We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #50 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Was a bit of a mix for a luxury hotel. Firstly the location surely must be the best of any hotel in Edinburgh, ideal for everything. It was a good waldorf hotel but I have stayed in better. We arrived early and were told the room wouldn't be ready till 3pm which was fine as that is normal check in time, we dropped our bags off with the concierge who stored them till we got back from the shops, however upon our return at 4:30pm we were told our room still wasn't ready. We were offered a complimentary cup of tea in peacock alley till it was ready but that shouldn't be the case in a 5* hotel. The room was nice enough with a castle view, unlike other reviews we had no problem with cold, noise or size. The breakfast was not bad, one day the food was lukewarm at best and the pastries were a bit hit and miss. Overall a nice stay but for me not upto the level I have experienced from WA in the past. The staff however were really very good, all very friendly and helpful with anything we needed,especially the concierge and doorman.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. There are certainly many positives to be found within your review, although you have mentioned the inability to check in on your arrival at the hotel. I realise that this was the case, mostly down the hotel being at full capacity throughout the period between Christmas and New Year. Never-the-less, I would like to offer my apologies for the inconvenience caused whilst you had to wait for your bedroom to become available.

I certainly the frustration that this would cause and I do hope that this experience does not deter you from returning to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,945
    847
    405
    166
    75
See reviews for
720
1,692
101
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed two nights over Hogmanay. The service in the hotel was excellent. On arrival, I dropped my partner at the door to ask directions to the car park and was shortly met by the doorman who arranged for valet parking. Whilst in common with other recent reviews, our room was not ready until 4pm, the reception staff "made good" with complimentary drinks for us in the bar. Peacock Alley is a lovely place to sit and have a drink. We were put in a room on the 5th floor with superb views over the castle and city. The room was very nice, and the bed gets a special mention for extreme levels of comfort. The bathroom was nice, walk in shower which was large enough for two. Nice touches on New Years Eve included a Piper playing in the corridor and being left traditional gifts (whisky, salt, coal & shortbread). I am a Gold member, and this stay was mostly funded on points. I can say Hilton has one of the best loyalty schemes I know. Oh, and the location of the hotel is perfect. Recommended for a chilled out stay in the relaxed city of Edinburgh. I would say the complaints seen in other reviews are small, and if you treat the hotel staff politely, with respect and relax, you get the same Scottish kindness in return.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sj99ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us over the festive period. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the 'Caley' over New Year, and we appreciate the kind feedback that you have provided.

Moreover, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel during the busy time of Hogmanay in Edinburgh and had a fabulous stay. The hotel is located in an extremely grand building which has recently undergone a refurbishment. The building and design are both beautiful, and we were treated incredibly well by all staff. The location is ideal, with stunning views of the castle and just at the end of Princes Street, it keeps you close enough to the hub without being in the middle of it all.

The rooms were lovely, and well designed with high grand ceiling and rich decor. I would say that the bathrooms were quite chilly and there didn't appear to be any way of turning up the heat in them...

The bar was also nice, nothing special, but a good place to meet for a drink before heading out to explore.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phanie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

If you are going to sell yourself as a luxury hotel then it is the small things that matter as well as the big things. We arrived early, so the fact that our room was not ready was not a problem, nor was the fact that we couldn't even be upgraded (as a Diamond member) to a room with a view of the castle. Interesting to read, though, that some other reviewers with lower (or no) status arriving on the same day were upgraded. I was advised, however, that I would receive "all the other Diamond benefits" but were not told what they were (especially regarding breakfast which I would normally get free and we booked when it was a "standard" Hilton. Don't they give out letters explaining what the benefits are? Room was small, airconditioning extremely noisy, door rattled when someone walked by. The only heating in the bathroom was a towel heating rail which was not sufficient. It gets cold in Edinburgh in the winter you know? Good points: lovely bathrobe and bedlinen; finally got a reply about breakfast and on our second day it was free; the public areas are beautiful.

Breakfast was ok; nothing special.

When I asked for a late checkout I was offered 12;30 until the supervisor heard I was a Diamond member and stepped in to sort it out. I am glad we used points for this stay. It is not worth the money. I would rather stay at the Hilton at the airport and get the bus in.

After reading my review again I was tempted to give them two stars but it was Hogmanay so I will leave it at three.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the castle may be tempting but you will get the noise from a busy road. The one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Duck_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We were upgraded from the George hotel due to overbooking , what a blessing , admittedly room was not ready on arrival , but was given drinks vouchers and bottle of wine for inconvenience , breakfast great very friendly staff , Hogmanay ball exceeded all expectations food atmosphere staff and entertainment excellent , beautiful setting , service incredible , lots of extra touches inc champagne , canapés whiskey and piper wow , lovely traditional touches in room when we got in , goes the extra mile .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We arrived on the weekend of the transition of this hotel from a hilton to a waldorf - and the place delivered in spades. our room was newly renovated with marble fixtures, etc - typical luxury. great service - and very nicely redone... central location and convenient to transit, etc. concierge was great - very helpful, took care of reservations, great local knowledge, and pointed out the must see places. stayed for 5 nights, and we would return, which is the best compliment i can provide...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,076 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This is a historic railway hotel, why would you call it after an American classic?
Why would you under spend on customer comfort during a major refit, and not get the staff on your side as great ambassadors?
We were given our room early and upgraded from a mini suite to (? a king suite with full on Castle view) which was a very good start.Also the doorman carried our bags in from the car and up to our room, what an excellent start. (Room grades and views are are kept very secret).
The hotel occupancy was low for its first Christmas after the make over and re brand and lacked atmosphere.
The pot plant in our suite had been left to dry and die on a unclean glass table top. by housekeeping. The main staircase hanging lantern needed a good clean dust and polish.
The old room air con did the job in a noisy way.
The huge windows gave a magnificent view of the gardens,churches and castle, however being single glazed sirens and street noise intrude.
The brand new bathroom was ordinary and the bath and overhead shower would never find space in my home, who thought they would do in an expensive suite?
The "Peacock Alley" bar/afternoon tea area is magnificent except for the small tables for two which are not so well located.
Dinner in the "Brasserie De Luxe" was pleasant thanks to a good manager but the room is not great and tables for two too small.
Our Christmas lunch in the "Pompadour" restaurant (£160 each, pre paid) was the worst advert for a new chef and brigade that I could ever imagine. Many of the restaurant staff come from the other comatose railway hotel in town and were poor.
We were not pleased with the breakfast and again the tables for two are small and the room crowded. One morning the hot food plates ran out and the plate heater was no use.
The pastries bad. You can order cooked items but no menu is offered.
Our one false mini bar item was removed from our bill and we were glad to leave.

Note to hotel, please do not "hope that we will return" we will not.

Room Tip: It is very difficult, you are at their mercy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay over the Christmas period. We have reviewed your feedback with the senior management in the hotel, and are very sorry as we have not met your expectations on this occasion.

We are always grateful to receive guest feedback as it is only through a balance of praise and constructive criticism, that we can improve the level of service we offer all of our guests.

Should you wish to contact our Director of Business Development, Robin Stewart, he would be delighted to speak to you in person to see if there is any possibility to regain your faith in our hotel and service. Robin can be contacted on 0131 222 8890, or alternatively via e-mail on robin.stewart@waldorfastoria.com.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,730 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,771 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing