We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caledonian Hotel, Princes St”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #61 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Impressive ambience and overall impression. Intensive and polished service giving a high quality of all round experience. The service at breakfast was very impressive. Would look forward to staying there again if I ever come back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Peter F,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I appreciate your positive feedback on your overall experience at the 'Caley'. I am especially pleased to hear of the great service throughout breakfast, as our food & beverage manager has certainly made a special effort on this aspect of the hotel. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,097 - 3,103 of 3,867 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at The Caledonian for one night on the 6th September, and thank god it was only one night! We stayed in Edinburgh for three nights, one at Tigerlily (our favourite), one at The Caledonian (least favourite) and one at Hotel Indigo.

Unlike the other guests that have reviewed we definitely did not receive 'superior' service. We booked our stay with Last Minute 'Secret Hotels' meaning that we paid a smaller price for our room. We also booked with Secret Escapes for Tigerlily, but unlike Tigerlily, our lower price paid did not mean that we received the same service as everyone else...

First, when we arrived, other guests were greeted by porters, we were not, even upon checking in this was not given as an option. We were given our key and this was the only service that we received, we were not even informed where approximately our room was!

The room itself was very pleasant, the design is a traditional design with some modern features including the shower, which had two shower-heads and one as a rainfall shower. We went out for dinner so I cannot comment on the restaurant or the bar, when we returned we were rather tired so went up to bed and settled in.

At just gone midnight we were woken up by the fire alarm, a horrendous noise, and at first unsure of what it was until we saw other guests moving outwards to the exterior of the building. We followed them and stayed outside, with little to no guidance. We were offered foil blankets to keep warm (it was cold & raining), luckily we had clothes on unlike some guests who looked much colder than ourselves! After about 10-15 minutes standing outside we were let back into our rooms, but as we got into reception we were nearly ushered back out again!

The next morning we checked out, and received a similar service to the reception we were greeted with, so happy to leave! At our check out we were offered no reason as to why the fire alarm had gone off, but did overhear one receptionist talking to another guest complaining suggesting the fire came from one of the guests rooms...No apology was offered for the awakening of so many guests. A 'we are sorry for your disturbance and inconvenience' would have sufficed.

I have personally stayed in many hotels in many countries, all over the world, and never received such cold reception (especially in comparison to other guests!). I would recommend others to look up smaller hotels who treat guests in a similar manner no matter the price paid (I would personally recommend Tigerlily on George St! 5* service!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauren0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Lauren0806,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Unfortunately however, you have departed feeling somewhat disappointed with your overall experience, and I apologise for the inconvenience caused. Firstly, to read that you were not given ‘superior’ service, beginning with our porters is certainly far from what I would expect. If you read our past reviews, our Concierge department are mentioned in a positive manner in the majority of them, and named appreciatively on a daily basis. Therefore I can assure you that this would be by no means deliberate, I am sorry you feel this way, and this is certainly not because you booked via ‘Secret Hotels’. Furthermore, you have also commented on the regrettable fire alarm which we had during your time with us. There is no good time to experience this, however, the priority we have as a hotel is the safety of our guests. Therefore a full evacuation was administered under the control of the fire brigade, and no one was permitted to return to the building until the fire officer in charge was satisfied. Thankfully this was a false alarm, although due to the high levels of business with approximately 500 guests in-house, I apologise if you were not given the personal attention that you feel you deserved. The other smaller hotels you have stated in your review cannot really be compared to us on this respect on occasions like this, never-the-less, I do feel that we still provide a touch of luxury that other properties cannot provide.

Overall, I would be disappointed if the issues mentioned deterred you from returning to the ‘Caley’ in the future, and I would hope that you will give us a chance on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

From Paris, we flew into Edinburgh. Stayed at The Caledonian". Lovely hotel. Great rooms, really comfortable.The breakfast was really good. Best part is, its like 2 minutes walk to Princess Street, where all major shops are located and close to the Edinburgh Castle. The weather was decent that day and enjoyed the day's stay there.

Room Tip: Seems like all rooms will be very good. Only tip is try to get rooms closer to the elevator, else it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRISVACATION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Krisvacation,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at ‘The Caley’ in particular your room and the breakfast service, as well as the great location of the hotel in relation to many attractions within Edinburgh.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A last minute booking and boy was it good. I was upgraded to a deluxe room with Castle view - really impressive. The room on the 3rd floor overlooked the main street but it seemed quite quiet with only the noise of emergency sirens reaching the room to disturb me. The bedroom was large with all the usual amenities. The bathroom was big with double sink basins and a working audio system - lots of hotels I've stayed in have this feature but it never seems to work.
Breakfast was excellent - a large range of choices with a very professional coffee/tea bar in the middle of the breakfast area where the staff created teas/coffees or juices of your choice. The full Scottish Breakfast at £20 was more than I usually pay for breakfast but I suppose it goes with the style and impressive nature of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bannawell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Bannawell,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to hear, even though a last minute choice you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! I am glad you were able to appreciate a complimentary upgrade with a view overlooking the castle. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the breakfast buffet, I am glad the staff were as expected, more than happy to accommodate any special requests.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the 'Caley' in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

super hotel staff go out of their way to make you feel special they all work very hard on this.it makes a change from some of the hotels i have had the misfotune to stay in this year the fire alarm went off late on friday night but the staff dealt with everthing well even givig us space blankets to keep warm whilst outside

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank thrblky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights and was fantastically suprised by the comfort of the bed,linen, room and service.
It is well worth staying in the cafe for breakfast for hours the coffee and food are so good! Central location and good deal overall, well worth it for treat.

Room Tip: I got a room at the back and there was no noise - slept like a log
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank furrysporran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Furrysporran,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am glad to hear you were pleasantly surprised with the service and your comfortable room. It is great to hear you were able to relax in the breakfast room before a busy day of sightseeing in Edinburgh!

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in July and it was our first time in the Caledonian for quite a few years. We were impressed with the value for money and the quality of the room.

Also, the new Peacock Alley is fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Yvo28,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am glad you had a fantastic stay with us and were able to appreciate the hotels amazing refurbishment, including the Peacock Alley lounge featuring the original railway station clock.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,006 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,976 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £139 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing