We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting but disappointing food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #54 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning setting but disappointing food!”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The Peacock Alley was beautiful and is a massive improvement on the old room used to serve afternoon tea. The food however was quite disappointing. The sandwiches were uninspiring and I had advised when I called that I do not eat red meat however no alternative was offered in place of the ham sandwich.
The cakes are the bit that I look forward to most in an Afternoon tea and we had gone for the special cakes. I previously had the normal cakes and have to say that I found them nicer than the 'special cakes'. The salted caramel eclair was particularly disappointing as the cream was full of sugar and the caramel did not taste particularly salted making the whole thing far too sweet.
The staff were very pleasant however the lady who served us was extremely forgetful and we had to constantly remind her of things we had asked for.
Overall, the beautiful setting does not make up for the mediocre food and slightly ditzy staff. The balmoral is still my firm favourite.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusanandAlan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent Afternoon Tea experience with us. I appreciate your constructive feedback, and although I am happy with your verdict with regards to the decor and design of our wonderful Peacock Alley area, it deeply disappoints me to read the negativity on the product. I must admit that I receive very few poor comments due to the quality of our Afternoon Tea, I can assure you that our Food & Beverage Manager, and Chef have been advised of your observations, and we shall certainly review our 'special cakes', as well as the standard of service which we provide.

Moreover, once again, I thank you for your feedback, and I do hope that this poor experience does not deter you from returning to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,992
    871
    426
    173
    78
See reviews for
752
1,732
104
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Location of the hotel is perfect, not too far from the airport~about 20mins taxi ride and walking distance to the Edinburgh Castle. We spent 2 days at the hotel, nice walk from the hotel to the castle, Royal Mile. The only regret is the road work outside the hotel.....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Hwei Phin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us, and I am sure that the road works shall be completed should you be returning to the 'Caley' in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

i have kept meaning to write my review here to say how lovely it was. We stayed here over the Easter weekend and we had such a lovely time.
When we arrived our room was stunning, a beautiful suite almost with plenty of room for us and a little bed for our four year old. The only trouble was there was no bath and as we were staying for four days we felt we needed a bath. We were moved with absolutely no trouble at all and the next room was just as gorgeous although a little smaller. The rooms are well decorated, good quality and clean. My husband said it was one of the comfiest beds and pillows he has had a hotel!
The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble, the spa was great although the swimming pool is too small to service whole hotel but minor issue really.
We ate in the brasserie for dinner which was lovely and great service, the bars for snacks again nice and the breakfast was great with plenty of options.
Location wise we felt it was ideal we walked around all day sightseeing and nearby for buses out of town, and great for restaurants in the evening.
We would definitely stay here again, if they keep on top of the service, quality and cleanliness it would be a great hotel to stay for years to come.

Room Tip: If a bath is important you may want to check upon booking not all the King Size rooms have then
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us over the Easter period. I am, as always extremely thankful for your feedback, and delighted by the postive comments posted. I am also pleased that we were able to allocate a bedroom with a bath to enable you to relax, and I appreciate your kind remarks on the team members who looked after you and your family throughout the duration of your stay.

Moreover, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed at The Caledonian for an overnight with my partner. We arrived earlier than the 3pm check in time. The concierge took our bags and offered to call us when our room was ready. Our room a Deluxe Queen Room was absolutely stunning, walking through a small hallway in to a large bright and airy room, attention to detail has been paid and the extra touches in the room such as a coffee machine make the difference. The room didn't have the best of views but the room it's self made up for it. We went for drinks in the Peacock Alley bar, staff were very friendly and the drinks were superb. We both had coffees with probably the best shortbread I have ever tasted. Breakfast was brilliant, with a wide variety of food. My only issue was the table we were seated at, was rather wonky and you couldn't lean on the table for fear of tipping it over. Overall the stay was brief but very enjoyable and I will be back there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcanavan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that we were able to assist in making your stay pleasurable for you and your partner. I am also happy to hear that you were able to make the most of the facilities included throughout the building, including our wonderful Peacock Alley.... I shall certainly share your feedback with regards to the taste of the shortbread to our pastry chef!

Moreover, we look forward to welcoming you back to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

high price. no free wireless internet access and the daily charge for internet usage was outrageous. .needs updating. denied breakasts though they were included in the package we purchased. needs updated decor. has a tired look. restaurant prices were unreasonably high. would not stay here again. there are more reasonably priced modern options available.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank alan6668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Caledonian twice in the past two months and on both occasions I was delighted with the impeccable service and facilities that the hotel has to offer. The staff are friendly, helpful and more than willing to go the extra mile. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are extremely comfortable. The only reason I wouldn't give the Caledonian a full five stars is due to the poor quality of the wireless Internet connection, presumably due to the thick walls of the historic building. This would not normally be that much of an issue, but at 15 pounds per day,one would expect a more stable connection.

I will definitely stay at the Caledonian again and look forward to doing so.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. It has been our pleasure looking after you on both occasions during your visit to Edinburgh, and I am delighted to hear of the impeccable service which you received.

Moreover, I am certain that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed for a friend’s birthday, it was very busy and there were no tables in Peacock Alley, filled up with folk for afternoon tea. We went into the bar to watch the rugby and had some food - huge portions!
Our rooms were on the top floor, clean and nicely appointed but I did manage to bang my head on the coombed ceiling while trying to work out what pods were supplied for the coffee machine.
The car park was full but there is an NCP carpark nearby. Check in was fairly quick considering how busy the hotel was (Welsh rugby weekend) we opted for the express check out.
I have only given it a 4 since the carparking was a hassle and it was raining but that’s Edinburgh for you and for the difficulty in reading the coffee selection/head banging on the coomb!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sconey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Overall, an extremely positive review, and I am delighted that you were able to join us for the rugby weekend. As mentioned, the hotel was indeed full throughout, creating a wonderful atmosphere; therefore the car park for the hotel was full. I hope that this did not cause too much inconvenience, and that you will return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,805 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,828 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,833 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing