We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel,great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed here Saturday (27/10/2012) for one night with my girlfreind.From being greeted at the hotel entrance by the doorman, to checking out with the recectionist we had a great stay.We were given a free upgrade,the room was excellent,the bed was very comfortable,the room on a whole was spotless with all the latest gizmos and gadgets.By far one of the best hotels we've stayed in in Edinburgh!Weel done to all the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thespecials69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,368 - 3,374 of 3,684 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

Had a lovely weekend staying in this hotel. The room was very well appointed and comfortable. Staff excellent throughout. Lovely lounge area for relaxing over a drink. The real issue, that so many others have commented on is the breakfast. The service can't cope - probably not enough staff - and the layout of the buffet is very cramped. Quality of food (breakfast only) is a little disappointing too. Hilton is known for its excellent breakfasts and in a hotel of this calibre one might have expected it to be of a higher quality but in fact it was less good. Would go back and next time would try evening dining as the menus looked very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Overall it does appear that we more than met your expectations. With regards to your breakfast experience, I can assure you that this is an issue that our food & beverage manager has been made aware about, and the appropriate improvements shall be implemented.

Moreover, I do hope that you return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

WOW!!!!
I decided to take my wife here for her 40th Birthday as a surprise.The five star treatment started as soon as our taxi arrived at the door as we were met by a very pleasant doorman who helped us out of the car and took us into the hotel. The staff are so courteous,helpful and very friendly. We stayed in a Queen deluxe room which was so clean and had everything you would imagine for this type of hotel. The room was well laid out and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever stayed in. We did not have our main meals in the hotel as we wanted to see the delights of Edinburgh but the breakfast at the hotel was excellent and such a variety it kept us going for most of the day. We drank of a evening in the Caley bar which is also open to the public which was not a problem and it was a warm tranquil place to talk and drink.
The only downfall of this trip was room 501 being in the roof was quite chilly of a evening and as we left the heating on through the night it kept me awake as there was something in the heating vents making a noise. Also the day we were leaving we walked around the City in the rain and when we came back to collect our cases before our flight home I wanted to change my trousers as I was soaked. There was nowhere to go and was informed I would have to use the toilets, which I did, but felt this was really cheap especially as the toilets were quite smelly. I did not want to bring these two issues to the hotels attention as did not want the staff to feel I was being fussy or moaning.
I wrote this review whilst sitting in the relaxing Peacock Alley and have noticed quite a few hotel residence being shown the different areas of the hotel which i wish was done for us as it would make the stay much easier. Would like to say though that I would stay again.

Room Tip: Wish I had asked for castle view and maybe not level five as in roof and a bit chilly but if heating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

went on sunday for coffee,cappucino, and pastry...cappucino is good but served on a small cup..we had the chocolate tart wish was apparently the pastry chef choice of the day.the worst cholate tart i ever had.straight from the fridge with a poor deco on the top..shame cause this is a great place to be and the waiting staff is excellent.will go again but will avoid the pastry of the day...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dam o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your dining experience with us. Unfortunately is does appear that the 'pastry of the day' was not to your taste, and I shall certainly share your feedback with our head chef as all comments are very much welcome.

I do however hope that you return to the 'Caley' again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

After being to many places in the uk for a cream tea, we agreed the Waldorf is THE best place we have ever been for it! The patisserie was incredible. The selection of teas accommodated to everyone's personal choice. The service by all staff was excellent an we want to thank tobi Espeacially for doing an excellent job of serving us all afternoon. The Waldorf is by far better for than the Ritz. For 22 pounds you get a lot more for your money and better quality. Then to our surprise we were offere the choice to take any 'leftovers' home which was such a brilliant touch. A must do when you go to Edinburgh!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyorke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Fantastic afternoon tea here today, great birthday pressie! Everything was superb especially the scones and clotted cream! The refurbishment is beautiful, a grand old lady with real style! Will go back and try the champagne afternoon tea the next time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 699Gary699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your afternoon tea experience with us. It delights me to read of positive remarks, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the 'Caley' again when you sample our Champagne afternoon tea.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

What an AMAZING hotel. There is nothing not to like about this hotel and after the refurb it is up there are one of the best we've stayed in. Oppulent lounge, beautiful rooms, great food, friendly service. We plan to return as soon as possible. The only downside we could find was that their refurb is not quite finished so the gym/spa facilities are not ready yet and neither is the car park, but the fact that the refurbed areas that are open are such a high standard, we weren't annoyed by this, we just couldn't wait to see what the place will be like when its all done. Also the hotel have made every effort to make alternative arrangements, by getting deals with local gyms and car parks whilst the refurb is happening.

The reception staff were excellent upon arrival and we had been upgraded to a suite with a castle view. Upon entering the room, we were just short of having our breath taken away, it was elegant, stylish, clean, completely perfect with a view to die for. The only thing missing was a bath as you feel like you want to spend more time in the bathroom as it is so nice.

We were celebrating our anniversary so ordered a bottle of champagne on room service to drink before going out to our favourite restaurant for dinner. This arrived promptly, perfectly chilled in an ice bucket. The member of staff was well presented and pleasant and offered to open it and pour for us. We felt very special.

We both slept well and breakfast the next day was fab and in amazing surroundings - the restaurant has a very cosmopolitan feel. The wee chap who tirelessly kept the hot food stocked was so friendly and courteous, even breakfast felt special.

All in all, we had such an amazing time, that my partner's 30th birthday celebratory location was decided there and then too (after deliberating between numerous other European cities!!) and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: As high as possible for the amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I agree that this is a fantastic way to spend such a special occasion, and kind words of praise shall certainly be shared with the relevant departments, including our reception and room service.

Moreover, I do hope that you choose to return to the 'Caley' again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,888 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,891 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £165 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing