We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place for a Decent Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We recently visited Scotland and decided to 'splurge' for a nite at the Caledonian Waldorf Astoraia since it was our anniversary. The room was very nice and exceptionally large for Europe's standards. There was a very comfortable king bed. There were a couple 'skimpy' things such as the tiny old style TV but other than that it was worth the money.

We booked on Hotels.com before we left the US and the deal we got included breakfast the next morning.

The breakfast was very good with lots of options including Scottish options like blood sausage and haggis (neither did we try). But there were many high-end breakfast options such as salmon, eggs, bacon, sausage, variety of cheeses and juices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a 'Castle View'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CO29ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that we were able to assist in making your Anniversary such an enjoyable experience, and I do hope that you choose to stay at the 'Caley' again should you return to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,336 - 3,342 of 3,679 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

Beautiful hotel, recently renovated. Deluxe kingsize bedroom really comfortable and beautifully decorated, big bathroom and dressing room. Good views over town, could see Firth of Forth from bedroom, from bathroom could see hills ask for 4th floor or higher. Staff lovely in all areas - but not enough staff in peacock alley for drinks on Saturday tea time. Breakfast expensive but very tasty.

Room Tip: 4th floor or above for city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayne66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I appreciate your constructive feedback, and I'm delighted to read that you were generally satisfied with your overall experience with us. I would however like to apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the droning noise mentioned, and this shall certainly be investigated further.

Moreover, I do hope that you will choose to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break in Edinburgh, staying at the Caledonian. Check in was quick, the room was perfect having a very comfortable bed, excellent shower and spotlessly clean.Knowing it was a special occasion a birthday card and chocolates were waiting in our room, many thanks Cally. The breakfasts were really good as was the meal we had one evening in the brasserie, which we found to be good value; the staff are a credit to this hotel being pleasant, hard working and curtious. We enjoyed our swims in the pool and found the steam room to be one of the best we have experienced. Will be our hotel of choice when returning to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandDManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I must thank you for your wonderful remarks, and I am delighted that your experience was so enjoyable, from the leisure facilities to the food quality.

I shall certainly share your feedback with the relevant team members, and I do hope that you are able to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My Christmas present last year from my partner was to stay in this hotel over the festive period.
It was a great mistake.!
Having stayed in many exceptional hotels in the world I was expecting the same standard.
We knew beforehand that renovations were taking place, however I did expect reasonable heating in our room.
I take exception to having a small convector heater placed outside our bedroom door to heat a freezing corridor !!
The Christmas dinner was very poor, no bread sauce or cranberry.
It was patently obvious that the food had been reheated as my partners gravy had virtually dried on the plate.
The only good thing about Christmas day was thecheerful young man who served us dinner in the room that evening.
I wrote later and complained about our stay, it took three weeks for the manageress to reply with barely an apology.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wills000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us over the festive period last year. As you have stated, we were in the process of a massive refurbishment program which I am sure that you were made aware of before booking the room. However I would like to apologise for the heating issues experienced, I can assure you that the comfort of our guests is our immediate priority.

With regards to the Christmas dinner, to my memory there was both bread sauce and cranberry sauce available to accompany the meal, however, once again, if this was not made available for you, I would like to pass on my apologies.

Moreover, I would appreciate if you were willing to return to the 'Caley' once again as our refurbishment is fully complete, and I am sure that you would be suitably impressed.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Just returned home today from staying at the Caledonian for the last 3 nights. Edinburgh is a fantastic place & if you want to stay somewhere central then you cant beat this place for location.

We arrived on Thursday & luckily there was space in the carpark for our car & concierge whisked it away & parked it for us. (The concierge are really nice guys, always give you a smile & come across really friendly.)

The guy that served us on the front desk on check in was really quick & efficient & we had our room key & we were on our way in next to no time.

Now i had read past reviews & i had read that the rooms were slightly smaller & darker than normal but in all honesty i thought the decor was lovely & in character to the decor in the rest of the building & I was quite blown away really. It had everything you need. The bathroom was lovely although we didnt have a bathtub however the shower was fine. (I think when you are paying that kind of money a night i did expect a bathtub).

So we got into bed & the bed was really comfortable & sheets felt quite luxurious & the pillows were perfect. Now then the reason i gave the hotel only 4 & not 5 is that room 529 has the most bizarre droning noise from i beleive the rooms next door that are used by i think the maids. The noise sounds like washers & dryers i think & were running through the night so we didnt get the best of sleep. We also heard the trolleys being taken out by the staff really early too.

So if we were going off sleep quality then i would have given the hotel 1 star however it is a beautiful hotel with some really nice staff & i would absolutly recommend it to other people.

The breakfast was fantastic & the pool was small but perfect to relax in for a while.

All in all i think the hotel was fantastic but for me just dont stay in the room 529.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This hotel has an impressive location standing at the far end of Princes Street. Elegant in style and steeped in history.
We stayed here for a weekend break, whilst we were here the guerlain spa was still closed, undergoing refurbishment. The hotel room we stayed in overlooked the Castle with magnificent views. The noise of the road outside could not be heard when we were asleep. The room was spacious and we had a delightful sleep each night. Car parking was undergoing works so the NCP was offered on a reduced rate of £20 per day. We travelled by train so this was not a problem for us. Peacock Alley was spacious and comfortable for you to enjoy a coffee whilst catching up on the daily news.
Reception staff and concierge were extremely helpful, although the hotel did appear short staffed (on reception) considering the hotel was busy at the time of our stay.
Room service was swift and efficient. Bathrobes were extremely comfortable, nice to relax in after a tiring day out touring Edinburgh. Buffet breakfast was offered at £15 per person per day at check in. During our stay there was an early morning fire alarm and a full evacuation of the hotel. Later we were informed that this was due to a faulty sensor. Nevertheless, the way this was handled was in the same highly efficient manner that you could expect from this hotel.
During our stay we used the Edinburgh tour buses, one of which stops just across the road from the hotel. We bought a combined ticket for the bus tours and you could just hop on and off each line each day.
The hotel is located close to some lovely restaurants which serve tasty traditional food, great when you need to stop for a spot of lunch. Some of these can be found on Frederick Street, Rose Street and George Street.
All in all we had a relaxing time at this hotel and would look to return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a room overlooking the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemstonetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I appreciate your compliments with regards to the service that you received throughout the duration of your stay, especially with regards to the handling of the fire evacuation. Moreover, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused and I hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

upgraded on arrival; a 125gbp room to a 1000sqft 1 bedroom suite (as a hilton diamond member). massive, extra large king size bed. All possible amenties, nice welcome gift, beautiful view from the room and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frater93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,883 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,889 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £133 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing