We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Nearby Hotels
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,028)
Filter reviews
4,028 results
Traveller rating
2,271
977
482
200
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,271
977
482
200
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeacock alleycaley bargalvin brasserieguerlain spacastle viewbeautiful hotelend of princes streetfive star hotelturn down servicenespresso machinean upgradebirthday treatbeautiful roomhaggisroyal mileconciergedoorman
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,040 - 3,045 of 4,028 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We went to The Caledonian on our 'mini-moon'. We absolutely loved our stay. Our room was HUGE and very well kitted out. We were upgraded to a King Suite which was incredible. We couldn't recommend this hotel more highly. Breakfast is a must have, with an amazing array of food and service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Matt C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that we were able to up-grade your room on such a special occasion, and even more happy to hear of your ‘amazing’ experience at the ‘Caley’! I shall certainly share your kind remarks with our team, including the breakfast staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel is beautiful and in a great location to see the city. Room service food is good and of a reasonable price - size of the rooms is quite variable (but a bigger room seemed to have a poorer quality shower, and none of the rooms were exactly small!). The staff were friendly and clearly recognised the regulars at the hotel. Would definitely return

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Kirsty T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn of your wonderful experience on your visit to Edinburgh. Due to the shape and age of the building, you are correct in stating our bedrooms are of variable size, which I believe adds to the character of the building. We also pride ourselves on recognising and appreciating our valuable regular guests within the hotel, thus creating the personalised service that we aim for. I have no doubt that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have stayed at the Caledonian a number of times, and when I think of my favourite place to be I always remember the Caledonian. It has a timeless elegance that is purely majestic, especially with the beautiful castle as its backdrop. The rooms are elegant, the breakfasts are quintessentially Scottish, and the staff look like there were taken straight off of a 19th century street. I love everything about this hotel. Make sure you get a room with a view of the castle at night. It is worth the upgraded price.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the castle. It really is worth the upgrade.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Lisa K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn of your wonderful experience on your visit to Edinburgh. I am honoured to read such a complimentary review about the hotel, and such positive comments make all of our hard work worthwhile. I am particularly pleased by your feedback on the staff who assisted in looking after you. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very good value if booked as part of a flights/hotel package. Excellent breakfast included. Would have been nice to have free wifi in room. It was available in dinign room but had to ask for password.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Barbara B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you have departed feeling overall satisfied, and hope to be able to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have visited this hotel twice, both times as a last minute get away. The location is great, the staff helpful. The leasure club and pool are good. We have eaten an evening meal and breakfast at the hotel and both have been excellent. A visit is an event to remember, a treat and overall well worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSophieEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear LondonSophieEC,,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. As always, I appreciate the kind feedback provided, especially with regards to the helpfulness of the staff. Moreover, I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews