We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honesty does pay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We booked the Caledonian for a Friday/Saturday night stay, we would normally stay in the George, but they were fully booked. Lets start by saying good bye the George hello Caledonian, Don't get me wrong, we love The George, its just that we're now two timing her,
The Hotel is positioned at the end of Princes Street, so ideal for shopping (The wife) your also within walking distance of some great historical sites and more importantly 100's of pubs (me)
The welcome we got was excellent, a quick efficient check in,
The room was more than adequate the only neg was no price list for the mini bar.
We had dinner our first night at one of their two restaurants, exceptional service, great menu and outstanding food.
Peacock alley (a large lounge area) was very relaxing.
Breakfast.. you had the choice of buffet (hot and cold) or off the menu.. Food was very good, service was exceptional (thank you Lucas)
The reason for the title, we were in a wee bit of a hurry at checkout (Sunday morning and we were running for one of a few trains that ran that on a Sunday) It wasn't till later that I found we'd been charged for the room and breakfast only, we had ordered pay per view films (No, not that kind lol) used the mini bar, and also had dinner and a good bottle of wine. We hadn't paid for any of it.... feeling guilty I phoned and got through to Gary (one of the concierges) I explained what had happened and offered payment. Gary (very mannerly) advised he would check it out and come back to me. He did as promised, advising us that it was the hotels error and they would cover the costs at their expense... I wasn't in any way looking or expecting this, but honesty does pay.
We are now looking forward to returning to the Callie for another great weekend (But this time we'll pay our way.

Room Tip: Foodies don't need to leave the Hotel, two excellent restaurants one with fine dining
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Throast659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Throast659,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to read of your positive feedback regarding your stay with us. I am pleased you found the hotel in a convenient location for the shops and local pubs and bars. I will pass on your thanks to the breakfast team and especially Lucasz for his excellent service. I understand your reservation was a dinner package and appreciate the dinner charges would not be detailed on your room account upon departure; however I am very thankful for your honesty and your follow up phone call with Gary.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,624)
There are newer reviews for Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,771 - 2,777 of 3,624 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I am a HH Gold card holder and having read some previous reviews I was a little nervous about the service we would receive as this was a birthday celebration weekend……I needn’t have worried!

The other half had originally booked us into the Balmoral (it was his birthday present to me so it was arranged without my input) but I suggested we switched to The Caley because my HH Gold membership entitled us to an upgrade (subject to availability). Even better, HH were running a promotion so we booked ourselves into a King Junior Suite, which ensured we would get a nice room whether we were upgraded or not.

Around a week or so before our arrival, I received an email from Natalie (the guest relations manager) asking whether she could assist us with transportation, bookings or recommendations for our upcoming stay. As we already had a packed itinerary for our two nights (I had pre-booked castle visit, Mercat ghost tour, and we were having dinner with a family member) so we opted for afternoon tea on the day of our arrival. I also asked Natalie to note that we were entitled to a room upgrade (subject to availability), that we would like a nice view of the castle and we would be likely to arrive a couple of hours before the 3pm check-in so it would be nice if the room was ready for our early arrival. Natalie was very responsive and assured me that she made a note of all our requests and they would do what they could to accommodate us.

Natalie (who is delightful) was at the check-in desk to greet us on our arrival, which was not expected. We had been upgraded to The Robert Louis Stevenson Suite, a 1 bedroom King Suite on the first floor with fantastic views of the castle (I am going to try to post a video of the suite with this review). Our room was indeed ready so Natalie showed us around the rooms personally and again asked us if there was anything she could do for us – she even left her card in an envelope by the bed so we had all of her contact numbers.

Within minutes of her leaving us to it, there was a knock at the door, and a very beautiful tray of fruit and wine was delivered as a gift from the hotel (which was in addition to the two mini bottles of wine and a small box of truffles already waiting for us in the living room).
Afternoon tea was lovely (I asked if we could mix and match from the tea afternoon tea options and it wasn’t a problem). Breakfast time was a bit busy (we were told that they were very busy at weekends) but the food was nice and regularly replenished.

Every staff member we encountered was polite and helpful, and very importantly (for me at least) smiled.

Next time (and there certainly will be a next time) we will want to eat at their Pompadour restaurant and if possible spend a little longer in Edinburgh, which is a fabulous City (like all the good bits of London, but in a smaller/more accessible area).

We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this wonderful hotel, the people and service made it extra special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ymbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear YMBAM,


Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. It is a pleasure to read your excellent feedback and comments with regards to your stay with us! I am delighted to hear Natalie went above and beyond your expectations to ensure your stay was comfortable and memorable. I am very pleased you enjoyed your King one bedroom suite with the magnificent view of the castle, it certainly sounds like you made the most of the facilities the hotel has to offer! We definitely recommend you try our Pompadour by Galvin restaurant on your next trip to Edinburgh!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel in an excellent situation at the end of Princes St. The service was excellent, on the whole, and the staff welcoming. We had booked a standard room at the last minute through Olotels and the receptionists were unable to find our reservation. We were asked to wait, with a complimentary drink, and were then allocated a quiet room overlooking the car park. The bathroom was lovely. I have taken up the issue of the missing booking with Olotels separately, which is why the review is so late, but I think we have to thank the hotel reception staff for saving the day. One reason I didn't give a 5 was the dark, cafe/bistro style room where the breakfast was served. Breakfast itself was fine, although not the best buffet I've ever had, but I'm sure they would have brought anything we asked for. We would go back, but probably book direct with the hotel next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonetDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear bonetdumfries,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. It is a pleasure to read of your positive feedback regarding your stay with us, in particular your comfortable quiet room and the professional service you were offered whilst your reservation amended through your third party agent. I will certainly share your comments regarding the breakfast room with our General Manager who of course, always values our guest’s feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Caledonia is an excellent, older but refurbished 5 star hotel with a number of amenities including delicious room service meals and desserts, a nicely equipped gym with separate fitness and aerobic rooms, and excellent views of the castle. The breakfast was pretty good, not the best I have had, but served by an attentive and caring staff. The internet was good but you often had to reenter repeatedly enter the wifi passcode. Beds were very good but the shower was one of those where you had to finesse the hot and cold to get the right temperature and with one of those half shower screens instead of a door; not a good option. The business center was not open 24/7 and the printer for printing off boarding passes was not functioning; the attendant was very helpful and did manage to get them printed for me.

The location is excellent for getting to the castle, Princes Street, old and new towns.

Tip: Thomas is perhaps the best concierge I have encountered in my many years of travel. He made our transfer arrangements to and from the hotel, gave great directions and recommendations on nearby facilities, and answered any and all questions with an sharp professionalism. When he said it would be arranged, I knew it would be without a doubt.

Room Tip: One of the best views you can have of the castle can be seen from the rooms facing it. Ask for a ro...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDB1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear JDB1958,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to hear you had an excellent stay with us and found the location of the hotel convenient to visit Edinburgh’s famous sightseeing attractions. I am glad to hear you made good use of the hotels facilities including, our award winning Guerlain Spa and ‘delicious’ room service meals. I will certainly share your comments with our facilities manager regarding the shower temperature to ensure this is rectified for the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I booked two nights in this wonderful hotel for our silver wedding celebration. From the moment we arrived we recieved a very warm welcome and were immediately impressed by the reception area and the adjacent Peacock Alley bar and dining area. Our room was a "deluxe Queen" which was very spacious, elegant and well appointed with a superb bathroom. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful - nothing seemed to much trouble. The hotel is also well situated for shops, castle, national gallery, bars / restaurants and many more attractions. I would without hesitation recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear David A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. It is a pleasure to read your excellent feedback regarding your stay at ‘The Caley. I will be delighted to share your comments with the team. I am glad you found your bedroom comfortable and well appointed and the staff members friendly and helpful.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked the Caledonian through trivago for quite a reasonable price. Having stayed in many other 5 star hotels our expectations were quite high, and whilst we enjoyed our stay, I have to agree with other reviewers who stated that if you book the hotel at a discount you will be treated as a second class citizen. Check in was quick and pleasant. Our room was on the 5th floor, the room appeared nice and clean, and initially we had no issues with it, however on the second evening I opened the drawer of the dressing table only to find a hardcore pornagraphic magazine....Hardly what you would expect in a 5 star hotel. There also seemed to be a lack of care and attention to cleaning on the 5th floor, we stayed three nights and each morning we would note glasses and bottles on the floor of the corridor which would still be there on our return in the evening. From other reviews I see that the hotel offers a turn down service....this was something we were not offered. We used the spa which was nice but nothing special, and the jacuzzi was out of order. We did have afternoon tea in Peacock Alley it was delicious and a real treat. Overall I am a bit disappointed, the hotel just seemed to lack the personal touch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KANDEMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear KANDEMC,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am very sorry to hear your stay at ‘The Caley’ did not meet your expectations, and you feel you were classed second best because you booked through a third party. I can reassure you that this is certainly not how we treat our guests or the level of service we aim to provide. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly to discuss your stay further. My email address is chris.logan@waldorfastoria.com .

I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Staff very polite and friendly.Nothing was too much bother.Hotel in very good location for centre of town.Only complaint pillows on bed like bags of cement and duvet had no cover just sheet on top and bottom.Seemed odd.Clean fresh room.Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Alexander K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us; I am delighted to hear our staff members were friendly and delivered a professional service during your stay. It is unusual to hear that the pillows are like cement; however I will certainly share your comments with our Head Housekeeper who will follow this up accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,864 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,855 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £118 - £500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing