We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast, breakfast, breakfast..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We have just returned from lovely a 1 night business stay and I wish we could have stayed a little bit longer!
Positives: The hotel has been beautifully refurbished and the reception staff extremely professional and efficient. Neil, the doorman, was a delight to chat to on our way in and out of the main door, and a mine of helpful information. The bedrooms were very comfortable and generous in size (we had a king deluxe with castle view) and had everything we needed.
Negatives: Breakfast, breakfast, breakfast. We were seated at breakfast, then just left. We were not given a menu and had to ask for one. We had to get the attention of a waiter and ask for coffee, then the same thing happened with toast, then with orange juice. We ended up helping ourselves to knives, marmalade etc from a neighbouring table, as did other guests and overheard several people complain about the service. My husband ordered the smokie which came in a sauce, completely masking the huge number of bones. We had to send it back, which was ridiculous as we are used to removing bones from fish, but just could not see them with all the sauce. My omelette I was told, would be along shortly. They had clearly forgotten. The head waiter was very keen to make amends after we complained, however we were only staying for the one night. There were a lot of staff in the breakfast room and it was not busy. I cannot understand the sheer lack of service here and I think this is something that Hilton should addresss.
However, I would give the hotel another go next time I am in Edinburgh, as I think with this breakfast issue resolved they are on the way to being the best hotel in town, and I have stayed in many.

Room Tip: Castle view rooms are fantastic. Yes they are a bit noisy, but it's a city and not as noisy as s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fussychefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am however disappointed to read of the poor service which you received whilst dining for breakfast. I agree that this level is unacceptable, and rest assured I have shared your observations with our food & beverage manager who shall investigate further and act accordingly. On a more positive note, I am happy that you will choose to return to the 'Caley' again in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,383 - 3,389 of 3,679 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed for one night and really enjoyed our stay, room was very luxurious and quiet. Room 268

HIGH POINTS,,great staff, nice hotel, great rooms, super shower, nice relaxing bars and very central.

LOW POINTS,,(although not a major issue) had to ask for toast at breakfast as it was not offered. No bathrobe in room, although this may have been a fault of our own as we did not think smaller rooms had them, only discovered this when we returned home and planned to re book hotel, therefore not really their fault as if i had known we could have asked at time for them to provide bathrobes.

Had a great stay in this hotel and plan to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drebir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that you were generally satisfied with your overall experience. Furthermore, we look forward to seeing you on your return to the 'Caley'.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights and had a fantastic view of Edinburgh Castle. The service was great and the food was excellent. We enjoyed breakfast each day and ordered apple tarte tatin from the Brasserie one evening while we were using the free WiFi downstairs and it was delicious.

Room Tip: Rooms with a castle view on the lower floors will also have some noise from the busy street, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamieras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am extremely grateful for your positive comments with regards to your experience, and I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

In another town a room like the one i had would be half the price .. 169 was a lot to pay, But as previously mentioned ... Hotels in Edinburgh can seemingly charge what they want. .... Its not that great a town. So be aware Hotels generally are very expensive here for what you get.

I did have a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed here on September 16th 2012 and booked it through hotel connexions at a very good rate. Our room was nice but our view was not the best no doubt due to the price we paid. No real complaints about the view as we did not book the hotel for this reason, we booked it due to its location. Parking was a bit of a problem as we had to park at Castle Terrace parking but the 3 minute walk was nice and you get part of the parking fee back if you produce the parking coin to the hotel. I did not find this out till it was too late but hope it helps other people. The hotel itself is very grand and the upgraded rooms are real nice. Breakfast was very good indeed ! The staff were very friendly and helpful and we will for sure stay here the next time we visit Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SteveTracy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We were treated to an overnight stay in this hotel by our daughter Suzanne. We had a great view of the castle and the weather was sunny which was an added bonus. It is a beautiful hotel and the staff are a credit to their employers. It's location is superb and I certainly would stay here again and have no hestitaion in recommending to family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat1ricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

A 2 night stay in a one bedroom suite overlooking Princes St gardens and the castle - can't be many better views! Suite spacious and well-furnished with immense bathroom. Hotel has underghone a significant refurbishment which is wonderful - Peacock Alley lounge is beautifully done. Dined on both evenings in Galvin's brasserie, which was excellent - we thoufght better than Galvin's Windows in Park Lane. To top all off, staff are top-notch - attentive and friendly, but not overly so. Top marks ...all in all, definitely will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redbaron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,884 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,889 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £133 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing