We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but needs fine tuning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good but needs fine tuning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

The Caledonian is a beautiful hotel in a great location at the quieter end of Princes Street. We very much enjoyed our stay and while I would be happy to stay again, a few niggles would prompt me to give one of the other grand Edinburgh hotels a try rather than stay loyal to this one. This is a pity because as stated it is a lovely hotel and could be a great one with a little extra attention. Good points - friendly staff, beautiful public areas, spacious rooms, clean, lots of facilities and nice touches like the fantastic bathrobes NYE gifts. Niggles - being told that one couldn't have a glass of burgundy in Peacock Alley as "the bottle was finished", coming back on NYE with muddy boots and when pointing this out to the concierge, being met with a shrug rather than an offer of assistance, an unbooked wake up call on New Year's Day, overbearing "musak" in Peacock Alley and at breakfast (I can quite appreciate the staff get inured to this, but it is unnecessary) being charged an extra night's accommodation when presented with the final account, skimping on bathroom fittings - even in a junior suite it was a shower in bath job. I don't mean to be curmudgeonly because we did enjoy a pleasant stay but if only the hotel would deal with these silly issues it would become a must stay place in the City which is surely where it wants and deserves to be.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernIrelandRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us over New Year. Although you were satisfied with your experience overall, I am disappointed to read that you had some niggling issues, and these small lapses in services shall certainly be flagged up to the relevant department heads.

In the meantime, I do hope that you choose the 'Caley' again next year should you choose to return to Edinburgh, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you require any assistance if you do so.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,896
    827
    397
    163
    71
See reviews for
705
1,640
97
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Was a bit of a mix for a luxury hotel. Firstly the location surely must be the best of any hotel in Edinburgh, ideal for everything. It was a good waldorf hotel but I have stayed in better. We arrived early and were told the room wouldn't be ready till 3pm which was fine as that is normal check in time, we dropped our bags off with the concierge who stored them till we got back from the shops, however upon our return at 4:30pm we were told our room still wasn't ready. We were offered a complimentary cup of tea in peacock alley till it was ready but that shouldn't be the case in a 5* hotel. The room was nice enough with a castle view, unlike other reviews we had no problem with cold, noise or size. The breakfast was not bad, one day the food was lukewarm at best and the pastries were a bit hit and miss. Overall a nice stay but for me not upto the level I have experienced from WA in the past. The staff however were really very good, all very friendly and helpful with anything we needed,especially the concierge and doorman.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. There are certainly many positives to be found within your review, although you have mentioned the inability to check in on your arrival at the hotel. I realise that this was the case, mostly down the hotel being at full capacity throughout the period between Christmas and New Year. Never-the-less, I would like to offer my apologies for the inconvenience caused whilst you had to wait for your bedroom to become available.

I certainly the frustration that this would cause and I do hope that this experience does not deter you from returning to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed two nights over Hogmanay. The service in the hotel was excellent. On arrival, I dropped my partner at the door to ask directions to the car park and was shortly met by the doorman who arranged for valet parking. Whilst in common with other recent reviews, our room was not ready until 4pm, the reception staff "made good" with complimentary drinks for us in the bar. Peacock Alley is a lovely place to sit and have a drink. We were put in a room on the 5th floor with superb views over the castle and city. The room was very nice, and the bed gets a special mention for extreme levels of comfort. The bathroom was nice, walk in shower which was large enough for two. Nice touches on New Years Eve included a Piper playing in the corridor and being left traditional gifts (whisky, salt, coal & shortbread). I am a Gold member, and this stay was mostly funded on points. I can say Hilton has one of the best loyalty schemes I know. Oh, and the location of the hotel is perfect. Recommended for a chilled out stay in the relaxed city of Edinburgh. I would say the complaints seen in other reviews are small, and if you treat the hotel staff politely, with respect and relax, you get the same Scottish kindness in return.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sj99ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us over the festive period. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the 'Caley' over New Year, and we appreciate the kind feedback that you have provided.

Moreover, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel during the busy time of Hogmanay in Edinburgh and had a fabulous stay. The hotel is located in an extremely grand building which has recently undergone a refurbishment. The building and design are both beautiful, and we were treated incredibly well by all staff. The location is ideal, with stunning views of the castle and just at the end of Princes Street, it keeps you close enough to the hub without being in the middle of it all.

The rooms were lovely, and well designed with high grand ceiling and rich decor. I would say that the bathrooms were quite chilly and there didn't appear to be any way of turning up the heat in them...

The bar was also nice, nothing special, but a good place to meet for a drink before heading out to explore.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phanie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

If you are going to sell yourself as a luxury hotel then it is the small things that matter as well as the big things. We arrived early, so the fact that our room was not ready was not a problem, nor was the fact that we couldn't even be upgraded (as a Diamond member) to a room with a view of the castle. Interesting to read, though, that some other reviewers with lower (or no) status arriving on the same day were upgraded. I was advised, however, that I would receive "all the other Diamond benefits" but were not told what they were (especially regarding breakfast which I would normally get free and we booked when it was a "standard" Hilton. Don't they give out letters explaining what the benefits are? Room was small, airconditioning extremely noisy, door rattled when someone walked by. The only heating in the bathroom was a towel heating rail which was not sufficient. It gets cold in Edinburgh in the winter you know? Good points: lovely bathrobe and bedlinen; finally got a reply about breakfast and on our second day it was free; the public areas are beautiful.

Breakfast was ok; nothing special.

When I asked for a late checkout I was offered 12;30 until the supervisor heard I was a Diamond member and stepped in to sort it out. I am glad we used points for this stay. It is not worth the money. I would rather stay at the Hilton at the airport and get the bus in.

After reading my review again I was tempted to give them two stars but it was Hogmanay so I will leave it at three.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the castle may be tempting but you will get the noise from a busy road. The one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Duck_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We were upgraded from the George hotel due to overbooking , what a blessing , admittedly room was not ready on arrival , but was given drinks vouchers and bottle of wine for inconvenience , breakfast great very friendly staff , Hogmanay ball exceeded all expectations food atmosphere staff and entertainment excellent , beautiful setting , service incredible , lots of extra touches inc champagne , canapés whiskey and piper wow , lovely traditional touches in room when we got in , goes the extra mile .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We arrived on the weekend of the transition of this hotel from a hilton to a waldorf - and the place delivered in spades. our room was newly renovated with marble fixtures, etc - typical luxury. great service - and very nicely redone... central location and convenient to transit, etc. concierge was great - very helpful, took care of reservations, great local knowledge, and pointed out the must see places. stayed for 5 nights, and we would return, which is the best compliment i can provide...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing