We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jools Holland”
Review of Festival Theatre

Festival Theatre
Ranked #74 of 405 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you like a little added sparkle with your live entertainment then the prestigious Festival Theatre is the place for you. Built in 1994, the impressive glass facade imposes a sense of occasion as you enter the sleek and contemporary foyer spaces. Enjoy a drink in our spacious bars and take in the insipring views across to Arthur's Seat - but don't let the modern entrance fool you - the traditional 1915-seat auditorium, with its sumptuous decor and lavish fittings, has all the grandeur and splendour you need for a truly special theatrical experience.Designed as Scotland's premier dance and opera house in 1994, the stage is the largest in Scotland, providing the perfect platform for world-class contemporary dance and ballet, and excellent acoustics make it a number one venue for opera, musicals and concerts. The Festival Theatre continues to provide the best programme of dance and opera in the country, as well as a variety of world-class productions across all artforms. Home to the International Festival in the summer, and Christmas shows in winter, you'll find unmissable entertainment here all year round.
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Jools Holland”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We saw Jools Holland on Sunday night, as part of the Jazz Festival. Although we were sitting upstairs, we had a terrific view, and the sound was great. The seating was comfy, air conditioning was good, and a few bars to buy refreshments.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelling18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    92
    11
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Scottish Ballet "Romeo & Juliet"”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Beautiful venue with almost all seats having great visibility. Small venue so it feels very intimate compare to middle America performance halls. Would recommend to try not to have an end isle seat as the isles are marked by illuminated floor letters that are not dimmed in a dark theater and can be distracting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank heathertraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavala, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent theatre”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have been in all theatres in Edinburgh and I can say this is one of the best in town. Easy access as it is located in city centre, close to The Royal Mile, well established, with clear view to the scene, good acoustics and quit comfortable seats. If there is a play that you wish to watch, don't hesitate, it's totally worth it! There's also a restaurant and bar if you wish a bite or a drink before the play.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Xosejulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“War Horse in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Festival Theatre is a wonderful venue for theatre and ballet. I took my daughter to see War Horse earlier this year and it was spectacular - so moving but minimal (National Theatre Company). The venue itself is easy to get to, parking can be found not far away of an evening and the auditorium is very comfortable. We had seats close to the front of the stalls and felt like we could have been part of the production (in the best possible way). Plenty of interval choices too. A great place to see a show!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaskieCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Theatre”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I saw Mathew Bourne's Swan Lake in the Festival theatre with a friend. We sat near the back of the front stalls and the view was good from there with reasonable leg room. However the centre row is very long, so be prepared for quite a lot of disription if you sit at either end of it as others find their seats. Nice selection of icecream flavours at the interval. Accoustics are good. There is a restaurant on the ground floor and at least one bar area but haven't tried them.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrissienich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Festival Theatre also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Festival Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing