We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The room was big and beautiful, but bad service, small elevator”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The room was big and beautiful, but bad service, small elevator”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were 3 people travelling together, and booked a regular room.
We got two king size beds, big bathroom, ipod-docking station and a Nespresso coffee-maschine with lots of complimentary coffee. No view though. We did not try the restaurant, and breakfast was not included, good, because right next door, we had a lovely scottish breakfast, halve the price!!!! :) (Big breakfast menu) eggs, toast, bacon, sousages, coffe/tea and haggis! :) I do not remember the name, but it was a little right next to the Caledonian, before you cross Princess street.
We did not try out the spa.
The hotel was situated near shopping, restaurant, pubs and bars.
Right outside the hotel you got the lovely view of the Castle. :)
The elevator was very small and we was always waiting for it.
When we wanted to check out of the hotel, we had to wait a long time for help in the reception.
Tip: The airport Shuttle bus, stops right outside the hotel.

P.s. It seems it always rains in Edinburgh, bring an umbrella!

Room Tip: All rooms seem very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Globetroll,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am pleased overall you enjoyed your large room and the luxury amenities provided, however I am sorry to hear you were not able to experience many of the other facilities the hotel has to offer, including the restaurants and our award winning Guerlain Spa. I am truly disappointed you were not satisfied with the service you received during your stay, our team members certainly pride themselves on the personalised and professional service we aim to provide to our guests as a Waldorf Astoria Hotel.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,899
    827
    398
    163
    70
See reviews for
705
1,643
98
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Very nice hotel in the heart of Edinburgh with some rooms overlooking the castle. The quality of the rooms and staff was very high and the deal prices make it well worth considering although I would choose breakfast at one of the nearby restaurants over the hotels premium priced offerings.
The only disappointment was that they are still insisting on charging for internet which although I accept in budget hotels at this level of establishment it should just be free.

Room Tip: Request a castle room and choose higher floor numbers to remove the risk of any noise from events.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Pete W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am pleased overall you enjoyed your short stay with us at ‘The Caley’. We do offer complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel in the public areas; however there is indeed a fee to use the secure and fast service in our bedrooms. I hope this does not deter you from visiting ‘The Caley’ in the future and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linlithgow
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We decided to stay here as we had a booking in an Edinburgh restaurant and didnt want to have to rush for a train home .
We arrived early and were very efficiently checked into our suite despite official check in not being until a good 2 1/2 hrs later .
We were also upgraded to a suite . It was about as big as my house ( ok perhaps not that big !) but beautifully appointed with a full dining table, two sofas and several pieces of period furniture .
There were two large flatscreen TVs one in each room , the only drawback being that the sound quality was a bit muffled .
Our view was nothing spectacular , but it overlooked Rutland street and as such was quiet overnight despite it being a Saturday night in the centre of Edinburgh .
The only minor quibble was that the bathroom was considerably colder than the rest of the suite and seemed to suffer excessively from draughts ( mind you it is winter in Scotland !).
A final word on the excellent breakfast . I am used to Hilton breakfasts but this one was even better and the staff couldnt have been nicer .
Just a pity I was only staying the one night

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinlithgowTravelscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear LinlithgowTravelscot,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am overwhelmed to read your fantastic review, I am extremely pleased we were able to complimentary upgrade you and your suite was prepared before our 3pm check in, allowing you more time to enjoy ‘The Caley’! Thank you sharing your detailed comments; I will certainly mention the sound quality with our Maintenance Manager to ensure this is rectified for future guests. I am glad you very much enjoyed our excellent breakfast service, the team work extremely hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable start to their day, I will share your positive comments with the team!

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We've just come back from a wonderful weekend in Edinburgh and felt compelled to write a review for this hotel.
From the moment we arrived inside this stunning hotel we were treated with the highest level of service with warmth and smiles at all times. The staff literally couldn't do enough for us. We upgraded to a junior suite with a view of the castle, and we're not disappointed, stunning and so comfortable, I'd love to know where they get their sheets from and if they sell the dressing gowns!!!
The peacock lounge is a must and expect a very warm Irish welcome from Niamh the bar manager who made it her absolute business to personally welcome every guest.
The Galvin brasserie is a must, what an experience, never have we tasted cuisine quite so full of flavour, fresh nor had the level of service this restaurants staff gave us.
The Caledonian Waldorf Astoria and it's staff could teach its counterparts across the world exactly how the guest experience should be. We will definitely be back. Thank you all so much.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EveRob0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Everob0423,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. It is a pleasure to read your excellent review of ‘The Caley’! I am delighted you found the staff members exceeded your expectations during your stay and you very much enjoyed your suite overlooking the magnificent Edinburgh Castle. Our dressing gowns are extremely popular with our guests and it is a shame you were not informed during your stay of how to purchase a cosy dressing gown! Should you still be interested in purchasing a dressing gown, we will be more than happy to arrange this for you! I will extend your warm thanks to Niamh in our Peacock Alley, I am glad to hear our team provided a luxury and friendly service during your stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This review is rather delayed but I just wanted to say what a wonderful stay we had back in December 2012. I was lucky enough to be taken here by my boyfriend, now husband, where he popped the question. We had first stayed here in 2005, so it was a welcome return. The hotel is in the most fantastic location, with wonderful views over the castle. We very much enjoyed the German market and fireworks over Edinburgh Castle. The room was beautiful , very well appointed. However, it was rather cold and noisy, but I appreciate that with a building of this grandeur, double glazing may not be permitted! The views of Edinburgh Castle more than made up for this. There were a couple of false fire alarms during our stay, one in the middle of the night, but there was a letter from management apologising. As my husband is a HH member, we were lucky enough to be upgraded. The breakfast was superb and dinner in the brasserie was beautiful. I can not fault the staff - service is wonderful. The hotel oozes luxury and decadence and is a fabulous place to spend a weekend. We hope to be back - perhaps for an anniversary visit. Many thanks to all the team.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank q-bixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear q-bixx,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. It is a pleasure to read you returned to ‘The Caley’ to celebrate your special occasion in December 2012. I am pleased you were able to enjoy the magnificent views of Edinburgh Castle for your memorable moment and found the staff members extremely helpful and friendly. I am glad all areas of the hotel exceeded your expectations; however please accept my apologies for the unexpected fire alarms during your visit.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ for an anniversary trip!

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Booked room with a lovely view of Edinburgh castle, which cost a bit more. Checked the bathroom to find the toilet was filthy! So bad i thought I was going to vomit. Ruined our stay. Def expected higher standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
4 Thank maree c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Maree C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I understand our Guest Relations Manager has contacted you directly with regards to the issue you experienced during your stay. Once again, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused. I am truly disappointed your stay did not live up to your expectations for your special occasion.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ allowing you to experience the luxury service we pride ourselves on.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed with hubby last Saturday. A great hotel, location is top notch. Reception staff very pleasant and helpful. Rooms comfy and well equipped. Good toiletries, very soft robes and slippers. Thoroughly enjoyed breakfast and staff could not do any more to please - that is except for the Guerlain spa staff. We had to report to Spa reception to use the facilities. Two young lady staff members were through the back talking to each other and did not come out to reception. We spoke to attract their attention, if we could hear them they could hear us but, no, nothing after about five minutes. We had to get another staff member out of the gym to help. A shame, gave the wrong impression on what had been a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L1NLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear L1NLN,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am pleased to hear overall you were satisfied with your stay including the luxury amenities in the room and the excellent breakfast service. It is disappointing to learn our Guerlain Spa team were not able to assist you during your visit to the Spa. This is certainly not the welcoming or helpful service we aim to provide to our guests throughout the hotel. I have personally shared your comments with our Guerlain Spa Director who will address this issue with the team members involved, to ensure our guests are provided with attentive and friendly service in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing