We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #62 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and found it a most comfortable experience. Our room was cheerfully changed when there was a problem with the cooling system. The room and bath were large and well-appointed. We especially liked the good lighting. The bed was comfortable. The room did not provide a view of the castle, but that was less important to us than it be quiet, which it was. The location was perfect for us--at the end of Princes Street. We walked to the castle, and the charming streets of New Town were nearby. Other sites were a short taxi ride away. Thomas and Malcolm were very helpful in making dinner reservations and giving advice on other activities. We cannot comment on the restaurant as it was closed Sunday and Monday, the nights we were there. My only negative comment is we thought the breakfast was overpriced. But overall, we give this hotel the highest recommendation and would chose it again on a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkCityJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear newyorkcityjoan,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to hear you very much enjoyed your stay with us; I am extremely pleased Thomas and Malcolm provided excellent service with their extensive knowledge of the city. I will certainly share your kind comments with them. I am appreciative of our guest’s feedback and will take in to consideration your comments regarding our breakfast charges.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,733 - 2,739 of 3,924 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for five days while visiting Scotland. The location is very convenient to transportation and many sights, such as the Castle. The service was excellent and staff very attentive. Meals in the bistro were very good, though pricey. We did not get the breakfast because we thought that 21 pounds/pp was a lot. However, the a la carte menu for breakfast was good. Our room was very nice, quiet, and comfortable. Overall great stay and the price was very reasonable when we prepaid our rooms.

Room Tip: i'd suggest an upper floor in the back, as the hotel is on the corner of a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmg1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear LMG1954,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to hear you felt the staff members provided excellent luxury service during your stay and your room was comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is practically perfect. An elegant respite. It's pricey, but you certainly get what you pay for. The service is attentive but not intrusive and not at all stodgy. The facility is not at all dated, despite the fact that this is an old (historic) hotel. The furnishings and facilities are all up-to-date and comfortable. We ate at the Brasserie (separate review written for that) and it was fantastic. The rooms are good-sized and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is walking distance to Edinburgh Castle and Hollyrood Palace, as well as the Royal Mile, but I was thoroughly unimpressed with that - beware of stores selling tartan goods that are not authentic. Ask the concierge about how to avoid that.

Room Tip: The view of the castle is not to be missed. Pay extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear David B,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to read you had a very enjoyable stay and feel the hotel has maintained the historic feel throughout. I am pleased you found the hotel conveniently situated for visiting Edinburgh’s attractions.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Warm welcome, concierge was very helpful when giving us advice on where to eat. Didn't eat at all in the hotel so cant comment on that. Room was clean, very spacious (we had a junior suite), and had everything we needed. Cant say much more as we were not in that much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirsty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Kirsty C,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to read your stay exceeded your expectations and you feel your room was spacious and comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Family wedding in Edinburgh at the cathedral, so there was a need to stay in the Haymarket area, found a good offer on the internet for a weekend stay at the Caledonian, arrived at 23.30, received a very friendly welcome from the doorman who took away our luggage towards our room, reception were more interested in taking security on our internet booking than a welcome or a morning paper delivered to our room, 118 was designated which was above Galvin's kitchen extract and kitchen smells had filled the room after dinner service, room changed to 105, very comfortable bed and we both had a good nights rest. The bar area formed from an internal courtyard is spectacular with a feature peacock and firefly glass wall and lantern light, cocktails before bed, no nibbles.
The original period features and staircases have a pleasant feel but I fail to see how the hotel commands a five star rating, our room was small with the window cill 7 feet above the floor, resembled a cell, however our internet room rate probably justified what we were provided.
Champagne at 11.00 on Saturday in the bar produced olives and nuts which were welcome, bar seems to be run like a cafe with staff and waiters vanishing behind the bar area to collect food leaving the bar unattended for long periods of time.
Entrance to the hotel is locked during the evening and there is no lighting, ring the bell and the doorman arrives to let you in, this is 5 star?, tea & coffee facilities are provided within the room as with all Hilton hotels.
The staff have a casual manner throughout the hotel, not as crisp and professional as a normal 5 star environment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbrownbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Mrbrownbear,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am disappointed the room category booked did not entirely live up to your expectations; however I am pleased to hear you had a comfortable and good night sleep in the second room provided. I will certainly pass on your comments regarding the Caley bar to our Bar Manager who always appreciates guest’s constructive feedback. I understand our Guest Relations Manager was willing to speak with you regarding your stay upon checkout; however this was not a suitable time for yourselves.
I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic trip for my partner's birthday. Beautiful hotel. Cannot fault the hotel or the staff. Lovely birthday chocolates waiting in the room was a nice personal touch. Service from the staff was first class at all times. Great choice and quality for breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sparklefizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Sparklefizz,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. It is a pleasure to read your excellent review, I am delighted your partner enjoyed their birthday celebration and was impressed with the in room amenity.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Caledonian provides the kind of amenities you expect from an upscale hotel. I stayed here 20 years ago, and returned to find it better than ever. We were given a standard room on the 5th floor, and the views to the castle were spectacular. The room was spotlessly clean and furnished with the usual TV, minibar, king sized bed, and so forth. There's also a closet sporting an ironing board, which may come in handy for those needing such a thing. A waterfall shower in the bathroom was an absolute joy along with robes, slippers, and a kit of toiletries. All the staff were extremely helpful, especially one of the concierges who provided a cheerful tour of the facilities. These are professionals at the top of their game. As for location, The Caledonian is very convenient. Easy walking distance to a pedestrian street of shops and restaurants. A short cab ride to the castle and Waverly Train Station. Given the hotel's prominence, there's always a taxi waiting and a doorman with an umbrella to help you with your luggage. Other might find the hallways a bit narrow or say the rooms are slightly small. However, I think The Caledonian offers grace and charm that other ultra modern places should emmulate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanNic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear San nic 44,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the in room amenities and facilities provided. I am pleased you were extremely impressed with the concierge team and their expert knowledge of the local areas.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,044 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,005 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,094 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £105 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing