We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #51 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mount Pleasant, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The staff was terrific and they met all my needs are request with a smile. I was very happy with the room and the view was spectacular. The hotel itself was very impressive building and the location was increadible. Right in the city center and close to all public transportation, shopping, entertainment and cultural events. Over all this was one of if not the nicest hotel I've ever visited.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear George R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I agree that the location of the hotel is of extreme benefit to our guests, however I am particularly ecstatic to read of your kind remarks with regards to the terrific staff who looked after you throughout.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,854
    818
    383
    160
    69
See reviews for
686
1,602
96
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in May. Great hotel, wonderful location. We had a deluxe room on the 5th floor, although this did not have a castle view we had a massive corner sofa in the room ! and the bathroom was huge. Good selection at breakfast and we had a meal in the Galvin restaurant on the Sunday night which again was lovely and excellent service. Would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Louise M,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am extremely pleased to hear that you were more than satisfied with the facilities within hotel, and delighted that you chose to dine in our wonderful Galvin Brasserie De Luxe restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future when you return.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a delightful place! It is just down from the Waverly train station on Princes Street. Rooms were very large, warm and comfy. The bathroom was also large and modern. Ah, the towel warmer was a godsend as our weather was off and on rain with cool temps (50s F) and blustery winds. How refreshing it was to wrap a warm toasty towel around you after a long day on the Royal Mile and a brisk shower!

Across the street was the stop for all of the "hop on hop off" tour buses....out front was a stop for the city buses and the streetcars.....and, a block away were Rose and George streets for restaurants, pubs, and shopping. Like I said, it was a "perfect location" in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrFrankly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear DrFrankly,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. You have mentioned many positive features of the hotel, including the perfect location, and I am happy to hear to you appreciated the bedroom in which you stayed.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future when you return, and I promise that I will try and make the weather better!

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmigham, AL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our stay in the Sir Walter Scott, King panoramic view suite (#114/116) at the Caedonian was perfect! We were traveling with our 18 & 19 year old son and daughter, and this suite worked perfectly for us. The hotel was kind enough to set the living room up with 2 roll away beds for the kids next to the 2 sofas in the main living area. We wanted to be together, yet separate, and this setup could not have been more accommodating. The bathroom was huge with 2 showers. One of which was a shower/bath combination. The heated towel rack was a luxurious addition to the bathroom, and the robes were super cozy to snuggle up in after a long day of sightseeing. The Peacock lounge was a lovely setting for after dinner drinks, and the staff was so wonderful to us! We especially loved Laura, who crated a specific drink for us with about 6 different ingredients we requested. Pedro was our waiter almost every morning for breakfast, and he worked hard to keep the food moving from kitchen to table with a very positive attitude. The continental breakfast with fresh fruits, meats, and pastries was very satisfying. We all enjoyed watching the pastry chef from our booth in the morning as he prepared fresh pasta ravioli for the evening. This location cannot be beat! The view of Edinburgh Castle all lit up in the evening... absolutely stunning! Thank you to all who served us!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmhdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear dmhdf,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted the staff members were able to accommodate your requests to ensure your trip with your family was even more enjoyable! I will certainly share your lovely review with the team and extend your kind regards to Laura and Pedro!
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in the hotel we were made very welcome.

The rooms are ultra clean, spacious, newly refurbished and classy.

We did not sample the restaurant but had drinks in the fantastic surroundings of peacock alley.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great location also.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scots2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Scots2011 ,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff very helpful and friendly. Might be overpriced with the surrounding hotels, but was well worth it for us. We spent 5 nights at the hotel. The lobby layout was slightly lacking but you have to consider the age of the building. They did miss one of our wake up calls which disappointing ( maybe a automatic system would be a good thing even though it not a live voice). I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chitown962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear chitown962 ,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your five night stay with us, in particular the friendly and helpful staff members. Please accept my apologies for the team missing one of your wake up calls, I appreciate your feedback related to this .
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend from 23-27 May2014. From the moment we checked in we could not fault the staff. We ate in the Peacock Alley in the evening with the staff fetching the menu for us from the bar. The staff took the time to have conversations with us each time they came to serve us. Breakfast offered an extremely wide variety of choices and again the staff were very attentive and helpful. Our room was very comfortable which was cleaned very well on a daily basis. The location was brilliant with it being in the heart of the town and convenient for walking to many attractions. We did not need to use the car at all as were able to walk to all the places we wanted to see. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting luxury break and we will not hesitate to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Linda A,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to read you very much enjoyed your stay with us, in particular your interactions with the friendly and attentive staff members. I will personally share your kind review with the team!
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#88 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing