We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay but definitely no Waldorf” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay but definitely no Waldorf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

The building is in a very good location for business and tourism and also appears to be a local favorite. It was being upgraded to a Waldorf and there is still some construction going on but was not disturbing the hotel guests. The staff is very helpful but still adjusting. On one hand they are always checking with you to the point of being intrusive, on the other hand I find little details not observed: doors banged loudly, bathroom items not refilled. It's a very old building with limited infrastructure and I question the wisdom of upgrading it to a Waldorf. You can throw some marbles in the bathroom, but that doesn't make it a luxury hotel.

Breakfast was fine, the usual fare with a Scottish twist. Don't touch the black pudding, tasted like charcoal.

Also, if you are going to EICC you can cut across Rutland Square and there's a footbridge close to the center's backdoor, which was locked due to construction. Stay at the Sheraton if you want to be close to EICC until the construction is done.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles02138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,860
    819
    386
    160
    69
See reviews for
688
1,607
96
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
elgin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

What more can I say. This place has it all and it would be very hard to pick any faults with it. Courteous staff, spotless surroundings, great food, the plaudits continue. the whole place just exudes luxury and total comfort. Cant wait to go back. The only issue I suppose would be parking but considering its the middle of Edinburgh not much can be done about that but the hotel does get you a decent 25% discount off the £26 at he nearest NCP car park

Room Tip: If our room was anything to go by then you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

As a guest of a business friend we ventured into this 5 star hotel to have afternoon tea in quiet comfortable suroundings. The venue had recently been renovated and the place looked great. Staff were very helpful, courteous and attendtive.A great variety of teas with all star sandwiches and cakes. Sadly the amount of sandwiches was small and those we had were very "bland". Whilst appreciating the lovely setting and reasonable service the food quantity and quality could have been much better. Edinburgh has many great places offerring better value. Suggest Afternoon tea in the Apex Waterloo or if you wish to venture further then visit Prestonfield House.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicili, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Myself, my husband, my grandmother, and our two young daughters stayed here on a recent trip to the UK in April 2012 and this hotel was above and beyond our expectations. We stayed in a castle view room and the views as well as the size of the room and bathroom were fantastic! It was only a short walk from here to the High St and we enjoyed making that walk many times. The hotel does not have their own carpark but they do have a contract with a lot that is very close by and easy to find. The rates to park there were not very bad either, especially in the middle of Edinburgh. The breakfast every morning was fantastic as well as the waitstaff, the receptionists, and the concierge. We could not have been happier with our choice!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABH2wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We were visiting Scotland to see friends and chose this hotel for an added bit of luxury.

This is a beautiful hotel, very grand building and reception area. The staff were very polite and helpful.

Our room was lovely, elegant design, comfortable bed, great ammenities, lots of special touches and a superb shower!

The hotel was just changing over to a 'Waldorf Astoria' hotel - we noticed the new name had been revealed on the morning we left.

The staff were very helpful too and advised us on various routes / sightseeing tips as well as providing a map for us to take away.

The location is perfect, it is situated at the bottom of Princess Street, in walking distance of all sightseeing places such as the castle and gardens.

This hotel is perfect if you are looking for a bit of luxury for your stay - I'd recommend it to couples and groups of friends. We would stay at the hotel again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannelouise55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Your high words of praise are extremely appreciated, and I shall certainly share your views with our team member.

Moreover, I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the 'Caley' again, and visit us as a Waldorf Astoria.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Quality hotel in an excellnt location for all you need to do in Edinbrough. We have just arrived back from a gerat weekend break ,staying in the caledonion Waldorf Hotel. Look no furher as this hotel has all you will need for a great stay in this wonderful city. The refurbishment work is still ongoing with the pool and spa,and when complete will only enhance an already comfortable hotel break. The refurbed room we stayed in 179, had a poor view of the rear but was realy comfortable and very well equiped and did the job of a good nights sleep after a very hectic day. We had breakfast each morning, and for 15 pounds per head is well worh this slightly high premium with an excellent selection that will fit most peoples needs. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and we will stay again when we visit edinbrough.

Room Tip: poor outlook at the rear but quiet for goodnights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gazanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear of your positive experience, and especially pleased that our refurbishment work is to your satisfaction.

I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed for three nights two of which were booked on business with the final a separate personal booking. The refresh has been tastefully done. Excellent quality bed and linen. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The nespresso machine in the room was a very nice touch and the breakfast was nice.

Only negative comment was the lousy beer, but I guess they don't serve much Boddingtons north of the border!

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,584 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp and Hotelopia so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing