We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced for what it is.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #52 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“overpriced for what it is.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

high price. no free wireless internet access and the daily charge for internet usage was outrageous. .needs updating. denied breakasts though they were included in the package we purchased. needs updated decor. has a tired look. restaurant prices were unreasonably high. would not stay here again. there are more reasonably priced modern options available.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank alan6668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,856
    818
    384
    160
    69
See reviews for
686
1,603
96
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Caledonian twice in the past two months and on both occasions I was delighted with the impeccable service and facilities that the hotel has to offer. The staff are friendly, helpful and more than willing to go the extra mile. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are extremely comfortable. The only reason I wouldn't give the Caledonian a full five stars is due to the poor quality of the wireless Internet connection, presumably due to the thick walls of the historic building. This would not normally be that much of an issue, but at 15 pounds per day,one would expect a more stable connection.

I will definitely stay at the Caledonian again and look forward to doing so.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. It has been our pleasure looking after you on both occasions during your visit to Edinburgh, and I am delighted to hear of the impeccable service which you received.

Moreover, I am certain that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed for a friend’s birthday, it was very busy and there were no tables in Peacock Alley, filled up with folk for afternoon tea. We went into the bar to watch the rugby and had some food - huge portions!
Our rooms were on the top floor, clean and nicely appointed but I did manage to bang my head on the coombed ceiling while trying to work out what pods were supplied for the coffee machine.
The car park was full but there is an NCP carpark nearby. Check in was fairly quick considering how busy the hotel was (Welsh rugby weekend) we opted for the express check out.
I have only given it a 4 since the carparking was a hassle and it was raining but that’s Edinburgh for you and for the difficulty in reading the coffee selection/head banging on the coomb!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sconey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Overall, an extremely positive review, and I am delighted that you were able to join us for the rugby weekend. As mentioned, the hotel was indeed full throughout, creating a wonderful atmosphere; therefore the car park for the hotel was full. I hope that this did not cause too much inconvenience, and that you will return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Every member of staff were lovely and always greeted you with a smile.
The hotel was beautiful with wide corridors and an amazing staircase, with a beautiful bright and airy lounge. The rooms were plush very modern with great bathrooms.
Breakfast was very good so much choice.
The health club was very nice with clean changing rooms they also provided hair straighteners!! jugs of water were left outside the sauna and by the pool. Only downside was the jacuzzi was out of order.
The cally bar had a great atmosphere and again very nice and pleasant staff.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with your overall experience, from the bedroom allocated to the choice available at breakfast. Furthermore, although you also praise the health club for its cleanliness, I apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the Jacuzzi being out of order.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Dear Reader, there are times when you want to watch the world go by. Sitting in the Pompadour Restaurant I watched a theatrical experience full of humour, good will and the best hospitality I have experienced in many years. My husband and I were delighted by the attention to detail. The gentle azure walls with hand-painted birds of paradise murals; the crisp, white linen; and the clink of happy guests' glasses as they celebrated a lovely evening. Our waiter was attentive and informative explaining each course with wit and sparkly eyes. The Sommelier thrilled us with his exquisite choice of wines. As for Chef, he played with our palates and brought us sublime dish after mouthwatering temptation. We watched, listened, ate, drank and were very merry. Thank you for a perfect evening. The Pompadour is listed as the place to visit and to return to.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your dining experience in our Pompadour by Galvin Restaurant. I cannot do any justice to your wonderful comments, and your words certainly speak for themselves! I completely agree that the service, food and ambience are a combination for the perfect evening, and all of the team members shall be extremely proud.

Moreover, I have no doubt that we shall have the privelege of welcoming back to the Pompadour by Galvin, in the Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria once again!

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Everything here is great. concierge here is excellent very helpful guys. ambiance beautiful just amazing. thanks for your services. beds are very comfortable. location good for business traveller's and tourists. breakfast has a good spread at-least for me. take a walk for shopping on princess street dont really need a cab to go around.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Q333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. A fabulous time was obviously had by all, and I appreciate your kind remarks, from the bedding to our wonderful Concierge department.

I shall happily pass on your comments with the relevant departments, and look forward to welcoming you back to the 'Caley' in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed here on 24th December for 2 nights for family Christmas. Nice hotel (Historical building), Perfect Location, High ceiling so feel quite grand.
Lovely friendly staff. Early check-in was arranged at 11am so it was absolutely a blessing after being awake since 5am. Room was quite nice, Salvatore Ferragamo products to use  Highly recommend to go for Breakfast package as its worth it. We used the indoor heated pool and health suite too which was quite clean and well kept! We did not have much of a view ( Room 246) which means curtains were down all the time. One thing I must say – If some one is claustrophobic, Stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Overall, you have been extremely supportive with your comments, and I am delighted that you chose to spend Christmas with us! Hence why I am slightly confused as to why you have mentioned to 'stay away from this hotel'. I understand that the bedroom may not have been to your particular taste, therefore I would appreciate if you would contact me at chris.logan@waldrofastoria.com should you choose to return to the 'Caley' in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#88 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing