

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin21735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent 6 nights at 16 Learmonth Terrace in Mid September. It's a wonderful location; easy walking distance to the city, and close to Stockbridge with its interesting shops, market, cafes and restaurants. Joon and Peter were wonderful hosts - warm, welcoming and made us feel very at home. The facilities are excellent - a very large guest room, including tea and coffee making facilities, TV, use of spacious bathroom. Breakfasts were fantastic, wifi available, and a lot of information available about sights, restaurants, getting around etc. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to any B&B lover - much more fun and better value than staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkflamingo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent 4 nights with Joon and Peter in the beginning of August 2013. Neither of us had ever been to Edinburgh, and Joon had great suggestions for places to go, places to eat, and how to get around (as we had no car). Our room had more local literature on places to go and things to see. Each day Joon left us delicious treats for the afternoon. I'm now hooked on clotted cream fudge! Breakfasts were yummy and made to order, and she made us feel so welcome that I even visited with her in her lovely garden, and it felt like visiting with an old friend. Oh-- and yes. The room is fastidious, bright and cheerful, and there's wifi too, and while the bathroom is up a half flight of stairs, it's all yours!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at 16 Learmonth Terrace. It was the highlight of our Edinburgh experience, not only because of the comfortable and clean space, and the absolutely delicious breakfasts that Joon made (best porridge/breakfasts we had in Scotland!), but also because we got to meet our wonderful, considerate hosts who made us feel so incredibly welcome. We cannot thank them enough for all they did to make our stay so pleasant. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
#116 of 148 in Edinburgh
350 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,805 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#16 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,118 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#47 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 16 Learmonth Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 16 Learmonth Terrace

Property: No. 16 Learmonth Terrace
Address: 16 Learmonth Terrace, Edinburgh EH4 1PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
No. 16 Learmonth Terrace Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing