We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #50 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barrhead,Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“City Break”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Pleasant, attentive staff we went just before Christmas so very busy with Xmas outings etc o bit hectic in restaurant but only to be expected i suppose Food was good.But small portions, Room was very spacious and very clean good standard of furniture and decor Very close to Waverley Station.All in all very good. Only gave an average rating for breakfast and spa as never got to try either

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Alex48,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted you very much enjoyed your pre Christmas visit to ‘The Caley’. I am pleased you found the hotel in a convenient location to the train station. I hope you have the opportunity of using our spa and breakfast facilities on your next visit to Edinburgh!

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,943
    847
    405
    166
    75
See reviews for
719
1,691
101
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A well-appointed hotel. Very large and comfortable rooms, great food, and extremely attentive and friendly staff. The location is right in the heart of things and the views are great. I was served possibly the best burger I've ever had, and that is saying a lot. To be thousands of miles from home on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, this was a great place to spend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Tracy J,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to hear you very much enjoyed your Christmas celebrations at ‘The Caley’. I am pleased the staff provided attentive and friendly service during the festive period, and you experienced the best burger you have ever had!

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I got the impression that this was once a great hotel and maybe had potential to be great again but that it is now past it's prime. I am aware that it had a recent overhaul but maybe it's not just about physical appearance. Staff were pleasant but uninterested, particularly in the restaurant and appeared to be simply going through the motions. The whole place lacks a certain "buzz" which is a pity as aesthetically it is a beautiful building. By contrast, we had lunch in the Brasserie in the Balmoral on Monday and which blew us away, such was the standard of food and the wonderfully warm and genuine service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brid392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Brid392,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am sorry to hear you were not impressed with the recent refurbishment or the service provided. Many of our guests comment on our staff members providing friendly and attentive luxury service, so I am surprised to hear the staff members in the restaurant seemed uninterested. I will share your comments with our restaurant manager.

I hope we are able to welcome you back to 'The Caley' in the near future.

Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just returned from a weekend break between Christmas and New Year and unfortunately the hotel did not live up to expectations - although the staff were great. Fortunately we were on a deal with a third off, otherwise I would have been even more displeased. The hotel tries to provide that feeling of luxury, but loses out in comparison with newer boutique style hotels - and even some others in the Hilton Group. The bathrooms were a problem (20 minutes to half fill a bath with lukewarm water!) and I was astonished that the baths in both rooms were of the Premier Inn variety - sloping and narrowing so as to use less water, thereby rendering a long comfortable soak impossible. We needed a room switch to overcome problems with the bed - all handled well by the staff but it took an hour to move us which, after a day's wandering around Edimburgh, was not what we wanted. A couple of other thoughts, why do I have to pay for WiFi in my room when even the lowliest B&B now provides that free and £28 for a sirloin steak with a few green beans and a bit of potato is a rip off - it wasn't even that good! Overall a disappointing stay, but the staff could not be faulted.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank dper195829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Depr195829,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am disappointed to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. I am extremely sorry you do not feel the hotel provides the luxury service you were expecting. As a Waldorf Astoria Hotel, we pride ourselves on delivering five star luxury service to all our guests, unfortunately on this occasion you did not feel you received this. Please accept my apologies for your unexpected room move, however I am pleased the transition to your new room was handled well by our front office team. I regret to read you were unsatisfied with your dining experience in our Brasserie De Luxe, both our restaurants are run by the award winning Galvin brothers, so I am very surprised you did not enjoy your meal. I will personally share your comments with the Galvin team.

Regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
221 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had 2 rooms here for New Year's eve, and the place was on top form. From check in to check out, nothing was too much trouble, and the refurbished rooms were very good indeed. No upgrades available, it WAS New Year's Eve, but got 4 welcome drinks vouchers and four breakfasts thrown in as a Diamond benefit.

All the staff were superb, and the New Year's gifts in the room were a nice touch to come home to in the wee small hours, and it was SO peaceful inside compared to the madness out in the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Jetsettel,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am extremely pleased you very much enjoyed celebrating New Years Eve with us at ‘The Caley’. I apologise for not being able to upgrade you during your stay, however I am pleased our Front office team added breakfast complimentary for your party!

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
598 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 746 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We treated ourselves to a luxurious new year at the Caley. Overall it was a highly impressive stay. Our suite was luxurious and very comfy. Great views of the castle and the fireworks. The Hogmany meal at Brasserie Galvin was superb and was accompanied by great service. Breakfasts had a superb choice and was not rushed. Concierge, housekeeping and reception staff were friendly and efficient but we cannot give 5 stars as the hotel was slightly let down by the Peacock Alley lounge. Service in this beautiful lounge was consistently poor - very slow and often neglectful. It was amazing how so many staff could be so consistently poor. However overall we enjoyed our stay and will return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Bathpair,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am pleased your Hogmanay stay at ‘The Caley’ was excellent. I am glad you had the magnificent view of the castle and fireworks from your comfortable bedroom. I will personally share your comments regarding breakfast with the team; I am delighted you found the choice extensive. I am disappointed to learn your experience in Peacock Alley did not live up to your expectations. I will investigate further with our Food and Beverage Manager, as this is certainly not the service we aim to provide to our guests as a Waldorf Astoria Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We recently got married at Edinburgh Castle and then held our wedding breakfast in the private dining Versailles room at the Caledonian hotel, as we live in Manchester we also stayed at the hotel for two days. The whole experience from start to finish was amazing. We had booked a double double room (2 double beds) the rooms were simply huge with amazing views of the castle and the whole length of princess street right in front of your room windows (room 508)

The quality of the décor was excellent, it has been recently refurbished and they have done an amazing job (we last stayed here 5/6 years ago when it had red carpets and tartan curtains) it has been transformed into a luxurious yet classy mix of neutral colours and quality furnishings.

Kelly the wedding co-ordinator was really helpful, nothing was too much trouble, which was the same for all of the staff, from the doorman to the chefs at breakfast, they all went our of their way the make sure you wanted for nothing, anything they could do to help they did with a smile.

The wedding breakfast was outstanding, there were 19 guests and the quality of the food was superb, we had a five course meal for £45.00 per head which was as good as we've had at many fine dining restaurants (I believe the chef trained under Gordon Ramsey)

We rounded off our stay with afternoon tea in Peacock Alley which was lovely, an amazing indulgence of nibbles and treats well worth the £23.00 per head, it included unlimited fine tea's and coffee and a harpist provided some relaxing background music.

All in all it was wonderful, a truly memorable experience, we're hoping to go back to celebrate our anniversary at some point and I cannot recommend the hotel and it's staff highly enough.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 5th floor (room 508 sleeps two adults and two kids in two double beds with amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Chris D,

It is with great pleasure to read your excellent review following your wedding held at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted Kelly provided five star luxury service as well as other staff members you interacted with during your stay. I am pleased you feel the refurbishment has made a dramatic improvement from your last stay a few years ago! The entire team are extremely happy they were able to contribute to your special occasion at ‘The Caley’.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,768 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing