We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant classic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #60 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon, and was impressed. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite with a view overlooking the Edinburgh-castle when they found out that we were newlyweds, and the kitchen staff gave us a very sweet greeting card when we ordered room service. In large, this feels like a classic, elegant luxary hotel. They don't make them like this anymore.

Room Tip: Go for the view. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Simon B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to hear you very much enjoyed your honeymoon with us and we were able to upgrade you to one of our fantastic suites overlooking the magnificent Edinburgh Castle. I am very glad the staff members in room service added a personal touch to your stay, ensuring it was a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Caley' in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,177 - 3,183 of 3,864 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel was a retreat from the bustle of the festival for us. Our first day started with afternoon tea in Peacock Alley, a beautiful location for what was a delicate and delicious dining experience. As it was a special birthday we didn't mind the eye watering prices for what were mouth watering sandwiches and pastries.

Staff were consistently friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble including asking the bar staff for cocktails that were not on the menu. It turned out to be a pretty good jelly bean.

Our room was small but not compared to many city centre hotels. It was actually well equipped with enough space for a long weekend stay, tastefully decorated and meticulously clean.

The Spa was a treat with a good sized pool, sauna, steam room and pristine changing facilities. Staff here couldn't be more helpful too.

Breakfast was good. It really did set us up for the day. There were some surprising but minor lapses though. Fresh fruit most days but only tinned fruit on one. Freshly squeezed OJ on most days but a poor quality substitute on one. Feels like a 'first world' complaint though because the breakfast choices (full Scottish, Continental cheeses and meats, Pastries, Fruit) meant that we started every day with a tummy full of good food.

All in all, a delight. A central location but far enough away from the Royal Mile to be a little more peaceful, helpful and friendly stagg, a great bar for that all-essential night cap and elegant surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Daley T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a recent review following your stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to hear you very much enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our afternoon tea in the relaxing surroundings in “Peacock Alley”. I am very happy the staff members were attentive, friendly and helpful throughout your stay and were even able to create a “new” cocktail for you! It is great you were able to use many of the facilities the hotel has to offer including our award winning spa. Whilst you were happy with the breakfast selection, it is very unusual to hear that certain items had been substituted for poor quality items. This is not something that has been brought to my attention before; nevertheless I will personally follow up with the relevant breakfast teams to ensure this does not occur in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Caley' in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Lovely 'Scottish' styled rooms, the Pompadour restaurant very good, BUT staff in reception and front of house poor, breakfast no more than fast food. Prices a bit too high and not value for money. Could be a great hotel if reception, staffing and no Pompadour food improved.

Room Tip: if going, get a castle view, get breakfast elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theepilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Apilgram,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. Overall, I am happy that you enjoyed your meal in the Pompadour by Galvin, one of our two Galvin restaurants within the hotel. However I am disappointed to hear the rest of your stay was not up to your expectations, therefore I would be grateful if you could contact me to discuss your stay further and explain some more details. My email address is chris.logan@waldorfastoria.com, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I so enjoyed my stay at the Caledonian, A Waldorf Hotel. Definitely the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in, in Europe. Our 4th floor room was superb with a great view, an extremely comfortable bed, lots of room with 2 armchairs and a table. We also had a refrigerator and all the supplies to make coffee or tea including the accompanying shortbread. The bathroom was large and had every amenity. We enjoyed the lobby sitting area where you can have drinks, snacks, coffee or tea. You can sit and work or wait for friends in an elegant inviting atmosphere. We ate a delicious breakfast at the Brasserie each of the four mornings that we stayed in the hotel and had excellent service and food. We also ate at the Caley Bar one evening and thoroughly enjoyed our meals which were a mini hamburger (we would call it a slider) and wild mushroom with soft herb risotto. Some of the places we walked to were the Scottish National Gallery, Princes Street Park, and George Street for shopping and eating at the Hard Rock Cafe. We also used the "on-off" buses to visit many of the other sites such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood house Palace, St. Giles Cathedral, and the Royal Yacht Britannia. We also took a day tour to the Highlands and visited Kilchurn Castle, the town of Callandar, Loch Lomond, and Inveraray Castle and Woolen Mill. All in all it was a great trip but my favorite part was having such a great hotel to return to each evening.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Lin533,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at the Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to read of your fantastic experience with us and I appreciate your positive remarks on the facilities used throughout the hotel, including breakfast in our Brasserie, as well as the 'slider' enjoyed in our 'Caley' bar. You have certainly seen many of the wonderful attractions in and around Edinburgh, and I do hope that you choose to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A beautiful, elegant, stunning building with fantastic staff and smelt wonderful! Rooms in the 'new' building were on the small side, but this was quickly forgotten because the bed was so fantastic! The view of the car park was less than desirable, but the room was quiet and led to a wonderful few nights sleep. Staff in the breakfast room were marvellous, I had porridge one morning and poached egs the next, both cooked to perfection, the hot plate chef had witty banter and remembered the childrens names which was a great touch! I would happily stay again when next in town, but may request a room with a view!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Blanaid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Blanaid O,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted you very much enjoyed your stay, in particular your quiet bedroom and comfortable bed. Due to the structure of the building the majority of our bedrooms are very large for a city centre hotel. It is unfortunate that on this occasion you found your bedroom to be slightly on the small side. It is fantastic to hear our breakfast chef and staff delivered a friendly personalised service, this is certainly what we are proud of as a Waldorf Astoria Hotel.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Caley' on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Having visited the Waldorf in New York and The Balmoral in Edinburgh, I can confidently say that the Caledonian is much better than its New York counterpart and is on par with the latter.

Stayed at the Caledonian in order to visit the Edinburgh Fringe Festival at the beginning of August. Upon arrival, my Diamond hilton honours status was recognised and was given a very nice room overlooking the Castle. The room was clean and comfortable with the standard of bedding and toiletries of a high standard. The room had tea and coffee making facilities with a Nespresso machine on hand for that decent cup of coffee.

As with all Edinburgh City hotels, especially at Festival time, street noise is somewhat of an occupational hazard and is what I have come to expect when visiting the City at this time of the year. In addition, the Hotel remains under siege from the works to complete the City Tram Network - something that seems to have been going on for ages.

I had an evening meal in the Brasserie (which doubles up for the breakfast service) and can report that the meal was first class and the Apricot Souffle worthy of mention. Given this was a hotel restaurant, it was good value.

Throughout my stay, all the staff i encountered were friendly, helpful and welcoming - something that was lacking when I visited the New Your Waldorf.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buns4vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Buns4vs,

Thank you for taking the time to post a very positive review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. Firstly, I am delighted to hear you had a brilliant stay with us and you feel that we are on par, if not better than the Waldorf Astoria New York and The Balmoral. I am very glad that as a valued Diamond HHonors member we were able to upgrade you with a fantastic castle view, allowing you to enjoy the relaxing and comfortable room. It is disappointing to hear that the street noise disturbed your stay at the hotel, although as you have stated the city is constantly busy during the festival season and of course with the ongoing tram works! I am very pleased to hear you thought the meal was first class in The Brasserie, one of our two Galvin restaurants at the hotel. At The Caledonian we of course, pride ourselves on following the high standards and delivering a personalised service to all, I am happy to hear you experienced this!

We look forward to welcoming you to 'The Caley' in the near future!

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Caledonian for one night whilst seeing friends and checking out the Festival Fringe. Got a half price 'mystery hotel' deal on Lastminute.com - still expensive but certainly wouldn't have paid the full going rate - about £300 p/n. This is a very luxurious hotel and the bedrooms are well appointed, although the standard rooms are on the small side. Spa is nice but nothing special. Had room service breakfast - very nice and the best value option at £15. Staff friendly and attentive. Would definitely return if another deal came up.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank organboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Organboy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a recent review following your stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to make the most of the facilities the hotel has to offer. Due to the structure and age of the building the majority of the hotel’s bedrooms are larger than most would expect from a city centre hotel, so it is very unfortunate to hear you comments regarding your room size however of course, we value our entire guest’s feedback. I am delighted to hear of the positive impression you have from the staff members here at The Caledonian. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional and personal service to our guests. I find it unusual to hear that our award winning spa is “nothing special”; it is the only Guerlain Spa in the U.K. and continues to be highly popular with our hotel guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Caley' on your future visit to Edinburgh!

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,004 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,975 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £109 - £493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing