We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #50 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best location”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We booked this hotel when it was a Hilton. During our first night (while asleep) it became a Waldorf...pretty funny but nice surprise. Level of service incredible, clean rooms, very helpful staff, located near castle, 10 minutes walking distance. Overall great and very pleased with the hotel. We ate the first night at the Brasserie located in the renovated section of the hotel. Two of us were very satisfied, two of us were disappointed. My friends had a stuffed crab, not very good and difficult to eat. We advised the manager of this situation, but except for excusing themselves, nothing else was done to correct the situation, still charged full price. I think it was there opening night, I would have liked for them to do a bit more, especially in a high-end hotel. Breakfast, included in our room price, was great, great choice of eggs, omelets, fruits etc. For the rest, very happy, comfortable beds and the city, a pure delight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back alley, even if the view is not good, you avoid noisy main street if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,946
    848
    406
    166
    75
See reviews for
722
1,693
101
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We enjoyed a two night stay with outstanding service. The hotel is newly refurbished and a high end quality Hilton hotel. The service was exceptional with every member of staff going over and above making our stay as enjoyable as possible. Our uninterrupted view of the castle was worth the upgrade and the hotel's central city location was perfect for sightseeing everything that Edinburgh has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hotel would get 5 stars from me if the upgrades were complete and valet and/or self parking was available. Also, if the upgrades will include an executive lounge and workout center. The facility is beautiful with wide hall and stairways. The breakfast area is large, thus there was never a wait for seating. The waitstaff was well trained, polite and personable. The breakfast fare was ordinary. Reception staff was also good exhibiting that great Scottish humor .

We are Hilton Diamond members and as such we are eligible for free upgrades when they are available. This turned out to be the case at the Caledonian, and we found ourselves in a Double Double room overlooking the Edinburgh Castle. The sleeping room was approximately 900 square feet with a couch and chair, coffee table and dressing table. In addition there was an entry area and a large bath. The mattress was very comfortable with adequate bedside lighting for reading. There were plenty of outlets for recharging devices. WiFi was gratis for us as part of our Hilton Honors perks.
The Hotel was originally built as a grand railway hotel, above the main entrance of the mainline Edinburgh station The station was closed completely in 1965 but the hotel remains. It is in the grand style of fin de siecle architecture. There is a beautiful ground floor room that separates dining from reception and which I'm guessing was the entrance to the former rail station. It soars at least 4 stories.
Location is excellent for those travelers who enjoy walking. Short walks will take one to Edinburgh Castle, Scottish National Museums, Princes Street with its gardens, Sir Walter Scott Monument, and more. A longer walk will take one to Old Town, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace. One block away is Rose Street, a pedestrian way with restaurants. Here we found The Oxford Bar for those readers who are fans of Ian Rankin's Rebus series.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minkcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I loved staying at this hotel. Everything you should expect from staying at hotel of this quality. When I asked about dinner suggestions I was given great detail on what to expect at each place and any other request I had was met with the same level of great service. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here with our inlaws during the Hotel's upgrade to a Waldorf Hotel. It's location is second to none for sightseeing and shopping and it's a lovely looking building. The interior of the hotel is stunning and the concierge extremely attentive. Our double rooms were beautifully laid out, immaculate and with a very inviting bed. However to our disappointment there were no bathrobes as these were being rebranded with the new hotel insignia. Also in our room the minibar didn't work which wasn't really good enough as I needed to use the fridge during our stay. However after talking with the front office staff they kindly offered to upgrade both of our double rooms to luxury ones, with a castle view!! They moved us immediately and at no extra cost. Outstanding! Again these rooms were beautiful and the view was stunning, especially at sunrise. Breakfast was great, large variety and again very helpful staff.
I would happily stay here again, in any of the rooms!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyR_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My second stay here and I certainly appreciated the refurbishment which is light and modern, service was very good as you would expect, and I found the room very comfortable, the best bedding/sheeting I have experienced. We didn't eat there so cannot comment on that.

Slight niggles include no car parking facility, freeview only tv channels, some poor finishing on the upgrade in certain areas, and dusty furniture in room, but overall enjoyed that stay and we had a view of the castle.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn_186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The building is in a very good location for business and tourism and also appears to be a local favorite. It was being upgraded to a Waldorf and there is still some construction going on but was not disturbing the hotel guests. The staff is very helpful but still adjusting. On one hand they are always checking with you to the point of being intrusive, on the other hand I find little details not observed: doors banged loudly, bathroom items not refilled. It's a very old building with limited infrastructure and I question the wisdom of upgrading it to a Waldorf. You can throw some marbles in the bathroom, but that doesn't make it a luxury hotel.

Breakfast was fine, the usual fare with a Scottish twist. Don't touch the black pudding, tasted like charcoal.

Also, if you are going to EICC you can cut across Rutland Square and there's a footbridge close to the center's backdoor, which was locked due to construction. Stay at the Sheraton if you want to be close to EICC until the construction is done.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles02138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,732 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,771 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing